We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain Hotel

The Fountain Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fountain Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Room is decorated very nice and modern, and room is a good size. Everything was very clean. Bathroom is lovely and big with a huge shower but we were disappointed we couldn't use it as on running it, the tray filled up very quickly and would not go down at all. If we had used it I think the tray would have ended up overflowing onto the bathroom floor.
Bar downstairs is lovely and homely and the staff and regulars are lovely. We didn't eat in the pub, but we saw the food and that looked really nice. Beer is fab.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
11
28
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

A last minute booking found us finding The Fountain Hotel in Okehampton. What a nice surprise. Yes, it has been refurbished recently and what a nice job they have done of the room we had. Things are still looking a bit like a building site in places but that aside we had a comfy stay. A warm welcome and helpful staff. We had a simple breakfast of scrambled eggs on toast - what we requested this was fine. Cannot comment on the food or beer as we drank elsewhere. However the bar and restaurant were humming along nicely with what seemed like locals - which is great to see. Will we stay here again - of course! Handy parking too at the back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovewelshcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Recently revamped, the decor is now in keeping with the style of building. It has a lovely, proper village pub feel to it, even though it's in the lovely town of Okehampton.
We had bar food, which was excellent value and totally delicious. My Steak and onion baguette had massive pieces of steak, cooked as I had requested.
I hope the previous poor reviews are now a thing of the past, I was certainly very impressed with the pub and its food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockinbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

we eat here,not our choice of venue, there were 2 vegetarian choices..jacket potato or spicy vegeburger..!! the jacket potatoes were tiny with very poor presentation, lettuce cut into 4 and served up.!! some has tomatoes some we had to ask for, grotty table in the bar area,restaurant area closed,slow service, the highlight of the experience was the clean toilets.
you do not need to eat here go accross the road and buy a pastie from the excellent bakery shop just up the hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Okehampton hotels

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was made very welcome by the owners of this wonderful old Inn, located near the centre of Okehampton. The Inn has recently undergone major refurbishment, it remains the lovely old inn with all the charm, but, with the added advantage of contemporary glass doors in the old entrance way , which lead into the newly laid garden.

The rooms are all en suite and have recently undergone some changes.

The menu is fresh and new and extremely reasonble in price.

I would challenge any one to find a nicer place in Okehampton to stay or to eat!

Good luck with your beautiful 'new' Inn

Room Tip: ask for a room which backs onto the river - you can listen to the lovely calming river for the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited here on a quiet Monday evening for supper,the new owners had only taken over a few weeks ago,as long as they keep doing what they are then I think they will be there for several years to come.The menu is not vast but perfectly adequate,we enjoyed a basket supper which was delicious and very good value,real ale was reasonable,staff friendly and welcoming,we found a few cobwebs but hayhoe it adds to the character of the lovely building.Will visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pemyjami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a bed and breakfast 16th century Inn on the main thoroughfare through Okehampton. The pub part is tired and in need of a refit. The riverside restaurant is no longer open so you sit in a small dining area for your food that is not inkeeping with what you would expect. I had an evening meal here and was suprised that my mixed grill arrived in a bowl rather than a plate. Cleanliness was, also in the corridor to the room only average as cobwebs could be seen on the light fittings. The bedroom I had though was pleasant although the milk in the tea making facilities was off.

I would not recommend staying here for the £55 B&B rate as cheaper, better accomodation is available in tthe town, at the present moment, I do sincerely hope though that the brewery who own it do refurb it tastefully as this could be a really nice place to stay, eat and use as a base to explore the moor.

Room Tip: You will either be at the front and be kept awake by the traffic... Or at the rear kept awake by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okehampton hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#9 of 27 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Okeside Cottage B&B
Okeside Cottage B&B
#13 of 27 in Okehampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#10 of 27 in Okehampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Okehampton
YHA Okehampton
#5 of 8 in Okehampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Hotel

Property: The Fountain Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing