We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor food standard”
Review of The Fountain Hotel

The Fountain Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fountain Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
devon
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very poor food standard”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we eat here,not our choice of venue, there were 2 vegetarian choices..jacket potato or spicy vegeburger..!! the jacket potatoes were tiny with very poor presentation, lettuce cut into 4 and served up.!! some has tomatoes some we had to ask for, grotty table in the bar area,restaurant area closed,slow service, the highlight of the experience was the clean toilets.
you do not need to eat here go accross the road and buy a pastie from the excellent bakery shop just up the hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
13
29
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was made very welcome by the owners of this wonderful old Inn, located near the centre of Okehampton. The Inn has recently undergone major refurbishment, it remains the lovely old inn with all the charm, but, with the added advantage of contemporary glass doors in the old entrance way , which lead into the newly laid garden.

The rooms are all en suite and have recently undergone some changes.

The menu is fresh and new and extremely reasonble in price.

I would challenge any one to find a nicer place in Okehampton to stay or to eat!

Good luck with your beautiful 'new' Inn

Room Tip: ask for a room which backs onto the river - you can listen to the lovely calming river for the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited here on a quiet Monday evening for supper,the new owners had only taken over a few weeks ago,as long as they keep doing what they are then I think they will be there for several years to come.The menu is not vast but perfectly adequate,we enjoyed a basket supper which was delicious and very good value,real ale was reasonable,staff friendly and welcoming,we found a few cobwebs but hayhoe it adds to the character of the lovely building.Will visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pemyjami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a bed and breakfast 16th century Inn on the main thoroughfare through Okehampton. The pub part is tired and in need of a refit. The riverside restaurant is no longer open so you sit in a small dining area for your food that is not inkeeping with what you would expect. I had an evening meal here and was suprised that my mixed grill arrived in a bowl rather than a plate. Cleanliness was, also in the corridor to the room only average as cobwebs could be seen on the light fittings. The bedroom I had though was pleasant although the milk in the tea making facilities was off.

I would not recommend staying here for the £55 B&B rate as cheaper, better accomodation is available in tthe town, at the present moment, I do sincerely hope though that the brewery who own it do refurb it tastefully as this could be a really nice place to stay, eat and use as a base to explore the moor.

Room Tip: You will either be at the front and be kept awake by the traffic... Or at the rear kept awake by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Do NOT go here to stay or to eat. Went here for dinner in September '12, the restaurant was very quiet as was the garden/pub, we waited 1 hour and 5 minutes for our food to arrive and upon notifying the management of our disappointment at waiting we were met with a barrage of abuse from the OWNER! The other table in the restaurant were also very upset at having to wait an hour and 10 minutes for there food. The management made no attempts to so much as apologize to ourselves or the other table - instead stopping me mid conversation and turning his back on me to answer a telephone call - UNBELIEVABLE! We also got talking to another couple in the restaurant who had been LOCKED OUT of there room by the hotel for half a day and couldn't get in to the room to get changed/showered before dinner. The hotel did not offer them another room and it was half a day later and they were still locked out. This place is like fawlty towers - give it a swerve!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaLondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Okehampton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently satyed here under the new mangement, and were made to feel very welcome by the new manager of the Fountain who has recently taken over this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Manager apologied as he thought they were 'tired' in his words, but personally, I thought they we light and airy, with comofrtable beds and lovely clean bathrooms.

The food choice and quality was good and extremely tasty, we all had empty plates.

I would recommend you give this Hotel a try, I will certainly give the other hotels in Okehampton a run for their money....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDC1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I would definitely NOT recommend using this hotel. Apparently it has changed hands and this appears to give the new owners reason to give away a pre booked room. We had no apology, were shrugged at and treated with extreme indifference by a man who may or may not have been the new owner. It all of seemed to be a bit of a giggle to the rather silly barmaid.
Bearing in mind we were wet and tired from a long cycle we were very fortunate to secure an alternative. We stayed an absolutely lovely inn in Sheepwash which had professional staff, large rooms, excellent food and that was, I am happy to say A LOT cleaner looking!!!
I sincerely hope the Fountain Hotel can regain some of it's dignity as in the past it seems to have coped with providing quite good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
4.1 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#9 of 24 in Okehampton
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowlea Guest House
Meadowlea Guest House
#3 of 24 in Okehampton
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Hotel

Property: The Fountain Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing