We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Visit May 2012”
Review of The Fountain Hotel

The Fountain Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fountain Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent Visit May 2012”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently satyed here under the new mangement, and were made to feel very welcome by the new manager of the Fountain who has recently taken over this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Manager apologied as he thought they were 'tired' in his words, but personally, I thought they we light and airy, with comofrtable beds and lovely clean bathrooms.

The food choice and quality was good and extremely tasty, we all had empty plates.

I would recommend you give this Hotel a try, I will certainly give the other hotels in Okehampton a run for their money....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDC1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
11
29
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I would definitely NOT recommend using this hotel. Apparently it has changed hands and this appears to give the new owners reason to give away a pre booked room. We had no apology, were shrugged at and treated with extreme indifference by a man who may or may not have been the new owner. It all of seemed to be a bit of a giggle to the rather silly barmaid.
Bearing in mind we were wet and tired from a long cycle we were very fortunate to secure an alternative. We stayed an absolutely lovely inn in Sheepwash which had professional staff, large rooms, excellent food and that was, I am happy to say A LOT cleaner looking!!!
I sincerely hope the Fountain Hotel can regain some of it's dignity as in the past it seems to have coped with providing quite good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Okehampton hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very helpfull staff, room was lovely-clean spacious.Excellant value for money. Plenty of free parking. Bar warm and welcoming and impromptu music and singing with locals was really good fun!! We would stay again. Also nearby the Rajpoot indian restaurant serves superb food really really good and the service was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have visited this hotel for food on several occasions & we have to say we have never been disappointed.
Situated on the main road going through Okehampton it easy to find & a good stop off when we go shopping there.

As we live in Devon we do travel around to find good places to eat for when our family visits & to be honest this hotel is one of the best for food & friendly staff.

We have tried burgers, chicken, sunday roasts & of course the steaks on this menu & never had a single complaint yet.

The chef's working here take pride in how the food looks as well as tastes & you get a good salad & relishes on the side of your meals.
The steaks are always cooked just right & this is the only place I can eat a medium cooked steak as the meats really good quality. (I normally have to have very well done)

The bar staff are always helpful & very friendly & we have always been given a warm welcome on arrival.

There is a daily menu board on the wall in the main pub or a good other menu to choose from which gives everyone in the family a good choice.

The food & drinks are reasonably priced too.

We would & have recommended this pub/hotel to others both to stay in & to eat at & no-one has ever said they wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jowoj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

vert disapointed rooms grubby and shower mouldy rooms need doing up breakfast nice but to big windows bang al night and toilet very noisey

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great location, and friendly staff, but there it ends. This hotel has potential but it isn't being taken care of. Room...peeling wall paper, really mouldy shower cubicle, dirty carpets broken step, table lamp not working.... doesn't take a lot to correct any of these, if there is a will. Potentially good restaurant and food, but we waited for over 10 minutes to see if someone was around to show us to a table, ... no one came ....knocks on the kitchen door were ignored, despite having a number of guests in the restaurant already. We ate elsewhere... lost revenue! Breakfast OK. Overall overpriced for very poor experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed one night at the Fountain Inn en route to Dartmouth. Great location on the edge of Dartmoor and easy to find. The room was a little tired but was good value for the price. Good selection of food in the bar and a great breakfast in the morning. Would return again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyAlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okehampton hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Meadowlea Guest House
Meadowlea Guest House
#3 of 24 in Okehampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#10 of 24 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okeside Cottage B&B
Okeside Cottage B&B
#13 of 24 in Okehampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#9 of 24 in Okehampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Hotel

Property: The Fountain Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing