We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage with everything you could need!”
other travelers have booked this property
Luddon Farm with Barley Meadow and The Orchard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luddon Farm with Barley Meadow and The Orchard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Luddon Farm with Barley Meadow and The Orchard
Well equipped kitchen
Separate Dining Room
Spacious Living Room with Wide Screen TV, Electric Fire and comfy sofas.
Plenty of room to relax
Full Shower and separate bath
Master Bedroom, double bed, overlooking Dartmoor
Back bedroom with single bed
Front bedroom with single bed
Fully enclosed garden with views from Seating area over fields
Perfect for a glass of wine, a BBQ and an enclosed garden for the dogs and kids to run
Views from front door
Plenty of secure parking
Views from Hot Tub
Farm companions
Ronnie, one of the Hampshire Down girls
Views up on to Dartmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gennagill...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage with everything you could need!”
Reviewed February 13, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

An amazing stay at this wonderful cottage. Plenty of space, stunning location and everything you could want provided. Lovely surprise to arrive to a hamper of food and cream tea. The hosts were so lovely and welcoming. Great hot tub which we made use of even in February. Couldn’t recommend highly enough!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2018
Thank you Genna, your comments are really appreciated.
Many thanks
Jackie & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexGirl...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing last minute weekend away”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Cannot recommend this place enough. Jackie and Peter are amazing hosts and the cottage was spacious, clean, tidy and well equipped.
The hot tub was well maintained (and well used by us despite the poor weather!)
The enclosed garden made it ideal for the dogs and it was in a great location with spectacular views. The welcome hamper was a lovely touch- containing eggs, milk, bread, butter and tinned goods as well as some doggy treats!
Will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2018
Thank you guys for your recommendation, we enjoyed your company and you were very lucky to return with that beautiful puppy, what a heartbreaker
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a relaxing time”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful scenery, very well equipped and very comfortable. Jackie and Peter are very friendly and helpful hosts and welcomed us and our dogs. Barley Meadow is great as a place for a relaxing getaway and is also very conveniently located for getting to places in Devon and Cornwall including the beaches near Bude. Highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Thank you so much for the kind words Fred. Really appreciate the positive feedback, might see you again with pooches at some point. Best wishes to all
Jackie & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne H
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Only stayed three nights but one of the best cottages we have stayed in. Everything you want from sausages bacon butter bread milk all left in fridge from the owners lots toiletries in bathroom. Beds really comfortable hotel linen. They also left some good dvds to watch. Lovely views of dartmoor. Used sunbeds and outdoor seating in your own garden was a lovely weekend would definitely go back thanks jackie and peter.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Thank you to both of you; we will be delighted to welcome you back anytime. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so glad you really enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nettey C
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect home from home, comfortable and relaxing accommodation”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Peter and Jackie have a gorgeous property, and my family of 4, two adults and two children, loved every minute of our stay with them,

Barley Meadow had everything we needed from a holiday accommodation. From the moment we made our initial enquiry, the communication from Peter and Jackie was very prompt, providing us with all the information we needed to get to the lovely rural setting farm cottage. The owners were there to greet us, gave us useful information on the cottage, and a great touch was the provision of cooked breakfast ingredients so that we didn't have to immediately rush out to a shop. Even though their home is attached to the cottage, we felt the property was very private, with an enclosed garden overlooking their fields and further afield to the moors.

The cottage is clean and homely. It has a good sized kitchen holding all major white goods, and most cooking utensils/pots and crockery that you would use at home. Great sized living room, separate dining room, bathroom and bedrooms provided the cottage with a spacious feel.

Peter and Jackie have provided a great handbook with pubs and restaurants from around the area, and gave us some helpful hints on nearby walks. They are on hand if needed, yet respected our privacy.

It was lovely to watch their horses in the attached field and my daughter loved having Freda the turkey to fuss over in the garden. Peter gave us a great hint to use the child gate on the kitchen door so we could enjoy the warm weekend but without having the chickens wandering in.

We had a lovely short break with Peter and Jackie and only regret we didn't have more time there. If you're looking at the reviews to decide whether to go ahead with a booking, please don't hesitate, just book it. Many thanks to you both Peter and Jackie. One of the best equipped and comfortable cottages we have stayed in!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxation, views, and the extras like washing line/pegs, breakfast ingredients and well stocked provisions cupboard
Liked least: Wish we had more time there.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thank you nettey and family, glad you enjoyed the break and thank you for your lovely comments. Such positive feedback is so appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen50...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had three lovely days at Barley Meadow Cottage. So peaceful , great place to unwind. The cottage is spacious and very comfortable and well equipped. The owners had stocked the fridge and cupboard with ample essentials for a couple of days . This was such a nice touch. Great place to stay. Thanks to Peter and Jackie for everything. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and peacefulnes
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thank you Stephen and family, appreciate your comments and be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinand...
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant, wished we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic place to stay, pictures don't do it justice. Jackie and Peter lovely, welcoming hosts. Thank you so much for a great short stay, will definitely be back now that we have found you.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Hello all, thank you for such a lovely review. We would be delighted to welcome you back and really glad you enjoyed the farm as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing