We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property
Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
quinneyal...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 28, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Well what can I say! Absolutely beautiful cottage. Loved having a glass of wine in the garden. Really cosy and very stylish. We loved the local Ring O Bells, they love dogs! Also recommended popping to Chagford, some lovely pubs to eat in there too. Would highly recommend this gorgeous cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Heaven”
Reviewed August 5, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Deciding we could not face an airport straight after our wedding day, we chose to spend a week on Dartmoor staying at the lovely Moorland View Cottage. It lived up to all our expectations for a romantic and relaxing break. It’s a very quiet location, has a small but very pretty garden in which to sit in, and inside the attention to detail is wonderful. The candlelit bathtub must get plenty of use!

We used Castle Bovey a couple of times, and it’s a great location for walking. And if you come in late July there is an added bonus of watching speed sheep shearing at the local pub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2018
Thanks so much for this lovely review, Ian. It was a pleasure to host you and Jane for your honeymoon and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Suzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedeHana
Sardinia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A DREAM COME TRUE”
Reviewed July 14, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon and we really couldn't have chosen a better place! We've always been in love with cottages, but after watching "The Holiday" we decided we would find something similar for our honeymoon, but to our surprise, Suzy's cottage was a lot better. Beautiful both inside and out, we really liked the style, the antiques and all the little details and touches that give it a very cosy look :) The location is also fantastic and the scenery breathtaking. We have enjoyed the long walks, the people, the food (especially the cream tea!) and we will come back for sure sometime soon. Thank you again Suzy for being kind and helpful to us, see you again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsdani...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Celebrating an engagement”
Reviewed July 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend now fiancée! stayed at this amazing cottage for 3 nights to celebrate our engagement and we loved every moment.
The cottage is perfect in every single way! We will
Remember moorland view cottage for the rest of our lives and we are eternally grateful for Suzy for allowing us to stay in the most perfect
Cottage in the most idyllic surroundings. We will be back again one day to share more memories together!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Moorland View for three nights on our minimoon: the cottage was lovely, and had everything we could have wanted and more! The food in the local pub was of a very high quality, walking to Bovey Castle and enjoying the pool was a great extra, and relaxing on the incredibly comfortable sofa and bed made for a fantastic few days. Would definitely come again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison J
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place”
Reviewed June 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just stayed at Moorland View for the second time and cannot recommend it highly enough. It is luxuriously and tastefully appointed and is in an absolutely beautiful area with so many wonderful walks on the doorstep. Do not hesitate to book Moorland View if you want somewhere quiet and romantic - you will not be disappointed. It really is one of the best cottages we’ve stayed in and we will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emme-eyes
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Gorgeous”
Reviewed May 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Moorland View is a piece of heaven! My husband and I enjoyed a very special weekend break with our young son. It couldn’t be more perfect in terms of location and access to Dartmoor. The cottage itself is a dream- every last detail has been thought about with great care and attention to detail. It’s the kind of you place where you feel at home instantaneously. We didn’t want to leave! I can imagine it must be the perfect romantic retreat... hopefully my hubby and I will be able to visit again sans little one in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing