We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Picture Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property
Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
S_Le_Cocq
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect!”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I’ve stayed twice now and love the fact you can arrive and feel immediately relaxed and pampered, from the marshmallows by the fire, to fresh coffee in the fridge and to quality bedding. All in a perfect little village with gorgeous girly interiors. Perfect for a girly time away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet E
Lizard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“P for perfect and I for Idyllic”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this picture postcard perfect little cottage for an important post birthday celebration! Obviously a lot was at stake for us because we needed a recharging break from our relentless B&B and it was to be a special break too!
With all that out of the way we are pleased to say that we've had a lovely and restful mini break and feel very pleased that the cottage was so comfortable and homely with numerous quirky touches which were hugely appealing.
Many folk say they will return but we mean it sincerely as we are determined to take advantage of the impending opening of the Ring of Bells - the local pub which sadly burnt down earlier in the year.
We feel this cottage has everything going for it especially for a romantic break in a truly peaceful environment.
We have had the most lovely time staying here. Thank you Suzy for sharing it with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia1987
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Picture perfect cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to stay for 4 nights in the gorgeous Moorland View Cottage this July. From the moment we walked in through the front door we knew we were in for a treat. The cottage is beautifully furnished - everything was luxurious from the white company bedding, robes and slippers to the scented candles and bath products. We spent our days exploring the beautiful surrounding areas (Chagford is gorgeous and we stocked up on supplies in Mortonhampstead which has a good deli/butcher and Gibsons fish van that comes from Exeter on a Tuesday morning). We really enjoyed making use of Bovey Castle - the pool was great and we treated ourselves to afternoon tea which is highly recommended. We spent many evenings sitting out in the garden with a glass of wine, enjoying watching a movie from the DVD collection or cooking a feast in the wonderfully appointed kitchen. It really was a delight and we can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cottage in a tranquil setting”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottage for 5 nights over New Years and from the moment we arrived we fell in love with the cottage. It has been beautifully renovated but kept many of the original features which creates a very homely but comfortable feel, with all the mod-cons you need. Everything has been thought of from the utensils etc provided in the kitchen to the little touches such as marshmallows to toast on the fire and DVDs to watch on a cold winter's night. A folder was provided with lots (over 70!) of things to do in the local area. We had booked the stay expecting it to be very quiet and were quite surprised how much there was to do around in the local area. We did the following:
- Walked from the cottage up to the nearest Tor, a great view of the surrounding area and highly recommended on the first day to get your bearings (instructions provided in cottage)
- Drove into Dartmoor (Postbridge) for another walk
- Explored the local village and Mortenhampstead, as well as nearby Chagford
- Drove down to Salcombe for a day wandering along the beach, shopping and eating/drinking
- Bovey Castle Spa - included with the cottage, which was lovely and very relaxing
- And, a real highlight, dinner at Gidleigh Park. We had a lovely evening here. As you would expect with a 2 star restaurant, it wasn't cheap but was worth every penny.

The only very slight disappointment was the local pub being closed due to being gutted by a fire. The next alternative is a drive away in Mortenhampstead. Hopefully the pub will reopen late in 2017.

Would highly recommend this cottage, we will definitely go back - maybe in the summer when we can do some more walking in the local area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
Hi Sam, thanks so much for your lovely review. You were busy! The rebuilding of our beloved pub is well underway now, with a completion date of December this year. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Suzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S
LONDON (UK)
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage in the heart of Dartmoor”
Reviewed December 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We spent a 4 nights in this great cottage which managed to blend historical charms with modern comforts (think sonos, spotify integrated through the house!). Everything from the traditional fireplace to the well equipped kitchen made us feel welcomed. The marshmellows with a long fork by the fireplace were a nice surprise as was the bottle of wine and homemade biscuits.

We made good of use of the facilities at Bovey Castle (Pool, Sauna) that were included with our stay and to top it off there was a 2* Michelin restaurant (Gidleigh Park) a short drive away.

Some nice hikes and cute villages completed our stay here. We look forward to returning.

Rav & Sve

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suesawyer
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“5* Luxury Boutique, Idyllic & Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a gem! As my title states, 'Moorland View Cottage' is an amazing, thatched cottage in the village of North Bovey, where nearly all of the other properties are thatched, with an old church, surrounding the village green and the village pub, which is two/three hundred yards down the road from the cottage, (The Ringing of the Bells) which is due to be restored in October 2017. Moretonhampstead is the nearest small town with a Cooperative Food Store, a delicatessen, a butcher and a number of pubs, including a very interesting and historical Vintage Motor & Motorcycle Museum, located at the town's Bus Depot, exhibiting about 100 vehicles. It is run by an enthusiast and admission is £6.00 pp.
The Cottage is beautifully furnished, styled and equipped to the highest standard, with everything from cosy nights in, cooking a meal in the well-equipped, but quaint kitchen, accompanied with the complimentary, red wine from friendly and helpful Suzy, the owner, (thank you so much) lighting the open fire with the supplied coal and logs, flickering candles that are offered, listening to the high spec Bose hifi, that's controlled from every room, before slipping into the white, fluffy bath robes, after a soak in the copper, deep bath, using any of the top quality supplied toiletries, a scented candle or two in the bathroom corner flickering, (or a shower under the rainshower shower head above) or amusing the hours away, sat on the comfy sofa, or on the window seat, admiring the pretty back garden, with one of the many supplied games, books or House & Garden magazines, before heading upto the the most comfortable bed that we have ever slept in; to sitting outside on the vintage-styled bench, with a chilled G & T at the rear in the small, cottage garden, the aroma of sweet roses close by, listening to the birds, amongst the herbaceous-full borders, with a path leading to the back, white gate, looking up to Dartmoor beyond.This is luxury to us. Even on the pretty landing, a computer is offered for guests to use.
The attention to detail is second to none and the added bonus of guests having free access to Bovey Castle's Spa, only a few miles away, was the 'icing on the cake' for us, as we enjoyed an hour and a half swim in the heated, indoor pool there. (Champagne cream tea are also highly recommended there too.) My partner and I were in 'cottage heaven' and we did not want to leave after our two night stay. We will definitely be returning and for longer, I hope!
Thank you, Suzy, for letting us have a taste of pure indulgence and comfort in a beautifully furnished and cosy cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The added treat of using Bovey Castle's Spa facilities.
Liked least: The wooden beam across the floor when entering the kitchen that I didn't see as I went flying, but I'm sure it has a purpose!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful & idyllic Honeymoon Cottage Stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the cottage for our honeymoon at the end of August and our stay was absolutely perfect! The cottage is so cosy, luxurious and we were very lucky to have beautiful weather to enjoy the garden and local scenery. After a long drive down on the Sunday after we got married, we were greeted by a lovely card, bottle of red wine and savoury biscuits - a perfect pick me up. The cottage is full of beautiful furniture and everything has been considered for your comfort - slippers and dressing gowns, wellies if you need them, picnic baskets and a cupboard full of games that you can spend an evening enjoying alongside a bottle or two of wine, just to mention a few. We could have spent our entire trip at the cottage but did venture out enjoy some of the local walks (maps and direction provided), Bovey Castle (the afternoon tea is amazing) and some of the local pubs. Thank you for a wonderful stay and a perfect start to our married life. We hope to have the opportunity to return, when the weather is a bit cooler so we can make use of the lovely fire. Thank you for a wonderful stay - would highly recommend!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing