We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in idyllic locations”
other travelers have booked this property
Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TerriD2
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in idyllic locations”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself and my boyfriend have just had a fabulous week at Moorland View. Cannot fault it, we absolutely loved the cottage, the beautiful decor, furniture and fittings and the wonderful garden. The place was spotless when we checked in and Suzy was always contactable by e-mail before our stay to answer any questions we had. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage or to stay again myself in the future. The only bad point for us was having to leave at the end of the stay! Suzy also provided a great guide of things to do, the things we did included the following: Ring O Bells is a nice pub a one minute walk away, the drive to Widdecombe is lovely through the moors as is the pub there the Rugglestone Arms. We used the facilities at Bovey Castle and we also dined At Gidleigh Park, would recommend all of those things. So nice hearing a horse clip clop past in the morning and also hear the squirrels who come down in the mornings, open the tin of bird nuts and help themselves. Lovely peaceful place and we got lucky with the weather too. Thanks for a great stay Suzy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury furnishings such as bed/ bedding, copper slipper bath, fire etc
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a great place to spend a few days. Suzy has thought of everything, the cottage provides the perfect combination of real home comfort and luxury. The Ring of Bells next door is a great friendly pub and restaurant to spend a night or two in. And if you fancy staying in without cooking yourself then we definitely recommend Tim 'the devon chef'. He came and cooked us a tasty and reasonably priced 3 course meal and it is something everyone who stays at the cottage should do. What a lovely break in an equally lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Open Fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R
HERSHAM, SURREY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secret Escape”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Suzy's email with a special last minute price reduction was too tempting to refuse! My husband had no idea where we were going so it was all the more special. We had an amazing time, everything was perfect, from the hampers of food provided and ordered, to the quality of furniture, fabrics and ambiance! Suzy's emails with tips for things to do were so helpful. We had a great meal at the local pub, The Ring of Bells, lovely food, great atmosphere and only 2 minutes walk from the cottage. Swim at Bovey Castle, walk or cycle (two bikes/helmets provided) there, stomp over the fields (wellies provided in various sizes) or just kick back with the all room surround sound music system. Can't wait to go back. Thanks Suzy for your very efficient service and the use of your fabulous cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeschof...
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An idyllic, luxury village retreat with a beautiful and tranquil interior & garden.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed at Moorland View over the Easter weekend with my partner and family. We arrived to beautiful sunshine and almost immediately after 'oohing and ahing' at the lovely interior of the cottage we were enjoying our cream tea in the sunny garden. Beautiful bed linen and towels. An amazing music system, and so many mod cons too numerous to mention, just check out everything that is included on the website. We really enjoyed cooking in the very well equipped kitchen, whilst enjoying the complimentary wine and olives. In the evening it was lovely to enjoy a real log fire. Whilst cooking breakfast in the morning the clip clop of the
horse going past the open back door was a lovely country sound. Lovely homemade loaf of bread, lovely fresh ground coffee, I could go on and on, in fact I drove my partner mad, he said you would have thought I'd never heard a horse go by before or fed the birds! It was the whole package in one place that made it so special, there is nothing worse than looking forward to going away somewhere and being disappointed. Moorland View certainly lived up to my expectations from the photo's on the website. Thank you Suzy, we had a wonderful time which will make for very happy memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful modern decor.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kat1977
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cosy cottage!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend this beautiful cottage! Gorgeously decorated inside with so many perfect little surprises and details. The bath is wonderful and the beds are very comfy. The village pub is worth going to and Bovey Castle is worth a visit (free membership with cottage), lovely pool and grounds. We reccomend the gorge walk from Castle Drogo (map and details in cottage), very beautiful and 2 hours approx. we couldn't have wished for more out of our stay, truly relaxing! Worth knowing before you go-we couldn't get any mobile phone signal in the village. Thank you Suzy for a wonderful time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProsConsU...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The cosiest, most romantic little gem in the SW”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

It's hard to know where to start here as there's so many different aspects of my stay that I enjoyed. Overall I'd say that it's the attention to detail that stood out to us.

The cottage is stunning! The design is elegant, quirky, comfortable and romantic all at the same time. You discover little treats throughout your stay...and I don't want to spoil it all by giving everything away bt details such as wellies being left for guests, marshmallows and squewers left by the fire and a free membership to Bovey Castle are just some of the thoughtful touches Suzy has in store for her guests. The linen, products on offer in the large bathroom and big fluffy dressing gowns all make you feel spoiled and well cared for. Even the instructions that we were sent beforehand gave us tons of ideas for how to make the most of our stay in the cottage & the local area...which brings me on to the surrounding countryside.

Sadly we were only able to stay the weekend at the cottage but next time we will definitely aim for a longer visit of four nights so we can properly unwind and make the most of our time. Walks,bike rides and a meal at the fantastic pub on the green are a must, as well as a cream tea at Bovey Castle. The countryside around the cottage is stunning and we wish we'd had time to do a few more walks! We didn't travel by car and didn't need one but next time we'd love to visit some of the recommendations on Suzy's list that were a little further afield. One little extravagancy we certainly couldn't have missed out on though was our lunch at Gidleigh Park! It's pricey but worth every penny as the food,service and setting is fabulous. Just make sure you book well in advance!

Moorland View is a unique cottage, in a unique location. You can curl up in front of the fire with a book and glass of wine, spend hours rambling through unspoilt countryside, indulge in fine dinning or high quality pub food or be pampered at the nearby Bovey Castle spa. It's not an escape you will forget...at least we won't. For me Suzy has got the balance of luxury and village authenticity just right. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintylou
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cleanliness was a problem!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We visited Moorland in February, sadly our experience there was marred by dirty bed linen, crumbs in the cutlery drawer, dirty work surfaces and terrible customer service. North Bovey is beautiful and I guess in its hey day the cottage was too. It is a little tired now and the lounge furniture has quite a few stains on it. We arrived to find hair all over the spare bed and when we rang the housekeeper we were told that this particular bed wasn't changed because they were only expecting two people. I then enquired where the microwave was that was stated in the itinerary sent to me. I was then contacted by Suzy (Owner) who told me not to contact the housekeeper again! We could not believe the way we were treated. We paid £800 for four nights and for this money we could have stayed at Bovey Castle or the nearby September Cottage for less money. The nearby pub (the only one in North Bovey) is wonderful and they too have rooms. There is much better value accommodation available locally and I would not pay £800 for four nights in this cottage again. The owner was extremely rude and dismissive of our concerns and this ruined our expensive break. The owner has a glossy website with a magazine recommendation, when you bear in mind that Suzy is a writer herself it is hard to comprehend that she would treat her customers in this way. Yes,
visit North Bovey but do look at a variety of places to stay before settling for Moorland View.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2014
I am very grateful to Dawn for bringing she problem she experienced at the cottage to our attention.

We have immaculate standards of cleanliness, and have only ever received five-star reviews for it. Obviously on this occasion, unfortunately some items slipped through the net, and both my housekeeper and I are again extremely sorry to Dawn for the disappointment.

Linda (housekeeper) and I dealt with Dawn's complaint quickly and professionally. Linda came to the cottage straight away and swiftly rectified the issues. (To clarify: the sheets were freshly laundered, but somehow a few stray hairs had landed on them).

Dawn received several apologies from us both. I asked her to contact me in case of further problems so that I could deal with them personally.

The cottage is freshly painted and the furnishings are professionally cleaned regularly. Anything that is damaged is instantly replaced. The sofa has just been given a professional deep clean.

We have a wonderful variety of holiday accommodation in this gorgeous part of Dartmoor, each offering a unique experience. Moorland View gives people the chance to stay in a beautiful thatched cottage in a traditional Dartmoor village, whilst being able to use the pool, spa and other facilities of a luxury hotel.

If you are thinking about booking with us, please continue to read our other reviews - they all give us five stars!

We hope to welcome you to the cottage soon.

Suzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$230
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing