We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

A genuinely luxurious experience with the right mix if class and fun. The afternoon tea is really very good value for money and is the best one I have ever had. The setting and back drop are beautiful from the grounds to the castle itself, both inside and out. The atmosphere is amazing and the staff are great!

If you want to go somewhere for your first or the best afternoon tea... This is the one!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peru_Sebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    434
    206
    107
    44
See reviews for
551
1,098
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

What a lovely delightful place. I fell in love with it!! Staff were so attentive, helpful and friendly. Katie on reception was great. Staff parked my car for me. The room was fabulous and the bed was great. I sleep in hotels at least 3-4 nights a week it was the best sleep I have had in ages.
The staff at the SPA were excellent and the foot massage I would highly recommend. In fact I would have loved an hours foot massage on its own so relaxing!
I will be back tuts for sure

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We spent a few days in August at Bovey Castle with our teenage children to celebrate my birthday on the 12th and my husband's birthday the following day on the 13th. We had some difficulty in locating the hotel but once we arrived we were treated very well. Derek, a member of staff, greeted us and escorted us to our lodge, he treated us to a tour of the hotel and grounds and was a welcome presence throughout our stay to help us in any way he could. Our first evening meal was in the Bistro where Samuel waited on our table. He was attentive and pleasant throughout. During our stay, the choice of activities on offer were far greater than we could accommodate but we managed to do clay pigeon shooting, archery and air rifle shooting and swimming, together with a stint in the sauna and steam room. Falconry on the terrace was a treat, particularly for our children and was free of cost. We ate in the Edwardian Grill on our second evening and, having eaten at the some of the top hotels in London, I can definitely say it was on par. On our last day, having found out it was our birthday, Federico the Hotel Manager, gave us our meal on the house and presented us with a beautifully decorated birthday cake. What a lovely surprise. All in all, I would certainly recommend this hotel for couples and families alike and would suggest you give yourself a few days to experience much of what the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinsbay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Beautiful setting in the middle of the moors. Everything was fantastic and had been well thought out. The food was delicious and there was a wide variety of choice. There is an extensive drinks menu which covers all budgets and tastes. The staff were polite and welcoming, especially the bar man who very kindly unlocked cabinets to enable me to take photos of some of the rarer whiskeys. It is a must for that special treat even if it is once in a lifetime, you should try it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBrooks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Have just spent the weekend in this absolutely delightful hotel. The whole experience in this hotel has been a joy and although a little bit tired in places, particularly the lodges, the rooms, food, facilities and staff more than make up for that. The whole place gives you a caring feeling and the staff are efficient and very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank janali67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Excellent location, staff, accommodation and food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, felt very welcome and the genuine helpfulness of staff made a real difference. It is a very special place, and is deservedly popular for weddings. The golf course is beautiful, and the spa relaxing (although jacuzzi is an area within the pool, so a bit cold!). The falconry is great to watch, and there are lots of activities which cater for all interests. The grounds are amazing, and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. There were busy periods (when non residents arrive for afternoon tea, and rooms are being set up for weddings) and staff appeared somewhat over stretched, but Frederico the manager could clearly be seen 'mucking in' in all areas. We highly recommend this hotel for a special break, and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 36 was lovely, even though it overlooked the courtyard and main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer-Brown050603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and were made to feel very welcome. The greeting at the car and the effortless transfer of the cases to our room were excellent. The Hotel has a very relaxed feel and the one thing that really impressed us was the friendliness of the Staff.
The Bedroom (Castle View) was very comfortable. We had dinner each night in the Bistro and the food was excellent. The Grounds are amazing.
Healthy walks including to the Ring of Bells Public House.
Very comfortable and inviting Lounges and Bar.
The Falconry display was amazing. Must see Derek's Barn and Cider making demonstration and tasting.
Will definitely return and our feeling is the Hotel is great in all seasons.

Room Tip: Castle Room has wonderful uninterrupted views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silver124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
17.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Property: Bovey Castle Hotel
Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing