We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Really enjoyed every minute of my stay, it was quite a 5 star experience. The valet parking when you arrive just sets the tone for the whole experience. All the staff are so polite and welcoming. I stayed for two nights. I had a wonderful afternoon tea in the Lounges and a 3 course dinner in the Edwardian Grill restaurant. The food was amazing and Federico the Resort Manager even treated me to complimentary glass of champagne. The breakfast buffet was also fantastic: huge amounts of choice and all very tasty! My room was huge and very comfortable. The turn down service was a nice surprise and I even got a little bit of fudge to nibble. Everything was top notch from the Elemis miniatures in the bathroom to the handmade cookies in the tea box. The grounds are great for walking around and the pool was big enough to swim a few lengths in. I would definitely stay again due to the quality of the service and the luxurious surroundings, which were comfortable without being too stuffy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jacka30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,353)
There are newer reviews for Bovey Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 2,353 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I stay here every year and really love it. The rooms are clean and tidy and stocked with Elemis products which are topped up daily. The grounds are stunning and the staff are friendly and professional. We did have a teeny mishap with our booking for dinner one time and were left waiting a while and then told it was to let us enjoy a drink at the bar which we weren't fussed about. The cocktails are lovely but not lovely enough for the price they charge in my opinion. The same applies for the afternoon tea. Great good food but not great value. Service charge is added which niggles me wherever I go as I like to tip accordingly. That said, I do love the castle and am happy to visit each year on my birthday (or there abouts).

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous weekend at Bovey Castle. Stunning situation with elegant interior. We enjoyed lovely food from both restaurants and impeccable service from Federico Aresti, the hotel manager and his staff. Lots to do, but we enjoyed walking on Dartmoor, playing golf and the swimming pool.

I & G

Room Tip: Our Castle room was comfortable and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorginaC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

A beautiful main house with a lovely scent of burning wood. This is our second visit as the attitude towards kids is great and the setting and hotel is the perfect venue for a tradional hunting lodge winter getaway or summer weekend. An impressive location that could give so much more. You are paying 5 star rates but not receiving the 5 star treatment.
Stayed in one of the lodges again that are modern but are beginning to get tired. All the light coloured carpets were stained and the sofas looked very used. Additionally the service is abit hit and miss. Reception gave a great welcome but room service was sloppy and slow (waited 1 hour for some cheese and wine). Additionally, ordered 4 drinks from the bar and they only had enough spirits for 2 - rubbish.
Lego menu for kids great but incomplete used kits.
This place just needs some investment and good organisation. I get the feeling it's abit all over the place in relation to staff and ownership.
WARNING: if you have young children and are staying in a lodge, ask for stair gates and make sure you block the gap in the centre floor chimney breast with something substantial (we had flimsy birdcage) as it is a big drop !! (Lodge is over 3 levels).

Room Tip: WARNING: if you have young children and are staying in a lodge, ask for stair gates and make sure yo...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Boardie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Bovey Castle to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is more expensive yes but for a special occasion it's well worth it. As soon as you walk in you are hit with that lovely open fire smell and the staff make you feel very welcome. Service is great. We had a superior castle room which was lovely and a good size. The swimming pool is a really good size for doing lengths and there is also a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Lovely and relaxing. We dined in the bistro which was excellent and breakfast in the morning was one of the best I have ever had.
I ha dead some of the reviews on trip advisor after booking and started to worry about some of the negative comments but I didn't see why people were moaning to be honest! I thought this was a truly fabulous place and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frostybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I just stayed at Bovey Castle with my son for 2 nights on 4/24th to 4/26th . Our stay was amazing . What made it so exceptional was the attention from the staff that was received each day . Our Hotel manager Federico Aresti went out of his way to make sure we felt special and welcome at the Castle . There was constant stimulation with planned activites daily from Archery , Clay Pigeon shooting, and Apple cider making. We golfed, played tennis on grass courts and enjoyed Crolf (croquet ) . When quiet time was needed there were many areas for solitude that could be found . We were also able to plan activities(quad biking ) away from the Castle and Norm often chauffered us to wherever we wanted to go . His pleasant nature and knowledge of the area made each ride enjoyable. I would highly recommend this destination to everyone !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I recently stayed at Bovey Castle with my family for a weekend break. Federico, the Hotel Manager and his staff are really helpful, friendly and professional. The food in both restaurants was extremely good. The only complaint was that we were put in a room that was totally overlooked by the patio and had to have the curtains drawn all time, which made the room extremely hot, we mentioned it to Frederico and we were moved to an attic room. I don't think the rooms are anything special, just a standard comfortable room in a beautiful hotel in a great location. Would definitely return but I would check on my room next time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
551 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range: $202 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing