We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart Hotel(Moretonhampstead)
$142
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
$165
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fingle Glen(Tedburn St. Mary)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ring of Bells Inn(North Bovey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,623)
Filter reviews
2,623 results
Traveler rating
1,687
514
242
126
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,687
514
242
126
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagolf coursefalconry displayservice chargewestern restaurantsandwichesthe hotel managervalet parkingmain restaurantbirthday treatsloe ginfudgebeautiful groundspublic roomshis teammember of staffspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
1,316 - 1,321 of 2,623 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

A beautiful main house with a lovely scent of burning wood. This is our second visit as the attitude towards kids is great and the setting and hotel is the perfect venue for a tradional hunting lodge winter getaway or summer weekend. An impressive location that could give so much more. You are paying 5 star rates but not receiving the 5 star treatment.
Stayed in one of the lodges again that are modern but are beginning to get tired. All the light coloured carpets were stained and the sofas looked very used. Additionally the service is abit hit and miss. Reception gave a great welcome but room service was sloppy and slow (waited 1 hour for some cheese and wine). Additionally, ordered 4 drinks from the bar and they only had enough spirits for 2 - rubbish.
Lego menu for kids great but incomplete used kits.
This place just needs some investment and good organisation. I get the feeling it's abit all over the place in relation to staff and ownership.
WARNING: if you have young children and are staying in a lodge, ask for stair gates and make sure you block the gap in the centre floor chimney breast with something substantial (we had flimsy birdcage) as it is a big drop !! (Lodge is over 3 levels).

Room Tip: WARNING: if you have young children and are staying in a lodge, ask for stair gates and make sure you block the gap in the centre floor chimney breast with something substantial (we had flimsy birdcage) as it is a big drop !! (Lodge is over 3 levels).
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Boardie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Bovey Castle to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is more expensive yes but for a special occasion it's well worth it. As soon as you walk in you are hit with that lovely open fire smell and the staff make you feel very welcome. Service is great. We had a superior castle room which was lovely and a good size. The swimming pool is a really good size for doing lengths and there is also a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Lovely and relaxing. We dined in the bistro which was excellent and breakfast in the morning was one of the best I have ever had.
I ha dead some of the reviews on trip advisor after booking and started to worry about some of the negative comments but I didn't see why people were moaning to be honest! I thought this was a truly fabulous place and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frostybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I just stayed at Bovey Castle with my son for 2 nights on 4/24th to 4/26th . Our stay was amazing . What made it so exceptional was the attention from the staff that was received each day . Our Hotel manager Federico Aresti went out of his way to make sure we felt special and welcome at the Castle . There was constant stimulation with planned activites daily from Archery , Clay Pigeon shooting, and Apple cider making. We golfed, played tennis on grass courts and enjoyed Crolf (croquet ) . When quiet time was needed there were many areas for solitude that could be found . We were also able to plan activities(quad biking ) away from the Castle and Norm often chauffered us to wherever we wanted to go . His pleasant nature and knowledge of the area made each ride enjoyable. I would highly recommend this destination to everyone !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I recently stayed at Bovey Castle with my family for a weekend break. Federico, the Hotel Manager and his staff are really helpful, friendly and professional. The food in both restaurants was extremely good. The only complaint was that we were put in a room that was totally overlooked by the patio and had to have the curtains drawn all time, which made the room extremely hot, we mentioned it to Frederico and we were moved to an attic room. I don't think the rooms are anything special, just a standard comfortable room in a beautiful hotel in a great location. Would definitely return but I would check on my room next time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at Bovey Castle for 2 night for a friends wedding. On arrival you can't help but be impressed, both with the building & the views across Dartmoor National Park.
Besides the castle accommodation, they have 3 bedroom lodges with kitchens & lounge, which proved to be a little easier on the wallet if you can get 5 or 6 of you together. They are fairly newly done out, with very spacious rooms and views across the golf course & lake. One problem we did have with the lodges, was just not enough hot water, leading to cold showers as a result.
The hotel itself has just changed hands with everything a little at sea. The service we received across the range of staff was either excellent or pretty poor.
I would be extra careful when putting drinks etc on the room in the bar, as they have no system in place besides you saying your room number. We found a good number of items charged to our lodge which we're not ours. Also beware of the 12% service charge added to everything, even if your ordering & collecting from the bar.
Overall a good experience, but there is a hell of a lot of room for improvement considering the price your paying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews