We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,657)
Filter reviews
2,657 results
Traveler rating
1,708
520
249
126
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,708
520
249
126
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagolf coursefalconry displayservice chargewestern restaurantsandwichesthe hotel managervalet parkingmain restaurantsloe ginbirthday treatbeautiful groundsfudgepublic roomshis teammember of staffspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
1,353 - 1,358 of 2,657 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I recently stayed at Bovey Castle with my family for a weekend break. Federico, the Hotel Manager and his staff are really helpful, friendly and professional. The food in both restaurants was extremely good. The only complaint was that we were put in a room that was totally overlooked by the patio and had to have the curtains drawn all time, which made the room extremely hot, we mentioned it to Frederico and we were moved to an attic room. I don't think the rooms are anything special, just a standard comfortable room in a beautiful hotel in a great location. Would definitely return but I would check on my room next time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at Bovey Castle for 2 night for a friends wedding. On arrival you can't help but be impressed, both with the building & the views across Dartmoor National Park.
Besides the castle accommodation, they have 3 bedroom lodges with kitchens & lounge, which proved to be a little easier on the wallet if you can get 5 or 6 of you together. They are fairly newly done out, with very spacious rooms and views across the golf course & lake. One problem we did have with the lodges, was just not enough hot water, leading to cold showers as a result.
The hotel itself has just changed hands with everything a little at sea. The service we received across the range of staff was either excellent or pretty poor.
I would be extra careful when putting drinks etc on the room in the bar, as they have no system in place besides you saying your room number. We found a good number of items charged to our lodge which we're not ours. Also beware of the 12% service charge added to everything, even if your ordering & collecting from the bar.
Overall a good experience, but there is a hell of a lot of room for improvement considering the price your paying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary at Bovey Castle last weekend and had a wonderful break. The hotel is very well maintained, in stunning grounds and the staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and the General Manager even carried our bags out to the car! The Castle room was large and very comfortable and my husband had the best nights sleep for some time. We had our meal on the terrace on a warm summers evening in a beautiful setting - perfect! There are lovely touches - a pianist, cosy area under the stairs for relaxing, large sitting room with huge fireplace and a bar with a magnificent variety of whiskey. We were very impressed with all the staff and the GM in particular. Definitely will return and have the cream tea next time - it looked delicious

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The setting, the hotel and the staff were excellent. Genuinely friendly and extraordinarily accommodating.

Federico Aresti, the Hotel Manager, and his staff including, but not limited to Norm, Derek, Grace, Ian, were very personable and made the experience spending time at the Castle, even richer.

Our only issue was with the dinner experience. While you could not ask for a nicer setting, outdoors with the Castle on one side and an incredible vista on the other, the service was average at best. "At the end of the day", given the setting, we were very happy to have spent the "extra" time dining.

Room Tip: I would suggest the second level or above and unless you require one, avoid the handicap equipped room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Booked a round of golf at the Bovey Castle Hotel with four friends. As you enter the hotel the scenery of the gate house and the drive to towards the castle was breathtaking. The views from the tees, of the fairways and the greens was very stunning. I would thoroughly recommend to anyone that they go and have around.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews