We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,655)
Filter reviews
2,655 results
Traveler rating
1,706
520
249
126
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,706
520
249
126
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagolf coursefalconry displayservice chargewestern restaurantsandwichesthe hotel managervalet parkingmain restaurantsloe ginbirthday treatbeautiful groundsfudgepublic roomshis teammember of staffspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
1,357 - 1,362 of 2,655 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

On first appearances on entering the building and spending some time in the lounges, my initial observations are it's looking slightly tired - this is the same for our room (although still pleasant). However, the grounds, food, service were all impeccable and the Oak bar comfortable and cosy. We did the cocktail making with the bar manager Matt (i think he name was), who was so fab with us and we had a great time behind the bar whizzing up cocktails. The General Manager Fredrico makes this place. It doesn’t matter the time of day or where you were in the building, Fredrico always happened to be there making you feel welcome with his contagious personality and personal attention. The falcons guy was fab too. I hugely enjoyed the display - was really worth seeing it. The spa was the only negative for me. Although the staff were friendly and welcoming, the massage it's self wasn't amazing and doesn’t compare to others I have had elsewhere. The pool area also looks tired and in need of some love. The food in both resturants and the afternoon tea was exceptional. They had no problem with me requesting something not on the menu due to my picky food requirements. Nothing was too much problem. Overall will definitely come back. Thanks all for a great weekend and making us feel special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward0m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel for children of all ages. The children had a marvellous time at the Bovey Rangers where they did archery, clay pigeon shooting, float fishing, trampolining, tennis, Grandparents also enjoyed it. Staff wonderful particularly Federico who always gives us a great welcome and is one of the reasons we always come back. Bistro staff were also fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cathy610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a very friendly and comfortable hotel. It is very dog and children friendly. They go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable as they can. Nothing is to much bother. There is a lot of things to do here. The wild bird display daily is amazing. Spa is good. Shooting, archery, golf swimming, something for everybody.

Room Tip: Try no. 18 with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went for full afternoon tea with my mother-in-law who was visiting us locally and, as ever, we weren't disappointed. We've had tea here several times in recent years and it has always been a lovely experience. The setting is beautiful and we walked in the gardens afterwards. Dogs are allowed - our Westie accompanied us and was given his own water bowl. My mother-in-law can't eat strawberries, but we were asked before tea was bought out if there were any dietary requirements - and as a small tartlet had fresh strawberries on the menu that day, they made her one with raspberries on instead. Service was swift - and the valet parking is a nice touch. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sipsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Supeior castle rooms are small, low ceilings and very hot we asked to be upgraded, although the castle room was initially an upgrade, and the room which we were offered for an extra £45 was far superior.
The carpets on the way to the superior castle room were worn and threadbare and in some places were a trip hazard.

It was large, airy and light.
Choose room 14 if you are booking

We went to play golf. Not to be recommended as greens were dreadful. If they want to attract upmarket golfers they need to address the state of the greens.

Room Tip: Need to overlook the garden and golf course. Only stay in rooms above superior castle room category
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews