We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week for the kids!”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel for children of all ages. The children had a marvellous time at the Bovey Rangers where they did archery, clay pigeon shooting, float fishing, trampolining, tennis, Grandparents also enjoyed it. Staff wonderful particularly Federico who always gives us a great welcome and is one of the reasons we always come back. Bistro staff were also fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cathy610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a very friendly and comfortable hotel. It is very dog and children friendly. They go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable as they can. Nothing is to much bother. There is a lot of things to do here. The wild bird display daily is amazing. Spa is good. Shooting, archery, golf swimming, something for everybody.

Room Tip: Try no. 18 with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went for full afternoon tea with my mother-in-law who was visiting us locally and, as ever, we weren't disappointed. We've had tea here several times in recent years and it has always been a lovely experience. The setting is beautiful and we walked in the gardens afterwards. Dogs are allowed - our Westie accompanied us and was given his own water bowl. My mother-in-law can't eat strawberries, but we were asked before tea was bought out if there were any dietary requirements - and as a small tartlet had fresh strawberries on the menu that day, they made her one with raspberries on instead. Service was swift - and the valet parking is a nice touch. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sipsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Supeior castle rooms are small, low ceilings and very hot we asked to be upgraded, although the castle room was initially an upgrade, and the room which we were offered for an extra £45 was far superior.
The carpets on the way to the superior castle room were worn and threadbare and in some places were a trip hazard.

It was large, airy and light.
Choose room 14 if you are booking

We went to play golf. Not to be recommended as greens were dreadful. If they want to attract upmarket golfers they need to address the state of the greens.

Room Tip: Need to overlook the garden and golf course. Only stay in rooms above superior castle room category
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked the champagne afternoon tea for my mums birthday, and whilst the castle and location are stunning and faultless, for a 5 star hotel the service was terrible. We waited for 30 minutes for someone to come and take our order, and as no one turned up I had to go and find someone. The waiter didn't even apologise! The table we had was not a table but an old footstool with a table cloth on it, we couldn't balance the drinks or cake stand on it! Just not what I would expect for a pricey 5 star. Needless to say we asked for the 12 per cent service charge to be removed!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Silk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked our stay on a special offer which made it much more reasonable. We thought that although the hotel was dated at times this added to it's charm with wonderful grounds, open log fires (although didn't feel this was necessary to be lit in June and did mean that we left with our clothes smelling of smoke and did try to stay away from this lounge). However, the special offer, although very reasonable (still expensive in comparison to a lot of other hotels even on the offer) but it was the 'tips' that although were stated as being 'discretionary' it's very difficult to ask the receptionist to remove at the desk on departure. These 'tips' were explained to be for buying wedding presents, presents for birth of babies of staff, paying for English lessons etc...all of which I would have thought would be at the discretion of staff to have a collection or for the management to pay for English lessons if felt necessary. We only stayed one night but had £22 added onto our bill for tips which I would not have normally paid for a one night stay.

We did see an amazing falconry display on the Sunday morning but were not impressed by the falconer, although very amusing, felt it in rather bad taste when he made references to the Cornish being 'interbred'...perhaps he needs to think about his 'jokes' to not offend anyone - this is the world we live in I am afraid but I know I don't make jokes about blondes, the irish, etc as these would be seen in bad taste and would not wish to offend, and nor should he!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank thewillows3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We can not thank the Manager and Staff enough for making this day so very special. From the moment we arrived the greeting by staff, was excellent. We were taken to our Lodge and then on to the Summer House where we had a champagne afternoon tea. What a fantastic experience. Highly recommend the Spa, the staff were very friendly and professional. The whole experience was wonderful , accommodation , food and staff. Our special thanks to Frederico for organising such a memorable day. Will will definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,192 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
420 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
547 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range: $199 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a 5 AA Red Star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 60 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed decor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing