We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building but no customer service.”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Decided to go for afternoon tea on a very wet afternoon after reading good comments. Lovely staff greeted and opened doors for us and then the visit just went downhill sadly. What was to be a lovely anniversary high tea turned out to be an unpleasant and miserable experience. The waiting staff said they were full (4pm). We were told to wait in a large lounge. I went to sit on a settee by a window, but I was called back to sit in the area by the lounge entrance on a settee that was not comfy to eat and sit due to its size, there was a chair but then you were too high for the low table. The cold draught from the entrance was horrible. The stern and unsmiling waitress then gave us a menu but didn't ask if we were OK which she could tell we were quite uncomfortable. My husband and I were upset by the poor atmosphere, lack of charm after the initial greeting and the feeling of 'not being wanted'. Not really what we expected from such a lovely establishment. A smile would have gone a long way as would 'is this satisfactory for you?' especially as there was a free bay area by the window which would have been much more acceptable. We decided to leave much to the horror of the lounge manager but she never bothered to ask why ,but maybe she didn't need to!! Quite a ghastly experience. Maybe more training needed for these staff, a smile costs nothing and says a lot!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Scarletbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Always difficult when you get a review like this. No one likes reading them, particularly when it is at complete odds with all our previous reviews.

Clearly we got it wrong for you and I hope you will accept my apologies. Whether we were busy or not I know Matt Lilley my Bar Manager who is in charge of afternoon tea will be saddened to read this. It really is the exception to the rule as our reviews testify and I would have hoped you might have recognised this and given us a chance to put it right for you during your visit. For you to leave before even having had afternoon tea is such a shame.

We are busy for a reason, that being that we pride ourselves on the best afternoon tea around and we always advise booking to avoid a wait but that means little if you didn't enjoy your visit. It is inexcusable that you felt ignored and you have my sincere apologies for that.

All I would ask is that you contact me directly to discuss this review and I will welcome you back as our guest and hopefully we can redeem ourselves.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,318 - 1,324 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We visited Bovey Castle for a 2 night break at the weekend and could not stress enough how much we enjoyed the whole experience as soon as we arrived until the time we sadly had to depart. Upon arrival and driving down the long driveway we were treated to the view of the amazing architecture of the hotel and manicured gardens surrounding this wonderful place.

All of the hotel staff could not have made our stay any better ...everyone was very friendly and efficient...nothing was too much trouble. The hotel offers many facilities and although a large hotel, still manages to capture a very intimate atmosphere.

We were particularly impressed with the general manager of the hotel Federico Aresti.......certainly not a typical general manger behind the scenes, as was extremely personable and seemed to be everywhere looking after everyone...he is excellent and it was obvious that he was not only well liked by all the guests but also all of his team of lovely staff.

We did not use the spa or golf course but looked amazing.

We thoroughly enjoyed our champagne afternoon tea upon arrival which is popular, we understand, with not only hotel guests but also people from local areas...how lucky are they to live close to this amazing venue.

We ate twice at the Edwardian Grill (in two different rooms which was nice) and both evenings the food and menu was excellent as was the service...everyone is very friendly .

Our room was excellent and everywhere was very clean...the views were to die for despite being this time of year and we were lucky to go on one of the Bovey Castle self guided walks and enjoy some sunshine Saturday afternoon.

We enjoyed our break so much we have already booked to return.

We would like to thank everyone at Bovey Castle for making our stay so enjoyable and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We upgraded upon arrival and enjoyed a State Room ..very large, comfortable and amazing views....we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jones_12656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

And what an amazing review! Thank you so much. You have obviously loved every minute of your stay and you have no idea how much that means to us all here. Fed as you say is not like the typical General Manager he is quite frankly amazing and loves every minute of his many hours spent here looking after our guests. I know secretly he loves these reviews, but he is always to modest to say so........!

The most pleasing part of your review for me (apart from praising Fed) is your observation about the friendly and efficient team here. That is all we can ask of them and they never let us down. For you to take time to mention that says it all really.

Thank you and we all look forward to seeing you here on your return.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left the staff were consistently excellent, bring professional, courteous and friendly at all times, including whenever we requested something.

Our room and bathroom were perhaps larger than we had expected and immaculate in terms of cleanliness, also being generally well equipped, though just as going to bed we noted there were no glasses in the bathroom. Sleep quality was a little poor as tends to be case with very soft beds as provided here.

We dined in the Edwardian grill and on the whole the food was excellent, the scallops being particularly fine. That said, there were one or two flavours that were slightly off, straying from tart towards bitter.

Grounds are superb despite the challenges of the recent weather and make for a pleasant stroll.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay, though given Bovey Castle is very much towards the markets top end it's only appropriate to judge against top end expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

A lovely review from a Top Contributor. It doesn't get any better than that! Thank you. You are absolutely right we should be judged against top end expectations and both and my team and I try very hard to deliver. I am genuinely delighted that we seem to have met your expectations. Your comment about the glasses will be rectified by Ursula my Housekeeper. Thank you for pointing that out.

I know that Darren Ellis my Head Groundsman will be appreciative of your kind comments about the gardens after the recent weather. He and his team have worked amazingly hard over the winter to keep the place looking tip top.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It is much appreciated.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I were looking for the perfect relaxing break with our friends, somewhere to explore the beautiful open spaces and surrounding countryside, we stayed in one of the beautiful lodges
plenty of space inside, excellent standard of décor and well appointed throughout. We met Fed (the manager) he was excellent ,very attentive and so pleasant he took a genuine interest in our stay ensuring everything was perfect. The house and grounds are outstanding with lovely walks by lakes and golf course, a winding road weaves through the estate to the hotel which looks like it should have been the film set for something like Downton Abbey! a friendly greeting from staff and all those every day worries just fall away to into total tranquility.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

A great review. Thank you so much. The Lodges really are amazing and I am delighted that you agree.

The wonderful Fed doesn't confine himself to the Hotel either, he is as keen on our Lodge guests getting the bogey experience as everyone else! Once again the Downton reference is there for all to see, you would be amazed how many people say it!

Thank you once again for posting this fantastic review. It is genuinely appreciated.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

stayed for one night for my birthday with my sister.very impressive drive to the castle,greeted by friendly staff who parked car and took care of our cases.couldnt fault reception staff,we were also given a tour.lots of different rooms with cosy chairs and sofas and open fires.we were booked in for afternoon tea,,it was lovely,a real treat,.weather was kind so we took a walk around the grounds,well worth it.at 3pm we were shown to our room,room 2,wow!!all those small touches made it more special.and the room was so central to everything,also quiet.we went for a swim,everything but your costume was provided!!in the evening we ate in the bistro,i didnt want to write any negatives,but here they are,most staff in bistro polite,me and my sister had steak,which was lovely,but at nearly 19pounds consisted of steak,chips and a handfull of leaves!the chocolate tart was not nice,a waiter asked me what was wrong so i told him,he didnt no what to say.i could also see the chef from where i was sitting and he used his hands for everything.also there was a list of different ice creams,but when ordering was told the freezer had packed up.these are just niggles as i work in a hotel myself.when we returned to our room it had been serviced,and some fudge left on our beds,lovely.breakfast was in the edwardian restaurant ,very grand,lovely breakfast,polite staff again.i loved it here and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wulywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

When a Senior Contributor writes 'left me wanting more' you have to smile. When reading on you discover they work in the business then the smile gets wider. Now being a Senior Reviewer and being in the trade you just know that they are going to find fault somewhere and they did but as you would hope for it was constructive and balanced a great review! Thank you. It means a lot when we receive these kind of wonderful reviews.

We all look forward to welcoming you back

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay for my sisters birthday. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome , given a guided tour and relaxed with a lovely afternoon tea . Our room (room2) was very nice , warm with some nice finishing touches and overlooking the front lawns . We went for a lovely walk around the grounds and then for a swim in the pool. We ate in the bistro which was very nice , steak cooked perfectly . Breakfast was served in the Edwardian restaurant and was also very nice. We could not fault our stay , staff were always courteous and helpful , we look forward to when we can come again !

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Janywany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

A great review from a senior reviewer. Thank you, it is always appreciated. I am genuinely delighted when we get such a positive review. All he team here tend to read these reviews so you can be assured there will be a lot of smiling faces when this gets read.

Thank you once again and I look forward to seeing you here soon.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I went with a friend for a weekend spa retreat. We had a twin room in the main house (Room 2) which overlooked the golf course. The weather was atrocious so we spent our time in the hotel relaxing. The hotel manager Francesco was the friendliest hotel manager I've ever met. Rather than hide away in an office, we was out on view and available from the time we left the room for breakfast to saying goodnight. The staff are exceptionally friendly and down to earth. This hotel is not pretentious, despite it being luxurious. A beautiful manor house, it is animal and child friendly and provides guest with a daily newsletter with the activities provided for that day. Charming. I shall definitely be visiting again this year, perhaps when it stops raining!

Room Tip: Try to sloe gin and cider making. Make sure you get to see the free daily falconry displays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to review Bovey Castle and what a review! Federico will be delighted to once again get a mention! He really is the jewel in our crown. He is incredibly friendly until Italy play England in whatever sport and then he changes! Fortunately we beat them more often than not so no harm done!

More seriously your review captures perfectly the essence of the place. Friendly and luxurious without the need to be pretentious which is a rare balance in Hotels. Hopefully we shall all see you again in the near future.

Thank you once again.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,192 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
420 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
547 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range: $199 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a 5 AA Red Star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 60 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed decor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing