We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bovey Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart Hotel(Moretonhampstead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Woodforde(Moretonhampstead)
View Hotel
Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel(Tedburn St. Mary)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,526)
Filter reviews
2,526 results
Traveler rating
1,626
496
232
121
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,626
496
232
121
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseafternoon teafalconry displayservice chargewestern restaurantsandwichesthe hotel managervalet parkingbeautiful groundsmain restaurantbirthday treatpublic roomshis teammember of stafffudgespecial occasionsloe gin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,398 - 1,403 of 2,526 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to a couple of nights here. We couldn't fault it. Yes, it's pricey but for good reason. The hotel and surroundings are breathtaking, the service and dining experience is 5 star. I can thoroughly recommend the afternoon tea too! The hotel oozes character and charm, a real find.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sw311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Another great review from a Senior Reviewer. Thank you so much. Whilst we would never pretend we are the cheapest we do try and offer exceptional value wherever we can and I am so pleased that you recognise that. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you back before too long.

Jeremy Rata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked a stay at Bovey Castle through Secret Escapes from Jan 31st - Feb 2nd, and the experience was fantastic.

The drive up to Bovey Castle through Dartmoor is an exceptionally pleasant one with nice views along the way. From the main entrance of the castle grounds to the castle you go through the golf course, and can sometimes spot wild ponies that wander in. The grounds are extensive and kept extremely well. The Castle itself is very impressive with beautiful architecture both inside and out, dating back around 115 years. The decor is all in theme with the style, taking you back centuries as you wander around the place.

The staff were all extremely friendly, professional and helpful, and really made the stay worthwhile and memorable.

We stayed in one of the Castle Room bedrooms which was a great, spacious room located on the 3rd floor, with an incredibly comfortable bed.

We had dinner both nights at the Edwardian Grill, the service was good and their steaks were very well prepared and extremely filling! It is worth mentioning that on the 2nd night my partner had the vegetarian selection (Mushroom Cannelloni) which was a significantly smaller portion size than the steak option, and left her still hungry after - we brought this up with the manager, and were offered a second portion of the cannelloni free of charge.

The selection of wines and whiskeys in the piano bar is quite extensive and impressive, and sipping the drinks in the comfy sofas by the fireplace in one of their three lounge rooms that have them is definitely a must for everyone! I would advise reserving the table right in front of the fireplaces to be ready after your dinner if possible.

Breakfast was also at the Edwardian Grill, and the A La Carte menu was very good, on top of which you get to use the buffet which offered a selection of cured meats, cheeses, fruit, sausages, eggs, beans, etc. One could go with a healthy light option for breakfast, or dig in to a Full English as well.

As for the day activities, through the hotel we organised clay pigeon shooting - although we had archery booked as well, but had to cancel due to bad weather. Worth mentioning here that transport to and from the shooting range is organised by the castle and is included in the price (£88pp). We initially chose to book horse riding through the hotel, however the transport is not included to the stables (and is an additional £100) so we organised this ourselves with a local taxi company for a much smaller fee and booked the riding independently as well.
There is a very entertaining birds of prey display in the morning, with two eagles and an owl, which is worth watching. They also release the hotel ferrets in the morning, however we were never up early enough to witness this.
There is also a professional 18 hole golf course, but due to the weather and time of year, we chose not to play this time round. Even though we didn't play golf, we very much enjoyed walking around the grounds, crossing over the many small bridges and walking along the river - truly beautiful scenery!

We ventured down to the pool on one evening, and were impressed with the size and look of the pool area, which has a jacuzzi built into it at one end, a sauna and a steam room. We didn't make use of the gym (which looked good) or the spa during our stay.

In terms of cost, it is a little pricey, but with the excellent food, service and experience, it is very much worth it. Through secret escapes it was around £400 for 2 nights inc. breakfast and dinner (£30pp spending money for dinner). The shooting activity (£176) + additional costs for dinner (we spent around £80 over the limit over 2 meals) and drinks inc. service charges (all optional @ 12.5%) came to £350.

Overall, we had a great stay, from the customer service, the comfortable rooms, good food and fun activities, it is definitely one of our favourite weekend getaways to date and will definitely try and come back again! I highly recommend the hotel, which offers a fantastic experience to all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Well this gets my vote for the review of the year so far! Thank you for what is a tremendous review. From the first paragraph of your review where you highlight the grounds and golf course which I know Simon Irvin my Estates Manager, Darren Ellis my Heads Grounds and Greenkeeper and all of the team will be thrilled with your comments. They work so hard all year round (sometimes in unbelievable weather conditions) and have a great love of the Estate.

As is so often the case in the reviews we receive the team here get praise for their professionalism and friendliness, something that we work hard on here to ensure we get the right balance.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the Edwardian Restaurant and the Bar, Andy Storey my Head Chef, Matt Lilley The Oak Bar Manager and Bob Bobinski in the Restaurant Manager will all be delighted to read your comments. I am even more pleased that they recognised the need to top up your Cannelloni. We all appreciate constructive feedback and I know that Andy has reviewed that particular dish.

All in all it is so rewarding to receive such positive feedback and the most important thing is that you are planning a return visit. Thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

First thing to say is that the friendly and professional staff made our short break at Bovey Castle an absolute pleasure. Add to that attractive, comfortable public rooms, good food and a decent sized and pleasantly warm swimming pool plus a steam room and sauna and who needs to bother about the weather! We made use of a Travelzoo special offer for dinner bed and breakfast. I hope the offer will be repeated, if so we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the entrance. We chose not to pay extra for a view over the valley although I'm sure that they a rather special. We were happy to loll about in the public rooms by an open fire in the evening and then just fall into bed at night - the choice is yours!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneAustinBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We all very much appreciate it. I am always delighted when a senior contributor takes time to highlight the friendliness and professionalism of the team here. They are our biggest asset.

The weather has certainly been a challenge this year so far but as you say with all the fantastic facilities here who needs to worry about that!

Don't wait for a Travelzoo offer we only do a couple a year, look at our website and you will see an array of excellent value packages. Let me know directly when you want to book.

Thank you once again for a lovely review


Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Bovey Castle is a beautiful tranquil environment in which to enjoy an afternoon tea by the open fire on beautiful sofa's. A big thank you to all the attentive staff who made us so welcome and the visit memorable.
Regards
Jayne O'Sullivan

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayneos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Jayne,

Thank you for a very kind review of your Afternoon Tea experience here at Bovey Castle. I really appreciate you taking time to post it. Matt Lilley and his team that look after the Bar and Lounges are responsible for Afternoon Tea service and will be delighted to read your comments. In the last three or four years we have gone from doing a few teas to it being one of our busiest services. Booking is now essential and it is down to the Matt and his team and Andy Storey our Head Chef that it has become so successful. They are passionate about getting it right.

We all look forward to you returning soon.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed in Ingle Tor for my wifes 50th in January 2014 and we had a great stay the lodge was fantastic, we were well looked after by Frederico the manager and all his staff. The walks in the grounds were great and our dog just wanted to keep going out. Had a lovely into North Bovey along the river Bovey and went to the Ring of Bells a lovely afternoon out. The pool was good with the sauna etc.Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff who were very helpful. Food in the Edwardian Grill and the Bistro was excellent and the smell of the burning log fires in the hotel made it so homely. Love to return.as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Ingle Tor Lodge is a close walk to the main building, but access is not close for unloading your car. So ask at reception for assistance.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul195521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Manager at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for a great review. I really appreciate you taking time to post it. I am delighted that you chose Bovey for the celebrations of your wife's 50th birthday and that it all went so well. Ingle Tor is one of my favourite Lodges, I am glad you agree.

The wonderful Fed will be delighted to read that he and his team looked after you so well. They really are a great bunch.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews