We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Wedding Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“40th Wedding Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We once again chose Bovey Castle to celebrate our wedding anniversary our 40th, as usual everything was brilliantl, the staff, the room, the atmosphere, the dinner and the breakfast. Thank you for making our stay on the 6th October so special x

Room Tip: Choose a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    434
    206
    107
    44
See reviews for
551
1,098
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Despite getting lost a few times Bovey Castle is a good find. Edwardian elegance at its best. The lodges are architecturally interesting inside and out and fit well into the landscape. Good choice of menus in two ends of the castle, one silver service; the other more relaxed bistro. Children are well catered for - food and activities. When we were there, a year ago, falconry displays were given free of charge on the terrace. There are grown-up things to do too: golf, fishing, clay shoot, suggested walks, and the all important spa. The main room is spectacular, perhaps a little 'tired' in places but great for cosy autumn/winter afternoons. In the lodge we were welcomed by some milk and bread but perhaps the ability to pre-order a organic veg/meat box from Riverford down the road would heighten the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the terrace quieter with great views. Lodges all beautifully situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I expected some luxurioous pampering and indeed the lodge was lovely but the staff need a lot more training- in the restaurant we had to wait ages for our drinks and were not offered more. But the worst thing was at the swimming pool- the notices for how to access the lockers was virtually non-existent and my daughter was left shivering when she could not access her locker. The staff were very slow to help and basically told her she was both lying and stupid. Very inefficient.

Room Tip: the lodge was very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Have just got back from a lovely day at the beautiful Bovey Castle. A stunning location particularly on a beautiful sunny day. Together with 5 other friends we enjoyed a 2 course lunch and glass of wine followed by a 1 hour treatment each. We all thought it was wonderful and so relaxing.We also enjoyed the pool area and stunning public rooms where we relaxed and drank coffee. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caversham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I can honestly say that Bovey Castle for the money can only be described as past it's sell by date. It's not cheap so I would expect the carpets not to be rucked up, threadbare in places with more stains than a butchers apron. The first room we were shown overlooked the car park in view of all and sundry. On complaint we were shown other rooms and took the best of the worst so to speak. Beds are not overly large furniture was sparse and the settee was uninviting and stayed unused. Bathroom had been refitted but the flooring was some sort of plastic matting. This was an upgrade believe it or not. Dinner was not great, 2 steaks were fine one was very tough and another dish unbeaten by our friends wife was over powering. Breakfast can be ordered as an extra or you can help yourself to the Motorway buffet style at no extra charge. Everything carries a 10% service charge each time you order a drink so order in one hit. As one reviewer has said don't bother stay at Giddleigh Park wish I had heeded his advice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank qprgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Have been to the castle 3 times in 2 months for various celebrations.Wonderful, staff and particularly the manager Federico are exceptional, nothing is to much trouble. The grounds are beautifully kept, the pool and gym are well maintained and very relaxing. All the public rooms and bedrooms are lovely. Getting there is not really a problem we live by the coast not that far from Bovey Castle and we ended up going on the narrow roads the first time but that was fun and an experience found the main road next time, did not use the sat nav so the route was more direct.

Room Tip: all the rooms have either valley views or woodland and our experience is that they are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just arrived back from Bovey castle. We went there to celebrate a birthday for 2 nights.
We never experienced the Valet parking we just parked ourselves.
Check in was pleasant the staff are very polite. If your lucky you may get someone who speaks English checking you in.

We stayed in room 4 a junior stateroom over looking the castle grounds, it was south facing so very nice. Huge bathroom but no separate shower.

The staff at the Edwardian grill need training in 5***** service. The food was great though. When we wanted to leave we had trouble trying to catch the eye of a staff member and they had forgotten our VINO!

Castle bistro is excellent we had drinks on terrace there the sun even came out!

You pay service charge- all though we had to find someone last night... Again lacking the training.

We also used the spa for full body massages. Just amazing ask for Kate she is lovely,

Comfy beds and a nice evening turn down service.

The breakfasts are ok have had a lot better eg was expecting freshly squeezed oj and expect to wait a while before you can sit down.

Afternoon tea is nice but we heard a couple asking to be seated and they were told afternoon tea was fully booked. This is not 5***** service. Nothing should be unavailable.

The falconry is brilliant! Make sure you see it.

Also say hello to Beeky the parrot I loved him.

Great grounds we had lovely walks.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room otherwise your looking over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen3570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
17.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Property: Bovey Castle Hotel
Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing