We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bovey Castle - September 2013”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Bovey Castle. Had diffuculting in actually finding the place, went for miles along extreemly narrow roads - would be very useful to have much more sinage locally. We were not the only guests who had this problem.
There were a few things that were not 'perfect' but overall it was a great experience and wonderful break.
On checking in we were given a very small room up three flights of stairs (my husband uses a walking stick). On the way to the room my heart had already sunk, the carpet was threadbare and the staircase had dark green tiles on it, like an old pulbic toilet! I asked to be moved to a larger room and was given the choice of 2 largers rooms. The staff were very good and accommodating. We chose No 21 and it was perfect.
Dinner in the Edwardian Restaurant was good, no complaints - portions were small, but that suited us both.
Next morning went for a swim. Lockers in the ladies changing rooms were 'locked', noone around to ask for a key. Tiles in ladies shower need a good scrub. Black mould between some of the tiles. No water or other refreshments laid out in the swimming pool area. There was plenty of furniture here so a table with a water fountain, etc could easily have been set up. Otherwise pool was lovely, nice temperatuire and not too much cholrine. By the way there is no shallow end just about 4ft deep from end to end.
If you get the chance do enjoy the Falconry display at around 10.00 each monring outside the restaurant. Very entertaining and the falconer is very knowledgable about his birds of prey.
The staff are great, very friendly and helpful, the Manager Federico is charming and very attentive.
Overall a great break, will do it again.

Room Tip: Room 21 lovely room facing the front of the Castle onto the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggerini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,368 - 1,374 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went for a two night stay as in the area for other reasons. Car was valet parked on arrival (sorry about the muddy boots guys!) and reception were very friendly and helpful every time we asked a question. We had been upgraded to a junior suite for some reason but hey the view was fantastic, room spacious and very clean and great roll top bath and powerful shower (this is usually one of my gripes). Falconry display informative and entertaining and we had a go at archery which was good fun. Pool was good size, clean with breathtaking view of rolling hills. We ate in the bistro both nights and were not disappointed by the quality. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we soon felt comfortable in the surroundings. My only gripe is that for the cost of the room you would expect breakfast to be included - it isn't and although it is clear on the website it does feel a bit mean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were overnight guests in a Bovey lodge, where we have stayed before. They are really all that could possibly be desired. Set in magnificent grounds, maintained to a high standard, each lodge has three well appointed bedrooms with en suites. The living area is open planned, with a quality dining kitchen and large sitting area with a most effective gas powered open fire. We have stayed in the hotel before and we very impressed with magnificent public rooms and impeccable service. The spa is magnificent and the golf course absolutely charming, especially the front nine through which the river Bovey flows. I understand the hotel is about the come under new ownership, if this is the case, please don't change anything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fantastic day had at Bovey Castle. Beautiful setting. Extremely tentative staff. Wonderful spa facilities in a very relaxing environment. Food exquisite.  Luxury and comfort, faultless service, would definitely recommend it to everyone! Many Thanks. We will be back soon x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LouieAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A nice break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Wonderful to be met at the door of the hotel with an umbrella as our car was parked for us in the rain!

I wish we had booked for an afternoon cream tea as they looked really good. Very atmospheric building with a number of different rooms - all very well decorated which really added to the ambience.

We ate in the Edwardian Grill and were served by a very nice lady - we weren't hurried and she was able to recommend her favourites from the menu which was a great help!

In the morning we had a delicious breakfast and watched the falconary show in the gardens.

All in all an expensive treat but very nice for a special occasion!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Pros
Impressive building
Lovely grounds, stunning
Nice cabins
Nice bathroom, kitchen and bedroom furniture
Lovely spa treatments
Various activities for long stays

Cons
Incompetent staff
No key organisation
Over priced grill, way too expensive for a mediocre meal at £100 each!
Seen better days (broken shower cubicles, doors don't lock, dead flies all over window)
Not what I consider 5 star
Rude /uppety /argumentative staff (called father young man???)
Content no idea on wine menu - didn't know if had pinot Grigio wine

Room Tip: Look over front of building, get a cabin if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Bovey Castle in the last 5 years so it's safe to say we are great fans of this fabulous hotel. It's hard to really put your finger on what makes it quite to special - of course there's the stunning location, the majesty of this imposing building sitting proud overlooking it's fabulous estate, the charming but awe-inspiring countryside, the wellies in the front porch and the beautiful bedrooms, but it's more than that. It's the quirky, personal touches that set it aside from the rest of the crowd - the idosyncratic African grey parrot called Beaky that lives in the Adam Room, the fabulous bird-of-prey show every morning after breakfast - seeing three Harris Hawks working in co-operation with each other was really memorable and Martin is one of life's great characters! And, all of this, whilst keeping the Bovey Castle country experience totally real - whether feeding the ferrets after breakfast, helping collect fresh eggs from the chickens or taking a beautiful riverside walk to the lovely "Ring of Bells" pub in North Bovey, you'll have a great weekend - pack your wellies but don't forget your Jimmy Choos for dinner and don't worry about the distance from London - plenty of guests just hop in their helicopter! PS We stayed in a Lodge this time which was superb - gorgeous open fire, ipod docking music system - just kick off your shoes and you'll feel right at home but with all the benefits of the hotel (and lovely indoor swimming pool) on your doorstep - for photos see my twitterfeed @sarahboyce12

Room Tip: Plan your trip before you come as there are so many activities to chose from so it's best to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S Boyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,129 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
521 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
15.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range: $194 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a 5 AA Red Star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 60 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed decor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing