We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in June. We had a lovely stay in and the Staff are second to none, helpful, cheerful, nothing is to much trouble, making for a relaxed atmosphere in stunning surroundings. The Room was very comfortable with a large bathroom. Our dogs enjoyed lovely walks in the grounds. Just wish we could have stayed longer and it was nearer!!!!
Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,543 - 1,549 of 2,440 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were treated to afternoon tea by very close friends at Bovey Castle hotel. On arrival the desk was a little vague about where the teas were being served, but once we found the right location things looked up, and from then on service was excellent. Between us we had three different teas to drink with as many top ups as required together with very tasty cream teas, all beautifully presented. The setting is stunning, with far reaching views from the lovely terrace where we were served tea, under a beautiful sunny cloudless sky, bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arrived to beautiful location with dogs in tow. Staff very pleasant and we were able to sit on the Bistro terrace overlooking the golf course and surrounding grounds which were stunning. We had previously rung before we arrived to see if we could have afternoon tea but they said they were full, hence we decided to eat at the bistro. I ordered the fishcakes but alas they had run out so my husband then asked if we could possibly have the afternoon tea and we were pleasantly surprised (having previously been told no) when she said yes. My husband ordered the high tea at £19 and I had the normal cream tea at £14........very very disappointing, 4 finger sandwiches, 3 tiny desserts and 4 scones, jam (not homemade) cream and 2 tiny pots of tea. For £33 l was gutted having wanted to go there for ages. I then was even more gutted when I heard the table of 10 next to us order the fishcakes and they didn't say no to them!
One other point, as a smoker (bad I know) it was nice to smoke outside but what wasn't nice was all the ashtrays had about 10 to 15 cigarette ends in them, they should have been removed, especially for those who don't smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skiiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I played in a golf day here and received first class service from the time my car drove through the entrance gates to the courtyard, until I left with my car keys being handed to me and my car door being closed. The ambience of a past country estate has been utilised as a superb hotel retreat and a very hard and challenging golf course within the grounds, which I guarantee will challenge every player. The service is special and all of the staff are courteous and attentive. There is plenty to do here, relaxing and chilling come as standard. Only drawback may be that you are well into the Dartmoor countryside so a car is essential. Will be back for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zazazaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Bovey castle for 2 nights. The staff are very helpful, and the locations can only be described as amazing.

However, I can certainly that the bar meals nor the breakfast were that of a 5 star Hotel. The breakfast, infact, was unfortunately one of the worst I have experienced. Sausages were cold. Scrambled egg was too runny for my liking and poached eggs too 20 minutes to arrive upon my request. There is significant improvement needed for breakfast without a doubt.

The bar meals are not all that great and are certainly expensive for what they are. Again, not on par with what I have experienced with other 5 star hotels. Breakfast and Bar meals are to be considered 3 star.

Do not order anything on your room. It seemed that on the odd occassion staff were surprised when i wanted to pay by cash. Instead they try and encourage you to charge to your room, where you will be slammed with an 11% service charge for every item you place on your room. This was an nasty surprise and something that should have been mentioned beforehand.

All in all a great hotel, lovely atmosphere and great area...just certain things need working on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMALAIPWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Bovey Castle management team at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

While we strive to offer our guests an unparalleled experience of luxury within our Dartmoor setting, there are instances where the feedback we receive from visitors informs us that improvements are required to refine the overall offering.

It is disappointing to read that you felt particular elements of dining at Bovey Castle fell below your expectations; in contrast to your individual experience, Bovey Castle's afternoon tea, Beef Menu and Sunday lunch in The Edwardian Grill are all widely praised.

As a result of your review, our director of food and beverage has called a meeting to discuss breakfast with his relevant team members, which in the upcoming weeks will lead to a revision in both service standards and cooking techniques.

The hotel's discretionary service charge is highlighted extensively, from the booking stage to
in-room information, but we appreciate that for some guests their first interaction with this is during payment for a meal or activity within the hotel. The 12.5% service charge for dining at Bovey Castle, as is standard at countless restaurants, hotels and eateries throughout the UK, is applied regardless of payment method.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bovey Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in a castle room. We were very impressed on arrival. A friendly greeting from the man who brought in our bags and parked the car gave a good first impression. In fact all of the staff were lovely. We had lunch in the bistro while waiting for our room to be ready. It was nice, but pricey. Fab views over the grounds.
Sadly, I found our room (11) a bit disapointing. It was huge, but quite tired. There were paint marks on the bathroom floor and cigarette burns on the chair by the desk, the wallpaper had seen better days. But, the bed was comfy, shower excellent and it was clean. We had no view which I expected. The worst thing was I fancied some lie ins but at about 8 ish every morning it sounded like someone doing some serious glass smashing right outside!
Dinner in the restaurant was odd - we booked for 7.45 but were asked to wait in the bar. After 1/2 hour we asked what was happening and were then shown to a table. After that the service was good but I was glad the meal was included as it was so expensive! It was excellent but I wouldn't pay those prices.
The spa was great, afternoon tea great and the man flying the birds in the morning was well worth seeing.
This was a special treat for us after a rotten year so far and I really enjoyed it. All the things I mentioned were minor and didn't affect our stay.
If you like walking, ask for the red book and do walk 5. We didn't see anyone else and fab views at the top!
I reccommend the pub in moretonhampstead, I've forgotten the name but great real ale and good cheap pub grub.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We attended a wedding here and stayed the weekend, absolutely stunning location. Our room was on the first floor in the castle. It was a gorgeous room with everything to a very high standard. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We took part in the cider and sloe gin making which was lots of fun. We had a few meals, all delicious. The only thing i think needed improvement was the breakfast service which seemed a little unorganised the two mornings we ate there.
We had an amazing time before and after the wedding, the setting was just perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB4JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,165 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
536 reviews
15.9 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range: $187 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a 5 AA Red Star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 60 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed decor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing