We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of two hotels”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a bank holiday weekend break at this hotel and things have changed since last time we were here.
The hotel is in a great location and great views, right on a golf course but don't worry if you don't play as there is a lot of other things to keep you interested .( and plenty for the kids if you have them with you ).
The welcome at the front door where they park your car for you if great as was the warm welcome at reception.
We were upgraded to a castle room which is very well decorated.
We decided after a long journey to have tea in one if the great lounges, we ordered tea and biscuits , tea arrived no spoons and the biscuits never arrived neither.
On our first night we eat at the Edwardian Grill which is very nice and the food was fantastic.
Service was poor and it's just the little things that matter to make a nice night, we were asked if we wanted bread and said yes , it never came. We asked for water and again it never came we had to ask again for this again.
The people to our right had to wait over half an hour for there starters and they where in before us !!
We then decided to have tea in the lounge which arrived no spoons again !!
The following night we made the BIG mistake if eating in the casual bistro what a mistake.
There were only about 4 couples in when we got there, the staff leave us waiting and ignore us while talking at the bar, after a while my partner asked do we just sit down or do you sit us?, this waitress gave a deep sigh and showed us to a table right in the back corner.
We asked to move which was greeted again with a sigh and we were moved to a table of our choosing.
We ordered food and drinks , after half n hour neither had arrived, I then saw the waitress give our table a quick glance, check her pad , rip off the order and give it to the barman!!!
Drinks arrived 5 minutes later.
Nearly a hour later a waiter arrived to say "slight delay in your order"
I asked what they call a "slight delay "?
"Don't know I will ask the chief "
He came back to say about 15 minutes as he has just received the order .
Other people came in , again they were been ignored also, we saw people go to the waiters to ask how long their food was going to be as waiting a long time.
A honeymoon couple behind us never even got a menu and were completely ignored the whole time we were in.
Food arrived and I must say I have had better at a little chief not good at all.
Then the bill arrived very quickly , and they had the cheek to out in 12%service charge!!!!!!
On check out day we did complain to the reception and ask them to remove the charge as we did not feel we had received good enough service to warrant paying it.
It is like two different hotels the fine dining area is good just need to get service correct, but go through the doors to the bistro and your are in another world, very very poor.
It's just the little things, spoons, biscuits , good manners that make a hotel worth going back to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,615 - 1,621 of 2,440 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked a Family room at Bovey Castle over Easter with a suite so the children could sleep in a separate room but upon arrival apparently the room we wanted wasn't held for us so they gave us a single 'family room' which was not suitable for 2 adults and 2 children (ages 1 and 3)
We ended up in a superior room (which we had to pay about £400 extra for) just so we could actually fit the cot in but the children still had to sleep in the same room as us.
Unfortunately the hotel was rather busy and we did not experience the same levels of service which we had enjoyed on a previous visit as lots of staff were being trained.

Room Tip: make sure they hold the room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first stay and hopefully not our last. An African Scops owl was perched on the reception desk when we checked in, which is an example of how this hotel is truly a country retreat with a difference. All the staff were very friendly and after reading reviews we took the guided tour of the hotel when offered!
We stayed using a travel voucher and whilst we hoped for an upgrade ( we did ask as it was our 15 year wedding Anniversary) we stayed in a castle view room ( which is what we paid for!) which was fair enough I suppose as the deal was already a good one!
Our room no.12 overlooked the front entrance and also the delivery yard which meant a very early 6am wake up call! Not ideal but the room itself was comfortable with a big comfy bed, chairs to relax and a large bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean although the bath panel needs to be repainted where the water escapes when showering and there were water marks on the wall paper.
Dinner in the Edwardian grill was excellent although it took a while to order and be shown to our table (1 hour) and it was a quiet night so perhaps things go faster when they are under pressure? We did think they had forgotten about us after two drinks in the bar and my husband had to go and ask if we could order!
I would recommend the cream tea, the Chateaubriand and the friendly staff!
Really do let them do their job and do everything for you as the service charge when you leave covers this and I think is very fair.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nequest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a super place to go to if you need to get away to de-stress! The rooms are spacious and comfortably relaxing without making you feel awkward. The staff are welcoming, friendly, polite, and very accommodating . We enjoyed a meal in the bistro this time, but can also recommend the Edwardian Grill for more formal dining. Breakfast was a wide and varied choice and nicely presented. We enjoyed watching the falconry display and my husband enjoyed partaking with the clay pigeon shooting whilst I enjoyed relaxing by the indoor pool. The views on a sunny day are simply amazing from the terrace over the golf course and down the valley and are subsequently a great place for drinks or afternoon tea. The only slight niggle, was that the service was very slow in the bistro bar and had no continuity, and the changing rooms for the pool area need an update. Because of the beautiful setting, Bovey Castle is a popular wedding venue so do make sure beforehand that your stay doesn't clash with one if you want peace and quiet!

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a valley view as they really are amazingly beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaBirtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in April in one of the lodges with friends and our 2 year old son and had an amazing time. The grounds are breathtaking and the staff were absolutely faultless and always on hand to help and offer advice. The playroom was an added bonus that I had not expected would be there and helped to keep our little one entertained throughout his stay.

The spa was lovely and as well as the superb food in the main dining room, the brasserie was perfect for small children. It has been great to find such a luxurious place but so child friendly, we would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in one of the lodges with friends in the grounds of the castle. The whole place is amazing and extremely beautiful. We ate at the Castle one night and the food was fantastic particularly the salmon starter and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We also used the spa while we were there and had the treatment of the month which included a facial and back massage. This is the best treatment I have ever had and again the staff in the spa were lovely.

I would definitely recommend Bovey Castle as a great place to unwind and relax with great facilities and food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186402Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night with a Travelzoo voucher. We had a lovely time and the setting really is idyllic. The staff were all brilliant and the pool area with large window was a particular highlight.

but

The sauna didn't work, some of the gym equipment was broken and all of it was dated, the restaurant got our steaks wrong (confused ribeye and sirloin and cooked differently to how ordered) and did nothing to make it up to us, no bikes were available for hire and the place needs some tlc.

It isn't 5 star but they do ask 5 star prices. The staff deserve the owners backing and investment or the gap between cost and reality may grow too great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tannerjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,165 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
536 reviews
15.9 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range: $187 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a 5 AA Red Star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 60 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed decor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing