We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bovey Castle”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent stay. We were made to feel so welcome, and the staff were wonderfully attentive. What makes the Hotel is all the huge lounge space which, by degrees opens out into the beautiful Bovey Valley, and beyond that, Dartmoor National Park. Notwithstanding the setting, our children demanded we go back on the strength of the Bovey fudge alone. See you again soon.

Room Tip: South facing, and west wing to be close to the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,350)
There are newer reviews for Bovey Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,709 - 1,715 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent trip to Bovey - played golf walked relaxed ate sunday lunch in the edwardian
The best beef ever! Great food
Frederico was a perfect host - on check out I heard other guests praising him and his team and saying how much they enjoyed their stay

The room was fantastic and the views extraordinary

Well done to the whole team

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the gold course have wonderful views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I would like Frederico and his team for a most enjoyable stay pity it was only for one night.
Would highly recommend the Sunday Lunch Menu great choice of locally sourced food especially the roast beef.
On Monday morning we entertained by the dry wit of the local falconer along with his hawks, eagle and the owl who eventually ended up on the reception desk.
Must not forget the golf although there had been some recent heavy rain the course was in good condition thanks to the green keepers.
Many thanks for a wonderful weekend.

Dana and Lee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well as an avid fan od Downton It was a pure treat to be taken for afternoon cream tea at Bovey Castle as a Birthday Suprise. Only living 15 miles away from Bovey Catle we knew it well but had not visited before. Nothing can prepare you for she splendor, the cream tea was a dream, all beautfully presented and we both had a glass of chapagne to go with - excelletn value for money - remember you pay for what you get and in this case it was worth every single penny. I have rebooked again to go in November.

Room Tip: Recommend the Champagne with the afternoon tea.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prinash186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A beautiful place in the middle of nowhere and you would expect it to impress and give you a bit of peace and quiet. Went on one of those pile em high and sell em cheap deals on the internet. Size of place impressive and a great place for a hen or stag do. Not that £180 is that cheap. But any saving helps towards the extortionate prices.
Agree with last reviewer about dining room having no atmosphere, apart from the huge cobwebs in the windows & you can hear just about every other conversation going, including the staff. Irritating. Great if you people watching. Annoying if you want a bit of intimacy. Agree room was too big. A bit of music would help stifle the problem and create better atmosphere. Food not bad at all if you don't want lamb or pork, only serve beef.
Room ok just a bit hot so woke early but bed nice and comfy, so can't complain. The whole building was nicely decorated, a bit tired in places, sort of what you would expect really.
Place should be buzzing considering all those cheap deals but it was almost empty. Would anyone pay full price? What is full price? Means nothing these days. Better off surfing the net - and this little hotel can be found at an apparently great big juicy discount. See a lot of people saying they wouldn't have paid full price though whatever that is. Tend to agree there. But you get what you pay for.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank SecretStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I bought a Travelzoo deal for my boyfriend as a birthday treat - and a treat it was indeed! We were greeted by very helpful staff who took our bags for us and we were checked in promptly and taken to our room. However we were not given any information such as breakfast time. I had told them it was my boyfriend's birthday and there was a card addressed to him waiting for us in the room - a nice touch. The room was lovely, small but well decorated with a nice bathroom. The view wasn't great but for one night that didn't matter too us - especially with such a comfy bed! We ate in the Edwardian Grill in the evening, after we had sampled a cocktail in the bar first. I was especially impressed with my cocktail which had been recommended to me by the barman who was very friendly and attentive. We ordered our meals from the bar. I had 'Salmon Confit' to start which was actually a big lump of smoked salmon. I wasn't expecting this from the description but it was tasty. We both enjoyed our dinner, the waiting staff were very attentive at keeping our glasses topped up. The only downside would be the room itself. It is too big and lacks atmosphere. People are sat quite close together as an attempt to create an atmosphere but you can just hear everyone else's conversations! I didn't really want to hear the pair of snobs behind me boast about their own restaurant and put down the food they were eating constantly! Breakfast was delicious - we both had a full English and thoroughly enjoyed it. Again, we were all sat together and could hear everyone else's conversations! I paid £180 for our deal which included £60 towards dinner and breakfast was included too. I thought this was pricey enough but after seeing the actual prices people pay and how much our dinner ended up costing I am shocked that people pay so much! Don't get me wrong I did thoroughly enjoy our night away and it was a lovely place, however the prices are extortionate!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank lucybrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have never felt the need to make a formal complaint about anything before our shocking experience at Bovey Castle.
My friend very kindly spent a small fortune arranging, what we thought was going to be a relaxing spa day for myself and several friends. Upon arrival the very abrupt and ill-mannered receptionist provided us with additional costs which needed to be paid before we used the spa facilities. After much explanation and many phone calls the receptionist accepted part of the deal which had been offered but we still had to pay additional fees. We were then told we were not entitled to use bath robes as we had not booked a full spa day and we were expected to wonder from the swimming pool, up several floors in our swim wear to the treatment rooms!! We asked to speak to the manager but were told he was not available at present but he would come down to the spa later. Three hours later the manager, Federico Aresti, still failed to attend to our complaint. We waited an extra 20 minutes after our treatments to speak to the manager which was completely pointless. I have never experienced or had the misfortune of speaking to such an unprofessional, money driven or poorly mannered individual. Federico Aresti clearly has no managerial skills and escalated the situation by branding us all as liars. Federico Aresti admitted the service we had received was unacceptable but failed to apologise and argued about refunding us the extra twenty pounds we paid upon arrival. If twenty pounds holds a higher priority to Federico Aresti than customer relations then I believe this really dose summarise what shambolic managerial skills he displays and how poorly he values his customers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Lynsey141235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Jeremy Rata, Managing Director of Bovey Castle at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Another unfortunate example of TripAdvisor's failure to acknowledge the distinction between constructive feedback and a publicised attempt at confrontation. Not only are your comments wholly distasteful, inaccurate and bordering on the imaginary, the undoing of your remarks can be found in the dozens of reviews left on TripAdvisor praising the professionalism, courteous conduct and unbridled enthusiasm of Federico in his efforts to please our guests.

Jeremy Rata
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
513 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
549 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range: $200 - $697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing