We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DESTROYED BY FIRE”
Review of Cafe on the Corner

Cafe on the Corner
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: awesome Southern contemporary bistro
Chickamauga
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DESTROYED BY FIRE”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately destroyed by fire in May 2014. The owner does plan to rebuild.
This was a big loss for the area, as this was a popular place to meet friends for a meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank moushmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    56
    18
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

As we were going up the incline my wife picked up this magazine - TasteBuds - and began looking for lunch. We were on our way to Rock City after lunch and since it was so convenient this was a no brainer. We were pleasantly surprised that the Café was serving more locals, even police officers. So we knew this was a good place! We had their fried green tomatoes with sweet pepper jelly, basil aioli - yes, we did ask Sara (server) to let the Chef know that theirs was better than Paula Deen's - and yes they are - WAY better! As we ordered we told Sara, our server, that we wanted the best of both worlds that we would split & share our entrees. Well she had requested that the kitchen do it for us - Who does that anymore?!? So our Café Cheese sandwich - toasted focaccia, pesto, grilled tomato, Louisiana olive mix, smoked gouda, white cheddar, yellow cheddar & Mac' n' three - collards, roasted vegetables, sweet potatoes - was wonderful! And may I request the recipe for your collards!! Yum! - Thank you for the great hospitality and meal it was all around wonderful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soldieroflite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, TN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Café on the Corner is going to be closed for months while they renovate after a serious fire yesterday-but, it is a great place, and I'm sure will come back even stronger. The owner, Ruthie, is wonderful-she's always checking to see if everything is OK, the food is delicious and varied. We are locals, but she also does a booming business with the tourists during that season. Great place, wonderful food....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food Good, Homey Feel”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a go-to spot for the person who wants to feel comfortable, but have a good dining experience in a cozy indoor, or outdoor (weather permitting) environment. Ruth, the owner, is ever present, welcoming locals and newcomers, equally warmly. The menu and specials have something for everyone, including children, who are very welcome. Perfect for groups, special occasions, and quiet moments. Go as you are to enjoy southern style cuisine with a more modern touch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
148 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Dining Option Outside of Chattanooga”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We went with a group of friends during a weeknight. It wasn't crowded at all. There was seating both indoors and out. We ordered craft beer, mac & cheese - which normally I do not prefer to eat, and lemon sorbet (imported from Italy). Everything was tasty with good portions. The overall atmosphere was nice - especially for a small group.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Corner also viewed

Lookout Mountain, TN
Chattanooga, TN
 
Lookout Mountain, GA
 

Been to Cafe on the Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing