We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Opportunity ...”
Review of Cafe on the Corner

Cafe on the Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: awesome Southern contemporary bistro
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Much Opportunity ...”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The only resturant on Lookout Mountain. Great location, nice atmosphere. Intreging menu but terrible service. I mean it was like the server was smoking something - failed to take orders, mixed up order presentations, failed to bring bread after committing to do so several times ...

Such a shame.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank watchoverya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    59
    20
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ruined by waiter”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food was fair, my steak was cold, cold, cold. But the worst part of all was the service. Our waiter was out of it completely, forgot to tell me they were out of the special and then forgot to retake my order, forgot to bring enough wine glasses and totally forgot our bread even after we asked repeatedly. The menu and the atmosphere are delightful, but we were very disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place on the mountain!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is in a brick building and is rustic and homey on the inside, with brick walls and exposed wooden beams, plus a gas fireplace, which was burning when we were there.

Hubby and I both had the lunch special, the shaved pork roast sandwich au jus. It had melted Swiss cheese on it, and horseradish mayo on it. The horseradish was a little wimpy, but otherwise, the sandwich was great. It came with home made potato chips, which were excellent--crispy and not the least greasy. Service was fine and friendly. Definitely worth the time to get up to the mountaintop to eat there!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BonnieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
“Absolutely Delicious!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently eloped to the Chanticleer Inn on Lookout Mountain and the Innkeepers recommended that we visit the Cafe on the Corner for dinner. We loved it so much that we returned for brunch the next day and would have come again the following day, had we not had a checkout time scheduled before lunch! Everything was delicious and the staff was friendly. The dining room was cozy with a warm fire when we visited for dinner and the patio was a bit breezy, but comfortable the next day for lunch. For dinner my steak was wonderful, with bleu cheese butter and wonderful potatoes and grilled asparagus. My husband had a red beans and rice special and said it was fabulous. Our brunch the next day was equally delicious. I must also recommend the friend green tomatoes. These are served with a basil aioli and a pepper-jelly topping. SO delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The service seemed a little confused, but we were there on what appeared to be a very busy night. However, the Cobb Salad was one of the best I've ever had, and my husband's cheeseburger got rave reviews as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DesigningWoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Corner also viewed

Lookout Mountain, GA
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to Cafe on the Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing