We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property
Harraton Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harraton Cottage
Read a newspaper and relax in the sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Harraton Cottage
Read a newspaper and relax in the sun
The paddock at the rear of the house
Open plan living and kitchen area
Open plan living area
Open plan kitchen/dining and living area
Snug
Utility Room with washing machine, tumble dryer and drying rack
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
The en-suite bathroom to the king size room
Linen and towel provided
The en-suite bathroom to the front king size room
The bunk room with children's books and toys
The twin room
The family bathroom shared by the twin and bunk rooms
The family bathroom
Relaxing by the firepit
Bantham Surf Beach- 15 minutes away
View of  Burgh Island from Bantham Beach- 15 mins away
Wonwell Beach- 10 minutes away
Avon Estuary Walk- 10 mins away
Westcombe Beach- 10 minutes drive and 20 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Riverside...
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We booked Harraton Cottage for 2 nights to celebrate my mother in laws 80th birthday. 5 adults 3 kids and 1 small dog took up residence and it couldn't of been better. Loads of space, fabulous kitchen - very high spec, with everything you needed and more. A great open plan downstairs meant we could all sit, chat, cook, drink together but there was also a separate room with sofa, tv, games for kids which was great.
Lovely bedrooms - very comfy beds. The only thing slightly negative was that each room only had 1 coathanger which meant we had to hang 3 shirts on 1 hanger, so maybe a few more would help.
Great en suites and again the only thing missing was a shelf of some sort to put wash stuff on (shave stuff. toothbrushes etc) but again finished to a v high spec and lovely showers!
It wasn't the best weather to explore the gardens fully but the kids loved the tyre swing and the dog had a good run round - I can imagine it's beautiful in the summer.
Julie left us a gorgeous lemon drizzle cake for our arrival which the kids couldn't wait to get in to!
Hope to go back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah620
west midlands
2 reviews
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We booked the cottage for a 3 night stay to celebrate my Dads 60th. This involved 6 adults, 3 dogs and one 2 year old. The cottage ensured we were all catered for it is clean to high standard and as beautiful as the pictures show it to be. It has everything you could possible think of to make it a real home from home stay. The cottage has everything from toys, tea bags, foil and towels.

It is located only a short drive away from some beautiful beaches and we had the best weather for February to make the most of these.

We would definitely recommend this cottage to everyone and the host are brilliant. Julie responds quickly to any questions and makes a delicious home made treat for your arrival. We will defiantly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2018
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful trip to Devon. Thank you so much for the glowing review of Harraton Cottage. We hope you come back again soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JF9876
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Having known little of what to expect in the South Devon area, even less the cottage, we had a wonderful time. The owner set us up perfectly - clean/tidy, surprisingly sleek and modern inside, exceptionally well equipped - and managed to provide a bespoke service (including all-request, home-baked cupcakes!) while being unobtrusive and generous alike. The South Devon coast-line turned out to be as beautiful and richly diverse as any we have seen in the UK. Thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2018
Thank you, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage last minute for a kayaking trip in Dartmoor. We were blown away by how nice the cottage was when we arrived.

The beds are comfy, the kitchen had everything we needed and there were some lovely home cooked brownies waiting for us.

Julie made sure we had everything we needed and was a great host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
Thanks so much for the great review! We’re so glad you enjoyed your weekend! You are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect house ”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just come back from staying here for the weekend. The house was incredible it catered for everyone’s needs. There is plenty of places to sit and chill. Would love to go back again specially when the weather is warmer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review Molly. I'm so please you all enjoyed your weekend at Harraton and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
Thanks so much for the great review. We're so pleased you had such a good holiday at Harraton Cottage and hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RKGtravel...
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury, homely & spacious countryside cottage”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at Harraton Cottage for an early Christmas get together, there were 3 couples and 5 children, Julie, the property owner's communication was excellent from the the moment of booking. She provided a timely and efficient response to any questions and even provided us with really tasty chocolate cakes on arrival (asking for allergies beforehand). The property itself is a little tricky to find in the dark as it's behind some farm buildings, but the directions we got from Julie were so specific that we found it with no problem (although one guest did get lost! But found it in the end).

Inside it's wonderfully spacious and open plan (great for groups), with high spec appliances and lovely furniture and fittings. There were plenty of toys for the children neatly stored away in a toy box, which kept them fully entertained, as well as plenty of books and games (for adults and children). There' s everything you could need including laundry facilities, coffee maker, very large fridge etc.

The bedrooms are also spacious and comfortable and the whole property was very clean and tidy. Outside there are a few things to do for the kids like giant connect 4, a swing, see saw and tree house. I can't comment on the surrounding location as we didn't really leave the property as we were too busy being cosy by the wood burning fire and eating Christmas lunch! But I believe there are plenty of walks and beaches a short drive away. There is a co op and other supermarkets down the road. The property is set back from a main road but we didn't hear any traffic.

Some of us even described it as our dream home! So I'm sure we will go back again soon...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2017
Thank you so much for writing such a positive and detailed review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing