We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Harraton Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harraton Cottage
Read a newspaper and relax in the sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Harraton Cottage
Read a newspaper and relax in the sun
The paddock at the rear of the house
Open plan living and kitchen area
Open plan living area
Open plan kitchen/dining and living area
Snug
Utility Room with washing machine, tumble dryer and drying rack
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
The en-suite bathroom to the king size room
Linen and towel provided
The en-suite bathroom to the front king size room
The bunk room with children's books and toys
The twin room
The family bathroom shared by the twin and bunk rooms
The family bathroom
Relaxing by the firepit
Bantham Surf Beach- 15 minutes away
View of  Burgh Island from Bantham Beach- 15 mins away
Wonwell Beach- 10 minutes away
Avon Estuary Walk- 10 mins away
Westcombe Beach- 10 minutes drive and 20 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Davdotcom
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Staying at Harraton is always a delight - we love it so much we've been more than once! The house is immaculate, superbly equipped and beautifully decorated. The rooms are spacious yet the cottage retains a lovely cosy feel. Our kids love the big garden and all the play facilities and there's a lovely area to sit out by the bbq in the evenings. Location wise, Harraton is great: you can easily reach a variety of beaches within a fairly short drive; there are also some great walks in the area, and plenty to do whatever the weather. The lovely towns of Kingsbridge and Salcombe are also nearby. We will definitely be returning!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thank you so much for reviewing Harraton, we're so pleased you had another lovely holiday! See you next year hopefully!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medgehome
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great week at Harraton”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Harraton cottage was an ideal location with some great beaches within under half an hour away. The Edwardian cottage had been recently modernised to a very high standard and comes complete with absolutely everything you need for a great holiday. That includes a full selection of toys for the grandchildren. a place not to be missed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gej1234
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harraton Cottage. It was clean, bright and had everything 2 large families could wish for. Julie provided a helpful guide, which listed places to eat, drink and visit in the area. Thanks for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you liked Harraton Cottage and enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianjohn...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a lovely weekend at the cottage. Everything there you could want and more!! Some great recommendations for places to go!! A yummy lemon drizzle cake on arrival!! Wish we were staying longer!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend and the cake!! See you again hopefully!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise4...
1 review
“Beautiful Relaxing Devon Break”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Wow, it was an absolute delight staying at this cottage. I can’t really praise it enough. The cottage is beautifully furnished, very clean with everything you need. The perfect Devon countryside retreat … quiet, remote location with a beautiful spacious garden for the kids to play in yet close to all your amenities including the beautiful Devon beaches. We went with some friends and had a fantastic time. Thank you Julie & Paul for being so welcoming… we have now found our Devon holiday retreat and will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for such a glowing review of Harraton Cottage. We are so pleased you love it as much as we do. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Julie and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM0001
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a great time with my family staying here for a long weekend. The house is really comfortable and looks to have had a recent refurbishment inside. The kitchen was great, all new appliances and great selection of useful cooking condiments. The bedrooms were very clean with comfy beds and linens. Location wise, the house sits just off of a main road, so do be aware of that as you can hear the traffic. But with this comes the access to nearby beaches and towns which doesn't take long and that's what drew me to this place - the ability to drive down to the beach in about 15 mins. Lots of childrens toys provided and security gates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are always grateful for feedback from guests. We're so pleased you enjoyed your weekend at Harraton Cottage and hope you come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole202...
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a perfect place for relaxing and visiting the many local beauty spots.

The cottage has a great kitchen with everything you could possible need, which is open plan to the dining and comfy area but with a hidden snug - don't tell the children that it is there and you can chill in peace! The bedrooms are all beautifully furnished, the beds are bliss and the showers are wonderful. We had 6 adults and 2 dogs and we never felt crowded.

Outside there is a good size garden and a huge not-quite-wilderness area, BBQ and lots of parking space.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Harraton Cottage. Thank you so much for the review! Best wishes Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing