We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS, RELAXING, BEAUTIFUL, SUPERB PLACE TO...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lee Cottage Treehouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Lee Cottage
Treehouse
Love-Lee Cottage river bank
Garden
Love-Lee Cottage
Hand crafted king size bed
Lounge
Resident kingfisher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lorne T
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FABULOUS, RELAXING, BEAUTIFUL, SUPERB PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

What can I say, this is the most wonderful place to stay, a hidden gem. We stayed here at the beginning of June just as the good weather kicked in and we chose this place as they accepted 2 dogs. We were greeted by Alan who was lovely and friendly and very helpful and we chatted to him several times during our stay. The wee cottage was spotlessly clean and was stocked with everything we needed. The first evening was spent down by river with the chiminea blazing and the dogs playing in the river, it was so idyllic. The gardens are beautiful and maintained to a very high standard, the same as the cottage. There are lovely walks close by and Dartmoor is just a few miles away. Thank you for such a fantastic stay and we will definitely be coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Our 4 legged guests always seem to enjoy the river! So glad you had such a great visit and enjoyed riding the Clydesdales on Dartmoor. (Apologies for calling Dan 'Nigel' numerous times - don't know why, but very embarrassed)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mermaidte...
Porto Santo Island, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Lovelee stay!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

The cottage is very sweet and the hosts gracious and helpful. Despite the poor weather, we enjoyed our stay enormously.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2018
Thank you very much for the kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemc6105...
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Lee Cottage”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We arrived early to a warm welcome from Alan and Di. Whilst waiting Alan and Di suggested we went to sit by the river which was a very welcome relaxing start to our holiday.
The accommodation was great as was the grounds around and Alan and Di were very informative and helpful in making the best of our holiday.
This was an wonderful location which added to the enjoyment of our relaxing holiday - just what we both needed to recharge our batteries. Would thoroughly recommend this great holiday rental. Thank you Alan and Di for a wonderful week. Hope you both manage to get to sit by the river one evening this summer too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2018
Thank you very much for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are hoping to spend an evening or two, by the river ourselves this week as the forecast is so good.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie T
1 review
“Lovely little cottage, left feeling really relaxed”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is a very sweet little cottage on the edge of Dartmoor. The nearest town is Tavistock.
We arrived to a very warm welcome from Al and Di and a really nice welcome pack which included cookies and bubbly. Totally unexpected but very generous.
Al and Di the owners are very unintrusive but there if you need them. We had a couple of general maintenance issues, just wear and tear which could not have been foreseen and they were mended immediately without any fuss and with lots of apologies.
We were really lucky with our British weather and managed to have our breakfast in the tree house overlooking the river for most of the day's that we were there. There are also a couple of swings in different locations around the garden so it was lots of fun.
The cottage is quite small but it has everything you need. The decor is very charming and sweet and shows off Al's skilled handiwork really well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Thank you very much for the kind review. Glad you made use of the treehouse in the gorgeous weather last week. Hope you are still feeling relaxed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting Love-Lee Cottage”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely enchanting place to stay. Quirky stunning cottage. More than we expected. Beautiful place even at this time of year. Al and Di are very welcoming. We are recommending this place to many people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed March 2, 2018 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I was looking for a cosy peaceful place to stop with lots of beautiful walks to do with our two dogs. This was the perfect place. Excellent, welcoming, friendly service. Cosy and all you need accommodation. Helpful recommendations left for you about the area. Amazing and beautiful garden with a lovely river at the bottom, great for washing the dogs off after a walk.
Lovely walks on the doorstep and just short drives to more.
We had no complaints about this place it was perfect for what we wanted and will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2018
Thank you very much for the lovely review Danielle. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and the dogs enjoyed the walks and the river.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisas0mer...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Hidden away it has a beautiful setting with lovely walking on its doorstep. The tree house and river in the garden are a treat.

We found too much to do within a short drive away, especially Lydford Gorge and just exploring the Moors.

The cottage itself is compact & has everything you need including character. The information sheets and welcoming cakes and food basics are a Love-Lee touch.

A lovely stay just could of done with a few more days. Thank you Alan & Di :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thank you very much. So glad you and Kevin enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing