We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lee Cottage Treehouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Lee Cottage
Treehouse
Love-Lee Cottage river bank
Garden
Love-Lee Cottage
Hand crafted king size bed
Lounge
Resident kingfisher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Danielle...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed March 2, 2018 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I was looking for a cosy peaceful place to stop with lots of beautiful walks to do with our two dogs. This was the perfect place. Excellent, welcoming, friendly service. Cosy and all you need accommodation. Helpful recommendations left for you about the area. Amazing and beautiful garden with a lovely river at the bottom, great for washing the dogs off after a walk.
Lovely walks on the doorstep and just short drives to more.
We had no complaints about this place it was perfect for what we wanted and will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2018
Thank you very much for the lovely review Danielle. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and the dogs enjoyed the walks and the river.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisas0mer...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Hidden away it has a beautiful setting with lovely walking on its doorstep. The tree house and river in the garden are a treat.

We found too much to do within a short drive away, especially Lydford Gorge and just exploring the Moors.

The cottage itself is compact & has everything you need including character. The information sheets and welcoming cakes and food basics are a Love-Lee touch.

A lovely stay just could of done with a few more days. Thank you Alan & Di :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thank you very much. So glad you and Kevin enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel G
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful riverside getaway”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage is a cosy one up, one down annex to the main house, in secluded woodlands with a small river at the back.
We received a lovely welcome from Di who showed us around the cottage and it was very nice to find the basics like bread, butter, coffee and milk waiting for us.
Being September, the weather wasn't too good but the cottage was warm from the underfloor heating and the electric fire topped it up quickly, if needed. The kitchen and bathroom have slate floors so you'll need your slippers.
The king size bed was large and comfy, although the person on the side against the wall has to clamber over to get out as you can't walk around it because the ceiling slopes at the foot of the bed.
There is one closet downstairs to store your clothes as there is no storage in the bedroom.
The bathroom has a lovely big shower. There is a heated towel rail that warms it all day. There was plenty of room for us to dry wet clothes on an airer that we took. Towels are supplied but they are bath towels, not sheets so you may want your own.
There are lovely big gardens outside that you have full access to, including a tree-house and barbeque area.
At the back of the garden is a path (52 steps) down to the river. There's a private area next to it with a chimnea, with everything you need to fuel and light it. We sat on the supplied chairs and had a picnic in the warm while our dog Benji swam along and across the river. It even rained heavily during our picnic but the tree cover kept us dry! Be aware the river can get quite swollen after heavy rain.
Benji also had plenty of fun running around with Di and Al's dog Cleo.
There are plenty of woodland walks around the cottage as well as the nearby Tamar Valley and not forgetting Dartmoor about 40 minutes away.
Being out in the country, it is completely dark at night, although you have a porch light to help find your way back.
There is no phone signal anywhere locally but the free wifi is adequate.
There are no local shops, Tavistock being about 20 minutes away, so go prepared! You'll need a car to get anywhere.
We had most of our evening meals at the Copper Penny pub in Chipshop (real place!) Good quality, good value and dog friendly. it's about 10 minutes from the cottage. Also try the Forrest inn on Dartmoor but beware the Two Bridges Inn as it's very expensive.
Our car sat nav, as well as Google Maps on the phone, completely ignored 2 junctions from the cottage to Tavistock, so be careful.
To summarise, great place, great hosts, lovely location and good value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Wow - what a comprehensive review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope the puppy is settling in!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy A
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heaven in Devon”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a beautiful place to stay. The Cottage is really cute, comfortable and has everything you need. Alan and Di are brilliant hosts and offer a warm welcome with a stock of food to boot. They are very helpful and are there if you need them but leave you be if you don't. I spent the first evening sitting on the rivers edge with a glass of wine and lit the chimnea with wood and firelighters all provided. It was sheer bliss and topped off with a fly by of the resident Kingfisher. Watched a Lesser Spotted Woodpecker on the bird table as I had my al fresco breakfast and took off for a woodland walk just off the doorstep. Dog friendly and Smithy had great fun in the river with dog friendly beaches 45-50 mins drive away. Loads to do locally and I can recommend the 13th Century Church in Brentor, the views are breathtaking. I can thoroughly recommend this place. It is salve for the soul.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2017
Thank you so much for that lovely review Joy. So glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice evening by the river. It was a pleasure to meet you and the gorgeous Smithy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal J
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at the cottage for a week and despite the rainy weather had a beautiful cosy time. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Di and were so grateful for the lovely wine and treats they left out for us. Being able to sit by the river in the evening with the chimnea felt very special and we loved reading and chatting together up in the tree house. There were lots of love things to do and places to see nearby. We felt sad to leave such a beautiful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Thank you for a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of the tree house and chimnea by the river. And thank you for the lovely painted slate you made for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly-135...
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful weekend”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We returned yesterday from our weekend at Love Lee Cottage and I must say it was quite exceptional! We were greeted on arrival by Alan the owner and his lovely dog and were made to feel very welcome. The cottage is small but so cosy and just right for two. Ideal distance from amenities and a very short drive to get to the moor. The grounds are beautiful and tranquil. We were particularly lucky with the weather being February and sat by the private river with a fire on the go and a bottle of wine in time for sunset. We visit Devon regularly and I must say this was definitely one of our more memorable visits. Thank you, we will definitely be coming again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and made use of the chimnea by the river.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little fairytale place in a beautiful location”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Like something from the three little bears, wooden and cosy. This place was beautifully decked out and full of lovely little touches including the tree house outside! Great for sitting in with a cup of tea and the tasty biscuits we had gifted by the owners on our arrival. Love to come and stay again as there's so much to see and do in Dartmoor, we only scratched the surface. Thank you guys! X

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing