We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in a stunning location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

Rear of Swallow Barn and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of Swallow Barn and garden
Daffodils at Swallow Barn in Spring Approaching Swallow Barn and looking across its land to the Moors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Rear of Swallow Barn and garden
Daffodils at Swallow Barn in Spring
Approaching Swallow Barn and looking across its land to the Moors
Kitchen with fantastic amount of space and fully kitted out.
Dining with lots of room
Living room which is very sunny
Huge doors open up from sitting room
Dining room with wood burning stove
Wood burning stove
Master Bedroom with own outdoor access
Twin bedroom
Sitting outside the kitchen
Front of Swallow Barn
View across garden
Swallows nesting outside front door
Roses around window
Lydford Forest
National Trust Lydford Gorge in village
Nearby Brentor
Pub in village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maria L
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

We had a wonderful holiday! Swallow Barn is very peaceful, relaxing and spacious with high quality fittings. It has everything you could wish for to make it a very comfortable stay! The view from the living room (which has bi-fold doors) is stunning as you can see the Dartmoor Tors. Rachel was very helpful and welcoming. A visit to Lydford Gorge is definitely worth a visit and also the High Tors on Dartmoor both being very close to Swallow Barn. We will definitely be visiting again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2018
Thank you for being such considerate guests. I look forward to welcoming you back. Also grateful for you taking the time to write such a lovely review:)
Kind regards
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maenrockm...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uninterrupted stunning views and fantastic well equipped barn perfect for exploring Dartmoor.”
Reviewed June 24, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wonderful comfortable and so well positioned, slightly outside of village with spectacular views. Perfect for everyone. Quiet and idelic, well presented and perfectly equipped for any length of stay. Lots of space in the barn and a huge garden which really makes you feel amongst the fauna and flora of Dartmoor. The resident swallows and other bird life and neighbouring cows and sheep all make this part of the countryside sing. The garden is a wonderful all day full of sun perfect place to relax and watching the sunrise over the moors was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Swallow Barn. So glad you enjoyed your time there and thank you for sharing the fantastic photos you took! We look forward to welcoming back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenpem...
2 reviews
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed June 21, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The barn is in a fantastic location. Watched some beautiful sunrises over the moor from the bedroom window! The barn is well-equipped with laundry facilities, plenty of crockery etc. It has plenty to do nearby. The furthest we went was Cotehele (very friendly and knowledgeable guides). We also visited the garden at Buckland Monachorum, Lydford, including the gorge, some villages and churches and walked on the moor. The Lydford farm shop was full of tempting goodies - we even brought some frozen pasties home with us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were excellent guests and I am so glad that you enjoyed both the Barn and Dartmoor. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A truly relaxing get away”
Reviewed June 12, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Swallow Barn is a great place to stay. It’s roomy, comfortable and has great views of Dartmoor. It’s a very quiet and relaxing place to stay.

It’s on the edge of Dartmoor and there are plenty of great pubs to visit when you are in need of refreshment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. You were excellent guests and a pleasure to host. I am very glad that you felt so comfortable and relaxed during your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Kind regards
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey_Ev...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star detached barn conversion in great location to access Dartmoor's high tors”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A property fully deserving of its 5-star rating. Not only has the building been renovated to a very high standard, but also has high quality fixtures & fittings, and is very well equipped. One example of the interior quality is the beautiful and durable doors, which appear to be made of solid oak. We've stayed in many holiday properties over the years, and too often they are done cheaply with short-term cost savings in mind. Swallow Barn is refreshingly different, with everything of high quality and intended to last a long time. The property is very spacious for a 3 bedroom one, with the lounge and kitchen being particularly roomy. Upstairs bathroom and en-suite shower room are very well fitted-out. The shower plughole even drains properly - often a problem in holiday properties ! Reasonably priced considering how much property you get and how nice it is. The property is very well located if you fancy walking Dartmoor's high tors. Situated on the north-west edge of the National Park, it's only a short drive to Meldon Reservoir just to the south of Okehampton. From the reservoir you can easily walk up to High Willhays (Dartmoor's highest peak at 2,037 feet above sea level) and alongside it Yes Tor (Dartmoor's second highest peak). Our 8-year-old walked it with his dad, and having had a few snowball fights up on the peaks it was a welcome return to cosy Swallow Barn at the end of the day. Great week's holiday had by dad, mum, son (8), daughter (3) and baby boy (4 months). Thanks Rachel and Julian for allowing us to stay in this gem. Evans Family, Bath, North East Somerset

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2018
Hello Evans Family!
Thank you all so much for being fantastic guests and for the great review. We love Swallow Barn and it was a pleasure to share it with you. What an achievement for your son! I hope he keeps up the walking and I hope we will see you back in Dartmoor soon.
Kind regards
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dierfysio...
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful house and surroundings, everything you could possibly want.”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a very lovely stay in gorgeous Swallow Barn. Warm welcome, very nice contact with very friendly owner of house and ditto housekeeper. Very complete inventory, everything clean and fresh. Lots to do in the area, although just enjoying the house and garden is just as wonderful as going out. Quite sad that our holidays are over. Wanted to pick the house up and bring it back home. :) Highly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Hello, just realised I emailed but did not respond to your review online. Many thanks for sharing your thoughts. We love Swallow Barn and it was an absolute pleasure sharing it with you and we would be delighted to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceymea...
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous holiday let was a home from home”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Amazing part of the country. Lydford Gorge is well worth a look which is on the doorstep. The furthest we explored was Padstow in Cornwall. Couldn't see everything in a week. Wished we had stayed longer. The holiday let was a great place to come back and relax after a day of exploring. There were stacks of games to play in case it rained, and TV with Netflix. As the weather stayed with us the whole week we didn't need these. The kitchen was the best feature as we were able to cook our own meals instead of going out to eat. A plus for us.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future to explore more of Devon and Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing