We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“human and dog friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“human and dog friendly!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

excellent location for walking north dartmoor. very friendly popular and accomodating inn. unusual these days to find that landlord/lady and staff have been in situ for many years.Not 'boutique',therefore unpretentious pub food.

Room Tip: back room moorland views and away from traffic on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totnesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    48
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
47
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

7 Pm on a Sunday and we asked for a cream tea.. not at this time of day they said.Not impressed really as scones take a minute to warm up and jam and cream should have been in fridge.
These days you would have thought a little consideration would earn a good reputation and after all ... what the customer wants means survival !
Shame the board outside said Open all day and cream teas ( amongst other things) were served . OK , literal english ... but Go that xtra mile !!
Sad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churchfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A few of us stayed here for a golfing weekend. All mof the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The evening food was good and the breakfast first rate. The only problem was that those on the front were disturbed by the traffic during the night with their windows open. We on the back had a very peaceful night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A group of 6 of us had a day of hiking in Dartmoor and were planning on camping - but the weather forecast looked poor so we decided to find a bunkhouse.

The Fox and Hounds Hotel came up in the internet search, so I phoned and booked it. The lady on the telephone was very helpful and patient. I had to phone back a couple of times to confirm numbers and change booking and they were always polite.

The weather was indeed awful so we arrived quite early and checked in to the bunkhouse, we were shown our room by a very helpful gentleman.

The bunk rooms are very basic .. but that's the point. At only £8 a night it gave us a roof over our head, a shower and a bed. The room was quiet and clean. There are 3 bunks in each room - sleeping 6 in total. Bedding is available at extra cost but we just used our sleeping bags.

We went into the pub for drinks and food and the staff behind the bar were all polite and friendly, treating us like regulars. We all ordered food and I'm happy to say it was absolutely delicious, well presented and way above what I would call standard pub fare.

We stayed in the pub till closing time as it had a great atmosphere.

Overall we were all very happy and have added it to our 'go to' list of Dartmoor accommodation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bunk room 2 - which was clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fowleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have been going to the Fox & Hounds Hotel on and off for 25 years or so. You are always sure of a warm welcome from Dave, Frank & Sue. The menu is varied menu and the staff are more than happy to adapt dishes to your requirements. They serve meals all day up to 10.00 p.m. - a bit of a rarity in the past of Devon. The pub welcomes, families and well behaved dogs. There is a large car park and the lane beside the pub leads right on to the moors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Fox and Hounds is easy to find but still have a lovely and peaceful surrounding. The carpark is well sized and right next to the pub.
The food is typical but very good pub grub and the few meals I have had have always been well cooked and presented. The staff are friendly and helpful and the prices are good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorDumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

dog friendly pub with good veggie burger
friendly staff
car park

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydford
13.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,237 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
483 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
178 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Hotel

Property: Fox and Hounds Hotel
Address: Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox and Hounds Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fox and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Hounds Hotel Dartmoor National Park/Lydford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing