We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly amazing even with our short stay, but...”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A truly magical place. How old English inns should be. I felt very secure and safe. The staff were most welcoming and helpful as we arrived late Saturday night and I'm sure they just wanted to go home! The breakfast was huge and to die for. Very very good. Now, here's the but. But it's not a bad but against the overall feel just a little creepy... I'm aware it's a place built in the 1500's. And when we stayed and woke up the next morning,(or rather was woken), it was to the sound of fast flowing water. In fact the water coming out of the cold tap in the sink in room 9. Yes, it had turned itself on 1 full revolution and was gushing out Water. As you can imagine we was shocked and freaked out. But it sure did add character to the place. Very weird but it didn't bother us as we're not sceptical.
Other then that a truly amazing place and in a perfect peaceful village. Will come again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukoharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

So full of character, this place is a wonderful B&B. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a fantastically soft and comfy bed. The bathroom was very nice, too.

The staff are excellent (look out for Mo and a couple of very sweet younger girls) and the breakfast is traditional, hearty fare.

The atmosphere of the place makes it - all beamed ceilings, creaking floor boards and dark, smoky corners. It is a place to spend the evening in at the bar, talking and laughing with friends and strangers before retiring to a gloriously comfortable bed and a walk on the moors.

We will return - again and again.

Room Tip: We had room 9, and it was fantastic.Above the more modern conversion but kept in the same style, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCW_CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueandrobkelly, Owner at Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We thank all our residential and pub guests for all their comments. We are striving to ensure the Castle Inn continues to be a traditional village pub offering fabulous food. Please keep the comments coming as all are welcome to ensure we are able to view the thoughts of our valued customers. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

ive been to the castle inn a couple of times the first time it was lovely, there were two young ladies behind the bar, one was very talkative and made me feel very welcome and the other one was joining in, in the conversation and made me and my husband feel comfortable. however, the second time we went expecting the same welcome, it wasn't like that at all. the was a middle age lady behind the bar and as far as i was aware it was the owner of the castle inn she was very blunt with us making no conversation and not being very helpful. however, the young lady who was talkative came over to us remembering us from last time and kept a nice conversation between us. by the land lady being so blunt with us made us feel uncomfortable and un - welcome. i was very disappointed and don't feel i would want to go there again considering he atmosphere the second time. she was also very blunt to some of her staff which made me feel that why still work there letting her speak to you like that, i felt like i should say something to the staff about the way there boss spoke t them, but then i realized it wasn't my place to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our first visit to the Castle Inn and it won't be our last.

We were on our way to Cornwall for New Year and had booked to stop overnight on our way there. What a fabulous find.

If you like quaint, cosy, old English pubs then you will love this. The bar is small with a welcoming fire, the restaurant part is separate with another fire and fabulous food, great service and a cosy atmosphere.

We stayed in a small double which was perfect for the night, warm, comfortable and clean with a great shower and fluffy towels. The only 'grumble' if you call it that is the towel warmer was broken in the bathroom and the thermostat was hanging off, but we just thought it added to the character of this truly fabulous place.

It was built in the 1500s so expect low bowed ceilings and uneven floors, plenty of character, friendly staff, great food and drinks. Perfect.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nelly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Yet again everyone were so welcoming to our group of fellow motorcycle club members here for a few drinks and a christmas dinner party.
The room was very clean and very well presented as they have always been for our stays.
The food was outstanding how Rob and the team can make all of the 12 plates we ordered at our table not only hot but very very tasty and all served as one each course is magic!
As alway Sue and the front of house team looked after everone in the place with a smooth professional manner.
Breakfast was fantastic hot and just the right size for all.
Thank you one and all.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have just come back from an incredible evening down at the castle inn, and oh my what an absolutely fabulous place! Full of character in every nook and cranny, we arrived at 7:30 having not booked a table the girls that were working front of house, made us feel so welcome unfortunately I do not know there names other wise they would be gladly mentioned, the 4 young ladies were extremely busy yet so accommodating, such a refreshing feeling, being made to feel so welcomed! What an outstanding pub, with even better service!! Thoroughly impressed!! And will be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jenny566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Castle is a lovely old pub, full of typical pub character (don't try to read your book in the bar in the evening, it is way too atmospheric). I stayed for two nights, alone, while riding at Meldon Farm (Dartmoor Riding Holidays) not far away. Sue the landlady looked after me very well. The breakfast was copious and tasty, dinners very good, and the bedroom was small but comfortable (a really excellent mattress and lovely white fresh linen) with a nice bathroom and big bath, a real bonus when you have been in the saddle all day.

Service at dinner on the first night was a little hit and miss: I got the wrong vegetables with my main course and I ordered the Pinot Grigio rose and got a white (which I didn't even notice until I got it up to my room, because the bar is so dark!). The second night the scallops were fantastic but my drinks order was forgotten. Everything was remedied very quickly and charmingly, though, so still 4 out of 5 for a really good stay.

Room Tip: I was in room 7 at the back. It was delightfully quiet but pretty small - better for 1 than 2 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneShorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lydford hotels
0 mi away
Lydford House Hotel
Lydford House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lydford
136 reviews
1 mi away
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Fox and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lydford
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heathergate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Moor View House
Moor View House
#5 of 8 in Lydford
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dartmoor Inn
Dartmoor Inn
#4 of 8 in Lydford
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Downtown Farm
Downtown Farm
#7 of 8 in Lydford
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: Station Road, Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Inn is a traditional 16th-century inn situated in Lydford, on the Western slopes of Dartmoor National Park. Built in 1550, its plain pink exterior offers no clues as to what awaits you inside. It oozes with character from every nook and cranny. The lamp-lit bar with low, bowed ceilings, many curios, slate floors and an open fire, the lovely snug with high backed settles and the charming restaurant with beamed ceiling. There is a pretty garden to the back of the inn with more seating and views of the castle. Whether you fancy a pint of Tribute and a chat with the locals, a quick bite to eat or a full meal, the the Castle Inn offers wonderful food and drink in comfortable and relaxing surroundings. Children are very welcome as are dogs on leads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lydford
Castle Inn Dartmoor National Park/Lydford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing