We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome stop during the Coast to Coast”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Another stop over for one night during the Coast to Coast bike ride - greeted by very friendly staff in the bar who showed us where to store our bikes over night and to our rooms. The rooms were ideal, and the staff made sure the radiators etc were on to let us dry our kit. Couldn't have wished for anything more in the room or bathroom - they were clean, spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the pub for food and again, the friendliness of the staff stood out. The meals were generous and tasty, as was the cider...
Breakfast the next morning was a relaxed affair, we went down when we were ready and it was prepared to order. Plenty of it too - shame they had run of sausages though!

Overall, an ideal stopover for anyone doing the Coast to Coast ride or for a longer stay. The pub is right next to the impressive castle and a pretty church. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is what a country pub should be all about. Space for dining and space for drinking with lots of different areas to sit in. Old fashioned and cosy with dark walls, stone fireplaces and plenty of chunky old wooden tables and chairs. Could possibly do with a bit of a paint job but that is perhaps part of the charm.

We didn't stay here, just visited for an evening meal and a drink on another occasion. The food was really tasty and good value. Home cooked pub food including especially tasy pies. The portion sizes are generous. Nice fresh veg to accompany the meals too. Good selection of wine by the glass in addition to the beer selections.

Very friendly and helpful staff... they fitted us in without a booking with no trouble at all. We sat next to a nice group of local guys who were friendly but not intrusive so it had a great friendly local vibe - we bumped into the same guys later in the week whilst out walking and they even offered us a lift to the pub!

I'd return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneTucker1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A real old fashioned pub with low, brown coloured, ceilings, bashed up (but very clean) furniture and a good range of snacks and meals at sensible prices served well on a timely basis, worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topshamtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have been to the Castle Inn @ Lydford on many occasions. The food has always been great. I visited before the new landlady took over and must say the landlord then didn't talk to us at all. However the new landlady has improved the pub by better cleaning - brasses now gleaming! and improved the ambience of the pub. The beautiful jurassic like Lydford Gorge only minutes away and is a must view location. This pub is nearly always full so please book in advance to be sure of a table.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We visit this pub regularly both for overnight stays and the odd evening meal when in the area as we don't live too far away. Sadly the previous, excellent and very friendly management left in March and the new landlady is not half as pleasant. The food and service has gone down hill but the prices for the food remain high. Such a shame as this was one of our favourites, we won't be staying again and doubt we will even return for an evening meal following our last experience of her 'charms'. Bring back the old management!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-camper700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Sat outside and had lunch with 3 others and a dog. Food was nice, although nothing exceptional, but certainly ticked most of the boxes. Definitely recommended if you are visiting Lydford Gorge, which is just down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived at about 8.30pm for a meal on a wet summer's evening after the pub had clearly been deluged by customers for food and drink. By the time we arrived, the staff were clearly exhausted and irritated but in a good humoured and understandable way. However, once they re-organised (20 minutes later) we received the menus and ordered our food. The menu was what you might expect from a solid country pub. Steak and chips, scampi and chips, gammon and pineapple etc. however, what you won't expect is the quality of the food and the size of the portions. The food was extremely good quality and the portions were generous without being over facing. There was a good range of wines, beers, ciders and spirits and the atmosphere was congenial and relaxed. The meal for two adults and two children came to £48 including drinks. Exceptional value for the quality. The surroundings are fantastic, the staff are accomodating, and the fayre is great value for money. We were heading back north from Cornwall. An exceptional place to stop off on the way up or down the A30.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spydaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydford
0.0 mi away
Lydford House Hotel
Lydford House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lydford
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
0.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Fox and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lydford
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bearslake Inn
Bearslake Inn
#1 of 23 in Okehampton
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dartmoor Inn
Dartmoor Inn
#4 of 8 in Lydford
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heathergate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: Station Road, Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Inn is a traditional 16th-century inn situated in Lydford, on the Western slopes of Dartmoor National Park. Built in 1550, its plain pink exterior offers no clues as to what awaits you inside. It oozes with character from every nook and cranny. The lamp-lit bar with low, bowed ceilings, many curios, slate floors and an open fire, the lovely snug with high backed settles and the charming restaurant with beamed ceiling. There is a pretty garden to the back of the inn with more seating and views of the castle. Whether you fancy a pint of Tribute and a chat with the locals, a quick bite to eat or a full meal, the the Castle Inn offers wonderful food and drink in comfortable and relaxing surroundings. Children are very welcome as are dogs on leads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lydford
Castle Inn Dartmoor National Park/Lydford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing