We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, traditional, archetypal English country pub”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived at about 8.30pm for a meal on a wet summer's evening after the pub had clearly been deluged by customers for food and drink. By the time we arrived, the staff were clearly exhausted and irritated but in a good humoured and understandable way. However, once they re-organised (20 minutes later) we received the menus and ordered our food. The menu was what you might expect from a solid country pub. Steak and chips, scampi and chips, gammon and pineapple etc. however, what you won't expect is the quality of the food and the size of the portions. The food was extremely good quality and the portions were generous without being over facing. There was a good range of wines, beers, ciders and spirits and the atmosphere was congenial and relaxed. The meal for two adults and two children came to £48 including drinks. Exceptional value for the quality. The surroundings are fantastic, the staff are accomodating, and the fayre is great value for money. We were heading back north from Cornwall. An exceptional place to stop off on the way up or down the A30.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spydaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 212 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

On a family holiday, some of our party visited one night and the whole group decided to go back for a meal on the last night of our holiday. When rebooking, we requested the snug as we had a toddler and dog with us, were told it was booked for 7:30 so the only time they could accomodate us was 4:30...however, as we wanted an early night, we were happy with this.

Waitress at first seemed only able to deal with one thing at once...we asked for a bottle of wine and before we could order other drinks, she'd disappeared, so ordered more when she came back, then realised we wanted some water...so the backwards and forwards continued a little while.

However, once order, the starters came through quite quickly and all went down well. Bit of a wait for our mains after this, this was apparently the same on the previous visit but again, when they arrived, all were excellent. Really good choice of menu, lots of variety and for the standard of food, the prices were very reasonable.

Decent choice of wines available our the Sauvignon Blanc we chose was delicious. 2 courses for 8 people, plus two deserts and a liqueur coffee, 3 bottles of wine, 3 pints of beer and a large water came to around £240 - as I mentioned before, happy to pay this for the lovely food. The landlady popped her head round to say hello to us all too and although the service was a bit slow at the start, the staff were all really friendly. If in the area again, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jocrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent a wonderful evening here following an enerjetic walk up and down Lydford Gorge (well worth a visit).

We had booked dinner bed and breakfast and all were a treat. I have know this pub since I was a young child but each time I visit the perfect pretty setting and view from the car park always gladdens my heart.

Our room was large and traditionally olde worldly but not in anyway naff, it was just what you would want from such an old traditional pub. The bed was comfortable and the shower nice and powerful so I was happy.

Dinner was steak and chips and we enjoyed it greatly with some nice wine. The atmosphere is laid back and friendly with locals and tourists mingling. The lovely garden is a perfect place to sit, drink and chat.

Our breakfast was great, served by the friendly and hardworking landlady.

All in all it was a fab little stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived for a long weekend break to celebrate a special birthday. The room was superb, clean, with a very comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly, helpful and hardworking. The atmosphere in the bar with its very low ceilings was homely and the locals very friendly. There was a good choice of food, including vegetarian dishes at very reasonable prices. This Inn is ideally situated if you wish to visit Lydford Gorge, it’s just around the corner, and is well placed for visits to typical market towns like Tavistock or Okehampton.
Byland Abbey and Morwellham Quay are also well worth a visit. We can’t wait to visit again, hopefully when the log fires are burning brightly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musttravelCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Can't comment on the rooms as we went here for a meal only. We were really pleased with the quality and the value for money. The low ceilings and traditional decor give the place a really cosy atmosphere. Staff were friendly and very customer focused. We chose steaks which are on the more expensive side at £16.95 but they were delicious and perfectly cooked. The chips were the best I have tasted anywhere and obviously home made. Many of the main courses are available for under £10 and my daughter said that the vanilla ice cream was the best she'd tasted. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Clean, comfortable and warm welcome from the staff at the castle inn. Great to have an option of a bath after another long day cycling. Food in the pub is excellent with a range of choices across a large price range from reasonable to expensive (seems to specialise in beef steak). Rooms reflect the age of the building but were well appointed and characterful with beams and sloping floor (although the bed had been adjusted so not sloping!). Secure accommodation for our 4 bikes was not a problem (checked at time of booking). Quiet village, pretty garden.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We ate here for lunch with family, I booked a table and high chair online and everything was ready for our arrival. Very pleasant and helpful staff and excellent menu, spoilt for choice! All meals were superb, generous portions and proper home cooked Fayre at reasonable prices, would highly recommend and definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sistonpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lydford hotels
0.0 mi away
Lydford House Hotel
Lydford House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lydford
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Fox and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lydford
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heathergate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dartmoor Inn
Dartmoor Inn
#4 of 8 in Lydford
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Springs
The Springs
#6 of 8 in Lydford
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Downtown Farm
Downtown Farm
#7 of 8 in Lydford
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: Station Road, Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Inn is a traditional 16th-century inn situated in Lydford, on the Western slopes of Dartmoor National Park. Built in 1550, its plain pink exterior offers no clues as to what awaits you inside. It oozes with character from every nook and cranny. The lamp-lit bar with low, bowed ceilings, many curios, slate floors and an open fire, the lovely snug with high backed settles and the charming restaurant with beamed ceiling. There is a pretty garden to the back of the inn with more seating and views of the castle. Whether you fancy a pint of Tribute and a chat with the locals, a quick bite to eat or a full meal, the the Castle Inn offers wonderful food and drink in comfortable and relaxing surroundings. Children are very welcome as are dogs on leads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lydford
Castle Inn Dartmoor National Park/Lydford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing