We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - overdue for refurbishment!”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Called in here on a trip through the area cycle touring. The staff were very pleasant but the room was very sad. Everywhere I looked there was signs of grubbiness. When in bed there was a smell of stale bedding which I hate. I have come across accomodation of a similar standard before but the price reflected it - this place was way overpriced I would expect pristine cleanliness andoutique styling for £70. The food was OK but again not really reflecting the current standards I expect for the prices charged. (Although breakfast was very good). I was not surprised that I was not asked if I had enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SomersetRickyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

A typical old English pub with rip roaring fires and lovely personal service. The manager truly makes this place with his friendly yet professional manner and his attention to detail in making your stay as comfortable as possible. Don't expect 5* luxury, our room had a washbasin only in the bedroom and the ensuite was rather tiny to say the least but don't let this put you off if you are looking for a heart warming experience of an old traditional inn. Dinner was delicious "home cooked" food and the bar is full of friendly locals happy to join in with a bit of banter. Lovely area with the remains of the castle next door to the Inn and Lydford Gorge right on your doorstep. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights - 2 adults and 2 teenagers in 2 rooms. The rooms were pleasant and good value. The food, both breakfasts and dinners, were excellent with many local ingredients and the menu is reasonably priced compared to many other places in the area. The pub has a very pleasant atmosphere with log fires and well kept beer.The staff were welcoming and friendly. The location is convenient for a number of good walks and about half way between Okehampton and Tavistock. We would recommend the Castle Inn as a good place to stay to explore North and West Dartmoor. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartmoorTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Was concerned with one previous review, but after reading the response, considered a visit was on the cards for my wife's birthday.
What a lovely place, although busy, it was not packed and the service was prompt and polite. The food was good and wholesome. We were in one room where a family with children were sat having their evening meal - it was so good to see polite and well behaved children. Thank you for a lovely evening,we will be back !
For those reading reviews, a tip for bad reviewers is to check out their other reviews - some people are never happy unless they are complaining indirectly and would be better off staying at home !!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angof_from_Kernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

After reading a great review in the local paper and seeing some fab pictures of the food we decided to book for sunday lunch. Upon arriving we were disappointed at the welcome, the outside and inside are rather shabby and run down and in need of a good clean & lick of paint. The bar person come waitress had no personalittly and appeared to be quite uncomfortable with having to speak and interact with diners. We were "stuffed" into what can only be described as a "cave". I presume this is the room they reserve for people with children. There are no windows in the cave, its dark, small & right next to the kitchen. For a sunday family lunch, this is the last place you want to sit. As for the food, that can only be described as tasteless. The starters were ok, but you can't go far wrong with a bit of toast and a prawn cocktail! The roast was plated, with watery, tasteless gravy and the smallest amount of veg that had no taste/seasoning at all. We were not offered any more gravy or veg. The meat was ok but obvious it had been stuck under the grill before being served, one side was pink, the other not. So we can say that we will not be visiting this place again. A huge dissapointment!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaytripperExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moxhams, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

We are very disappointed that our guests did not enjoy their dining experience with us. At no point during their visit was their discontent expressed to us, we were therefore not able to resolve any of their grievances at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Get a recommendation for this B&B from lonely planet. What I agree - it's definitely an atmospheric B&B (16th century building) with an amazing pub (that was my favorite part of the stay :-) What I was disappointed about - first of all it was very cold (well, January) but that was kind of expected, second of all is actually design of rooms (we saw 2 of them). Our room was very small (but I know there are some bigger ones in there) and the furniture wasn't as old to be considered historical but wasn't as new to feel comfortable with either. TV is very old. However the advantages were - all the personnel was great, really friendly and caring, in a pub there was a very tasty food and really nice design (unlike the rooms). The village is pretty and a walk around Gorge worth coming there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

As we don't live many miles from this place we have not stayed the night.
Previous visits were under different ownership and whilst this has always been a very good pub it has to be said that the present owners have taken it up a few notches.
The food is excellent and offers plenty of choice. The portions are generous and piping hot with minimum waiting time. The atmosphere was warm and friendly.
Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplyalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lydford hotels
0.0 mi away
Lydford House Hotel
Lydford House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lydford
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Fox and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lydford
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heathergate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dartmoor Inn
Dartmoor Inn
#4 of 8 in Lydford
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Springs
The Springs
#6 of 8 in Lydford
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Downtown Farm
Downtown Farm
#7 of 8 in Lydford
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: Station Road, Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Inn is a traditional 16th-century inn situated in Lydford, on the Western slopes of Dartmoor National Park. Built in 1550, its plain pink exterior offers no clues as to what awaits you inside. It oozes with character from every nook and cranny. The lamp-lit bar with low, bowed ceilings, many curios, slate floors and an open fire, the lovely snug with high backed settles and the charming restaurant with beamed ceiling. There is a pretty garden to the back of the inn with more seating and views of the castle. Whether you fancy a pint of Tribute and a chat with the locals, a quick bite to eat or a full meal, the the Castle Inn offers wonderful food and drink in comfortable and relaxing surroundings. Children are very welcome as are dogs on leads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lydford
Castle Inn Dartmoor National Park/Lydford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing