We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of Three Pound Cottage, Lustleigh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Three Pound Cottage, Lustleigh
View of Three Pound Cottage, Lustleigh Cosy up in front of the log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Front of Three Pound Cottage, Lustleigh
View of Three Pound Cottage, Lustleigh
Cosy up in front of the log burner
Three Pound Cottage, one of the prettiest cottages in Lustleigh
Lounge - spacious but cosy, full of country cottage charm
Pretty twin bedroom, lots of space and a gorgeous view
Twin bedroom
Lustleigh Green
Romantic double bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Single bedroom overlooking the leat
Family bathroom
One of the beautiful views from Lustleigh
View from the cricket field towards Lustleigh Church
The best village pub ever - fantastic food!
The Cleave pub and bistro - just 100 yards from the cottage
The Cleave pub and bistro garden
A walk in the woods from Lusleigh Orchard
May Day in Lustleigh
One of the many pretty cottages in Wreyland, a 5 minute stroll from the cottage
Wreyland Manor
The Dairy - village shop.
Hisley Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
EVELYNA J
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Absolutely great place
A wonderful English cottage in a romantic setting
With modern kitchen and bath rooms
Floor heating
Food for the soul great walks nearby

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
Dear Evelyna, thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Three Pound Cottage. It means such a lot to us when our guests enjoy Lustleigh just as much as we do :-)
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
All the best
Michaela x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iain m
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place to stay. We spent two weeks here in July. The house was very comfortable to come back to after a day out with the children or an evening in the excellent pub round the corner.

The cottage is finished to a very high standard although ceiling beams and doorways are low so if you're tall like me then you need to mind your head a bit.

Parking in Lustleigh can be difficult in the evenings as, not surprisingly, the village was never designed with cars in mind but we generally managed to find somewhere close to the cottage.

Three Pound Cottage had everything we needed. The only criticism is the placement of the dishwasher behind the kitchen door, which makes access awkward.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Hello Iain - thank you so much for your lovely review of Three Pound Cottage. We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time :-) and hope to see you back again some time, all the very best, Michaela and Brian xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa & St...
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we loved the cottage! so quaint, authentic and yet all the amenities we needed (dishwasher! :-) ) the children were happy, the environment gorgeous, the people very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the way the charm of the old cottage was kept while still offering the perks of modern life.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Dear Lisa and Stephen - thank you so much for your lovely review! We are thrilled that you and the children had such a great time at the cottage and in Lustleigh. We hope to welcome you back some time in the future, all the very best, Michaela and Brian x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveMiles...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cottage!”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved our stay in this gorgeous cottage. A great use of space to incorporate a third bedroom. Lovely waterfall shower and well appointed throughout.
I can imagine the stairs could be an issue for those with younger children but my 10 year old twins loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
Many thanks the Miles Family for your lovely review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Three Pound Cottage.
I know what you mean about the original granite staircase, my husband and son love them but I much prefer the new modern staircase - a much easier climb to bed :-)
Thanks again and hope to see you return one day.
Michaela x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascale G
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing walking holiday!”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely welcoming cottage! We had a difficult journey stuck in the traffic and arrived later than planned. It was therefore such a good feeling to arrive at the beautiful cottage. We felt welcome as the landlords had provided tea, coffee, milk… and wine! What a good way to unwind and start our relaxing stay in Dartmoor.
It felt so homely with the quaintness of the old times but the facilities of modern life (easy access to wi-fi, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier, iron, plenty of hangers, good bathrooms…). The cottage is very clean, the linen smells nice and fresh, the towels provided are extra soft! The décor is typically quaint English cottage with thatched roof, timbered ceilings, lime washed walls and wood burner, even down to the small details of antique ornaments. It’s like travelling back in time.
What a bonus to have the walks already printed for us. It was easy to explore the moors locally. We came across beautiful landscapes and wild life. Magical!
Lustleigh is a quaint hamlet with very friendly villagers. There is a church, a dairy shop with fresh and local products, a pub and a village archive for those interested in the local history. As the cottage is situated at the heart of the village, you can enjoy the bell ringers melodic tunes on Thursday night and Sunday morning. Amazing!
Thanks to Michaela and Brian, the very friendly and accommodating owners, for renovating such an historical building and let us share the experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern facilities with 'ye olde worlde' charm and perfect central location.
Liked least: nothing, it was great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We appreciated the thought that went into bringing this property back to life.
Liked least: The one track roads.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jan S
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real Gem.”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wonderful location and the property has been renovated to very high standard. Everything you need is there. The villagers are very welcoming, and the Landlord of the local is quite a character. Fantastic walks around the locale, information on which is in the welcome pack. The owners have gone out of their way to make this a very enjoyable experience. I woild definitely recommend this property to anyone. Have a feeling it is going to be a very popular destination and may have to book a return visit well in advance......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean and like home from home
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing