We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

The Cleave Public House
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lustleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went here to celebrate a relatives 90th birthday at random.
We had 5 different meals at lunchtime between us and all were superb.They cook to order and so it takes a little longer BUT its worth the wait. I rate this pub on the Top of my pubs for meals.I will definitely be going-back; and will incorporate the visit with a walk from Bovey Tracy .
The staff are friendly and helpful.I just hope too many people dont discover this West country gem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_CarolPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    93
    23
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never,ever been disappointed”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We are regular customers at the Cleave and, since the arrival of the present owners, we have never been disappointed! We went for lunch yesterday, 4th November, and had a delicious meal and, as always, we were warmly welcomed by all the staff. Each time we go there is some new delight on the menu, so we have some new dish to try with interesting new flavours. We have been elsewhere (occasionally!) but always find ourselves drawn back to the Cleave where we can be sure of a successful visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Three times the charm”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and the misses love coming here, great food, great atmosphere and customer service! Weve been three times now and we've always had an awesome experience!

I had the guiness pudding and we shared a chocolate pudding. I was hoping that they had the game suet pudding back on the menu because its one of the best dishes ive ever eaten but maybe next time. Now the only thing I would say about the guiness pudding is it got dry 3/4 of the way thru because I ran out of sauce. Also our chocolate pudding didnt have the goey chocolaty goodness inside it was just sponge.

Well done to both Brothers and staff for all your hard work and making it a pleasent experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Terrific host; delightful staff; absolutely delicious food; most beautiful village. Simply the best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A real gem...”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A professional, warm welcome guaranteed from John, his son Ben and their excellent team. The Cleave is in a beautiful , quintessentially English village. Enjoyed multiple meals throughout our vacation, all of which were delicious. The Otter Ale is very well kept and a perfect pint.

We'd highly recommend The Cleave are looking forward to our next visit (it's a long drive from Dubai!!!).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cleave Public House also viewed

Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park
 
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Cleave Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing