We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has it all.............”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eastwrey Barton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastwrey Barton
Ranked #1 of 1 Lustleigh B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It has it all.............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

......great location for exploring Dartmoor, comfortable and immaculate accommodation, great hosts and wonderful food! We stayed in the four poster room, which had lovely views across the garden. We had dinner and the food was excellent, some of the best we had during our whole stay in Devon and Cornwall.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bridget t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights to visit friends and attend a wedding. The welcome was verey warm and the whole property a delight to visit. We had a wonderful dinner on our first night and if we hadn't been experiencing hospitality from friends on the other days we would have looked forward to more delicious dishes. Our room was spotless, spacious and extremely comfortable.The bathroom was all one could desire The view and surroundings were superb.

We would have no hesitation in booking again at Eastwrey Barton if the occasion arose. Don.t think twice - book it!

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms but can recommend No.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyetraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

With family in the area, Eastwrey quickly became our home away from home (Hong Kong, usually!). Sharon and Patrick are ever the welcoming and amiable hosts, and we cannot fault the beautifully appointed rooms.

The main reason to stay, however, is Sharon's impeccable food. The breakfasts are lovely, of course, but make time to stay for dinner. We had pot-roasted guinea fowl one evening, and a very simple but wonderful watercress soup the next which I followed up, only slightly guiltily, with a vanilla panacotta with poached rhubarb. Utterly memorable.

Thank you so much once again to the two of you for welcoming us back. We hope next time will be for slightly happier reasons!

Room Tip: Room number 1 is probably the biggest, but any of them will ensure a really great night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I took pot luck on google search and got lucky with Eastwrey Barton. Conveniently located for Dartmoor, the hotel sits on rise looking across the valley and the mid & late afternoon sun streams onto patio.
The room was excellent. Tastefully decorated, immaculately clean and quiet with views down the valley. Patrick was a perfect host - helpful and informative.
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: room 1 has an excellent view and lots of afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimS2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was the last night of a tour around Devon and Cornwall for myself and my daughter. Patrick and Sharon made us very welcome in their delightful guest house on the edge of Dartmoor. The furnishings and decor were all of the highest standard and the room was both spacious and relaxing. In the evening, following Patrick's recommendation, we ate in the local village pub which turned out to be a picture-postcard thatched roofed inn serving a fantastic menu. The following morning our breakfast was amongst the best of our trip. A hidden gem but worth searching out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchestergadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Maybe it was the other Tripadvisor reviews that made me expect more. It is certainly a very nice b&b in a lovely location but I didnt fall in love with it. We had a standard double with a rather small double bed. The bathroom was spacious but the water pressure of the shower (over the bath) was the worst I've ever had, in fact it was impossible to have a shower with it, I ended up acrobatically washing my hair under the faucet. Overall perfectly fine for a short stay, but also given the prices I wouldnt want to spend my whole vacation here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautytravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
553 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

I would strongly recommend Eastwrey Barton to anyone looking to stay in the area. It's the details that make the difference such as the beautiful linen, the great sausages, the attentive service etc. Dinner wasn't cheap but was of a high standard.

We were in Room 1 which was very big, with a king size bed and a lovely view.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lustleigh
1.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwrey Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwrey Barton

Property: Eastwrey Barton
Address: Moretonhampstead Road | Newton Abbot, Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lustleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lustleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastwrey Barton 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastwrey Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing