We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Master bedroom ensuite with roll top bath
Built in 1905, the beautiful Hall makes for the perfect holiday in Devon
Built in 1905, the beautiful Hall makes for the perfect holiday in Devon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Blachford Hall was a great place to stay. It was very comfortable and had everything that we needed. We found it well positioned to travel out from for day trips and Ivybridge had all that we needed regarding basic shopping needs. The only thing that could have made our stay better would have been an easier parking arrangement.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimK_Swin...
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've just come back from a great holiday staying at Blachford Hall in Ivybridge. It really is just how it looks in the photos - a wonderful renovation of an old property with all mod-cons. Lovely and clean and a fantastic kitchen where we cooked many meals. Great TV and wifi for the kids as well! Ivybridge is a great location for exploring South Devon and only 15mins drive from Plymouth with all that the city offers. Lots of wonderful walks direct from the property - including a fantastic hike to Western Beacon on Dartmoor. Excellent support from Quintin as well for any questions you might have. Can recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Thanks Tim for your lovely review- so pleased that you all had a fab time at Blachford Hall. Kind Regards, Quintin and Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamJoL
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Something different to enjoy”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

I booked here for my partners 40th. It has big impact when you walk into the lounge. Beautiful high ceilings and lots of space. It was cold when we visited so enjoyed the open fire and plenty of wood available.
The main bedroom was luxurious and bathroom downstairs had a great shower. Kitchen was great and we used it to cook while we stayed. Internet was good and it was a good place to hide away in the cold.
Only downside for us was parking. There wasn't designated parking when we stayed (might have changed since) and when we arrived there wasn't anywhere to park. It's at the bottom of a hill so we had to drive around to find somewhere (there is a public one over the river which is very close). Apart from that it is a nice hideaway and something different.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious, character rental in great location”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The conversion of the old meeting room is to a very high standard. Located very close to Ivybridge town centre, it is nonetheless quiet, and centrally situated to visit a variety of sites in the South Hams, Dartmoor and the Devon and East Cornwall coast.
Very well equipped and beautifully furnished, it was an absolute pleasure being here. Much kudos also to Quentin, who made the rental process very easy. Easy walking distance to pubs and restaurants (check out the Trehill, which conveniently is the closest), and less than 5 miles from the Michelin-starred Treby Arms.
For self catering purposes, the hall is also only a few hundred metres from 2 supermarkets.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwagner20...
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely perfect Location, nice and very clean Dartmoor nearby and everything you need too. Kitchen with all the Things you will need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have stayed in many excellent holiday rentals, but Blachford Hall is one of the best.

What sets it apart is the tremendous attention to detail. The kitchen is well equipped, not just with the headline things like cooker / microwave / dishwasher, but more importantly with all the little things that you need if you're actually cooking things. We appreciated the digital scales, whisks and baking pans, even though we didn't much cooking as there are so many excellent restaurants in the area.

There was a fault with the dishwasher, but instead of simply getting it repaired, we were told that it has been replaced.

All the equipment was of good quality and the beds were especially comfortable.

Ivybridge proved to be a great base for visiting Dartmoor, the South Hams and Cornwall and we enjoyed staying at Blachford Hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail. Little things mean a lot.
Liked least: TV system was comprehensive, but not easy to understand for Luddites like me. Fortunately we were travelling with a 13 year old and she was able work it out.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank you Alan for your comments, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Blachford Hall. There really is everything (and more) you need within the hall, and we agree, the location is great for exploring everything that the area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really cosy, well equipped and in a perfect location”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Blatchford Hall. The manager was incredibly helpful and thoughtful and sent brilliant information in advance including comprehensive details of what was in the property and directions to get there.

The hall is really cosy, with beautiful original features including an amazing stained glass window in the master bedroom. The kitchen and bathrooms are very modern and really well equipped. The living areas are comfy and cosy with a massive TV, a wood burning stove, and books, games and DVDs to borrow.

It is a really great location - we did two walks up onto the moor direct from the hall with no need to drive. We also visited a lovely national trust property nearby which was just a short drive - and there were several other options we didn't get a chance to check out! There are also lots of places to buy food in Ivybridge, including a number of supermarkets that are open relatively late so self catering was really easy.

We hope to return at some point for longer - we were only there for three days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing