We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it--but it could be so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Ivybridge B&B and Inns
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love it--but it could be so much more”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We live in Ivybridge and love this pub. It is utterly eccentric--covered with sporting paraphernalia, worn out but comfortable sofas, very funny landlord, staff can blow a bit hot and cold--but it is very much a hub of the community. We've eaten there a few times and the food is reasonable, not haute cuisine but they can surprise you occasionally--I had some superb wild boar a few months ago. Why change it you may ask? and you may have a point--but it could be so much more. If they can find a way of upgrading the whole establishment (pub, restaurant, hotel) without losing the essential 'bonkersness' of the place they would make a fortune--Ivybridge is gagging for a decent pub and restaurant, and there are very few places to stay. We will continue to use it I suspect for many years, but you just can't help thinking--------

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 480Medders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    18
    23
    11
See reviews for
22
28
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Can't comment on accommodation which may be lovely...and meal was some time ago...so apologies if its much better now. Had a Paella, which came withouth the advertised chicken and prawn. It was basically a watery mush with peas - yuk. When complained I was told that no one else had complained. Perhaps it was just an off night.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank boskytales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ivybridge hotels

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was clean, modern and bright - but the bathroom was a bit scruffy and the TV remote was filthy.
The evening meal of fish & chips was excellent but the breakfast tended more towards quantity than quality, my scrambled eggs seemed to be instant microwaved and were dry and had a fishy smell.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and we were provided our room even though we arrived much earlier than check in time.
Ample car park.
Good real ale.
It was hot weather, a electric fan was provided and was needed for sleep because a) our room was above the kitchen and the floor felt hot and this overheated the room (and provided food cooking odours) (but it did dry our hiking boots overnight) and b) we tried sleeping with the window open but the traffic noise of speeding cars through most of the night and the occasional passing drunks made for disturbed sleep. Double glazing minimised this noise.
We are grateful we did not have room over the bar when there was live music on Sat night.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of hotel facing the road if you need to sleep with windows open. Avoid the room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We dined here this evening and had a superb meal. We were give a lovely complimentary pre-starter soup which was delicious. Steaks were succulent and prepared beautifully, onion rings were proper home made ones and crisp with a light batter. Prices were very reasonable and the al a carte menu very interesting. There was a good friendly atmosphere and the staff were all attentive and very professional. Lovely people, lovely food, we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Looking at previous reviews I can appreciate most of the comments as I experienced them to some extent during a one night stay here in June. The hotel is located right next to the road and whilst this is no longer a busy trunk route it nevertheless sees quite a bit of local traffic, hence there is noise. The pub area itself appeared well decorated and had a nice atmosphere. The lady I dealt with at the check-in desk was pleasant and cheerful throughout despite having to cope with a busy restaurant as well as deal with hotel guests. The public areas of the hotel itself could do with a spruce-up but my room was of an adequate size, well maintained and nicely presented. The bathroom, however, undermined all of this as it was small with nowhere to rest anything, the toilet didn't flush properly and the area around the shower had a lot of black mould. The mugs provided in the room also needed a good clean. Noise from the bar was a bit of an issue but happily this seemed to abate by 22:30 so didn't really bother me that much. As far as the food is concerned, the quantities were good and the complimentary soup starter was a nice touch - the quality was OK.

Overall, I'd probably give it another go if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for a family party.
The pub itself is ok - looks tired but clean.
We booked the four poster room, the lady that checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. That's where the good service stopped!
The room itself was large, but quite dark, as it has a small window which faces out on to the road.
Some nice touches in the room like a chaise lounge and a decanter of sherry, as well as tea and coffee making facilities.
we ate at the Inn on both nights we were there, the first night was was friends, and the food was plentiful and tasty.
The second night was the party,and we have tons of food, but again very nice, no complaints.
My only real complaint was with some of the staff. The owner was pretty miserable the whole time we were there, didnt say much and never looked happy.
Another member of staff was also quite grumpy and curt at times, obviously not happy in her job!
Would I stay again - probably not to be honest, I would look around for somewhere else.

Room Tip: The family room was very small, the four poster room quite noisy from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeynveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Reading these reviews it is easy to see who gets the Sportsmans Inn and who doesn't.....If you want an authentic, cosy, friendly and interesting Devon pub/hotel full of genuine people and wonderful staff then you've found it! As a local for the last 9 years this establishment has provided our family so much entertainment with Themed Birthday Bashes, Comedy Nights and Darts Nights featuring top national acts, Vegas Style Casino Nights, Fantastic Tribute Singers - just close your eyes and Neil Diamond IS appearing in Ivybridge, Charity Auctions and Quizzes, not to mention New Years Eve Extravaganzas with stunning food and entertainment for under £40. If you are impressed with the bland corporate makeover that national chains provide then you may not value the whimsical charms of "The Sporties" and its eccentric and very loveable crew. BUT I have spoken to hundreds of guests ('cos it's that kind of place!) who are absolutely delighted to have stumbled upon this little Dartmoor Gem and can't wait to tell others. For the record, I am a university lecturer with very high standards and have travelled the world staying in 4-5 star establishments yet nowhere beats The Sportsmans Inn for a genuinely good night out. PS Weekend entertainment winds up by midnight so there's plenty of time to sleep ; )

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GerriDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivybridge
3.1 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
204 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
549 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
295 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ivybridge
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel

Property: The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
Address: Exeter Road, Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park PL21 0BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ivybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ivybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sportsmans Inn And Ivybridge Hotel
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing