We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$172
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smithaleigh(Plympton)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Rose & Crown(Yealmpton)
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kitley House Hotel(Yealmpton)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
27
25
24
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
25
24
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakdecent foodnice pubstaff were lovelyexcellent breakfastbiscuitsspruceregularstributecornwallpintdartmooruklocalssharon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 118 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We dined here this evening and had a superb meal. We were give a lovely complimentary pre-starter soup which was delicious. Steaks were succulent and prepared beautifully, onion rings were proper home made ones and crisp with a light batter. Prices were very reasonable and the al a carte menu very interesting. There was a good friendly atmosphere and the staff were all attentive and very professional. Lovely people, lovely food, we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Looking at previous reviews I can appreciate most of the comments as I experienced them to some extent during a one night stay here in June. The hotel is located right next to the road and whilst this is no longer a busy trunk route it nevertheless sees quite a bit of local traffic, hence there is noise. The pub area itself appeared well decorated and had a nice atmosphere. The lady I dealt with at the check-in desk was pleasant and cheerful throughout despite having to cope with a busy restaurant as well as deal with hotel guests. The public areas of the hotel itself could do with a spruce-up but my room was of an adequate size, well maintained and nicely presented. The bathroom, however, undermined all of this as it was small with nowhere to rest anything, the toilet didn't flush properly and the area around the shower had a lot of black mould. The mugs provided in the room also needed a good clean. Noise from the bar was a bit of an issue but happily this seemed to abate by 22:30 so didn't really bother me that much. As far as the food is concerned, the quantities were good and the complimentary soup starter was a nice touch - the quality was OK.

Overall, I'd probably give it another go if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for a family party.
The pub itself is ok - looks tired but clean.
We booked the four poster room, the lady that checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. That's where the good service stopped!
The room itself was large, but quite dark, as it has a small window which faces out on to the road.
Some nice touches in the room like a chaise lounge and a decanter of sherry, as well as tea and coffee making facilities.
we ate at the Inn on both nights we were there, the first night was was friends, and the food was plentiful and tasty.
The second night was the party,and we have tons of food, but again very nice, no complaints.
My only real complaint was with some of the staff. The owner was pretty miserable the whole time we were there, didnt say much and never looked happy.
Another member of staff was also quite grumpy and curt at times, obviously not happy in her job!
Would I stay again - probably not to be honest, I would look around for somewhere else.

Room Tip: The family room was very small, the four poster room quite noisy from the road.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeynveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Reading these reviews it is easy to see who gets the Sportsmans Inn and who doesn't.....If you want an authentic, cosy, friendly and interesting Devon pub/hotel full of genuine people and wonderful staff then you've found it! As a local for the last 9 years this establishment has provided our family so much entertainment with Themed Birthday Bashes, Comedy Nights and Darts Nights featuring top national acts, Vegas Style Casino Nights, Fantastic Tribute Singers - just close your eyes and Neil Diamond IS appearing in Ivybridge, Charity Auctions and Quizzes, not to mention New Years Eve Extravaganzas with stunning food and entertainment for under £40. If you are impressed with the bland corporate makeover that national chains provide then you may not value the whimsical charms of "The Sporties" and its eccentric and very loveable crew. BUT I have spoken to hundreds of guests ('cos it's that kind of place!) who are absolutely delighted to have stumbled upon this little Dartmoor Gem and can't wait to tell others. For the record, I am a university lecturer with very high standards and have travelled the world staying in 4-5 star establishments yet nowhere beats The Sportsmans Inn for a genuinely good night out. PS Weekend entertainment winds up by midnight so there's plenty of time to sleep ; )

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GerriDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We started our 8 day coast to coast at the Sportsmans Inn - It's a very welcoming place to stay and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Food and drinks of a decent standard for a B&B pub. Room is relatively basic but about right for the price.

We were also kindly allowed to park our car for the time of our work which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShoreRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews