We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely outstanding B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillhead Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ivybridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillhead Farm
Ranked #3 of 6 Ivybridge B&B and Inns
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I loved my stay at Hillhead and would most definitely return. I had a very warm welcome, with tea and homemade flapjacks (very good) upon arrival. My room was comfortable, stylish and charming and the bathroom was fabulous. The landlady Jane is lovely, an accomplished host who knows all the little touches that make your stay memorable. The breakfast was an absolute treat, the homemade jams were superb and bacon and eggs (plus all the trimmings) was delicious. The standard was equal to that of a 5 star hotel but with all the comfort and charm of a real home. I recommend this B&B very highly and will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane J, Owner at Hillhead Farm, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
It's really kind of both of you to write a review for us! it was a pleasure to have you stay, great meeting you all. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby,Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hillhead Farm is a wonderful B & B; a very warm welcome complete with tea/coffee and homemade cake. We stayed two nights and wished it could have been longer. Our rooms were so comfortable and spotlessly clean. A lovely sittingroom all to ourselves, complete with woodburning stove. The breakfasts are definitely 5 star +; with a mouthwatering choice all perfectly cooked and presented. I would most certainly stay here again and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane J, Owner at Hillhead Farm, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, I'm so gald that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

You could not wish for a warmer welcome, the rooms are spotless with nice homely touches and the breakfasts are superb. There is a lovely sitting room with a woodburning stove for you to relax in and in the background there is always laughter a truly happy place to stay. This is a working farm with lots to see; Jane and David are always happy to answer any questions about the farm and the locality. We stayed for three days and without a doubt will be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hillhead farm is a lovely B&B and I would recommend anyone to stay there without hesitation. We stayed there for three nights for a wedding and Jane was a lovely host and very accommodating. The room itself was impeccably clean and very homely. We also had use of a lovely lounge, where we could relax and watch tv after a busy day. One of the best things about our stay was the breakfast- it was delicious! I would definitely stay at Hillhead Farm again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at Hillhead Farm B&B for three nights and I wish I could have stayed longer. The walled garden room was lovely, light and well appointed. The bathroom was large with a shower and separate bath with skylight overhead. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and very locally sourced (much of it coming directly from the farm itself) and the breakfast room is very lovely with lots of light from the many windows. The family behind this operation is lovely as well, very welcoming and accomodating. I will definately stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Hill farm for a one night stop over and very good it was too. Lovely airy room with en suite. If you are happy with farm life then this is the place for you, it was lovely to see the grandson going to school on his pony. I would definitely recommend this B&B

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Comfortable bed, decent shower and hearty breakfast served by hospitable host. Our double room had an ensuite bathroom and had views across farmland. Half mile walk into the village with one gastropub and another pub being refurbished.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redislandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivybridge
4.7 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.3 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ivybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillhead Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillhead Farm

Property: Hillhead Farm
Address: Ugborough, Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park PL21 0HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ivybridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ivybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillhead Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hillhead Farm Ivybridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing