We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great country house feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagtor House

Bagtor House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilsington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bagtor House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ilsington B&B and Inns
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great country house feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location - middle of nowhere feel on the edge of dartmoor but 10 minutes from main road and 5 mins walk from pub
Staff could not be more helpful - the owner even towed my car from the snowy road into the car park himself!
Warm and cosy feel, great food and friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toddydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We happened upon this wonderful hidden treasure by accident. We were visiting friends in Dartmoor and Bagtor Manor House was next door to our friend's farm, so we booked a two night stay.

Sue and Nigel (owners) were wonderful hosts and their two labs were the official greeters each time you returned from your travels. All of this created a very relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere.

The location is remote and a little difficult to find, but just a phone call to Sue will guide you in timely. Because of the rural location, you do need to drive in order to get to the little village where a quaint English pub serves wonderful food. Breakfast was included with the stay and Sue served many of her homemade items, jams, muesli and local bacon and eggs. It was delish! Just right to start your day for the long walks in the nearby Dartmoor National Park.

The manor house oozed with history (1400 - 1700) and was fascinating to tour around the rooms and several stair ways to see where they led. We definitely recommend you stay here if you need accommodations near the edge of Dartmoor.

One FYI: you will need to have cash (pounds) on hand as they do not take credit cards.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CYearsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

The original part of Bagtor Manor House dates back to 1450 and it was extended in 1710. There are about 10 bedrooms, all huge and our bathroom was almost as big as my apartment. Our hosts were very welcoming and we loved our stay in their wonderful old home. Being on the edge of Dartmoor there is plenty of opportunity for walking but unfortunately the weather wasn't kind to us. However, my travelling companion did take Sue and Nigel's two labradors for a walk every morning while I stayed cosily inside.

Room Tip: I think any room in this great old house would be amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed at Bagtor House with my wife and 15 month daughter for two nights in July 2010. The place is a little difficult to find at first, being situated in a rural area in Dartmoor in amongst the twisty and windy lanes - just dont rely on your sat nav to get you there!

We were greeted on arrival by Sue the owner of Bagtor House, who has been living there for the past 15 years. The place itself is full of history dating back to the 14/15th century.

Sue is a wonderful, friendly host and helped us to settle in to our room and offered to take our luggage.

Breakfast is truly a wonderful affair with fresh eggs from the attached farm, locally sourced sausages/bacon and home made jam and museli. It was truly delicious.

The house itself is surrounded in countryside and is good to take a walk in the gardens overlooking the patchwork quilt hills in the distance. My daughter loved playing on the rocking horse, patting the two dogs and having a look at the chickens, geese and ducks in the farm.

You will though need a car to travel around as the nearest village/pub is quite a long walk.

Apart from that - this place is highly recommended for anyone that wants to get away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soton_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilsington hotels
0.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Bagtor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagtor House

Property: Bagtor House
Address: Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ilsington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ilsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bagtor House Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing