We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The hotel is fairly easy to find but a bit tricky on the narrow road up through the village. Worth the effort though for a quiet, comfortable hotel with great food in the Tiger Bar and the restaurant. Good selection of beers and spirits and great tea and coffee served in the comfortable lounge area. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. Not cheap but we went to the Punch Bowl in Cumbria last year that pretends to be better and costs more but isn't as good as this. Buckfast Abbey is worth a visit.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Teacake_Taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 454 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

Finding quality rooms is a real problem when you are travelling with your dog in Devon, Trip Advisor should look at highlighting hotels and B and B's that go the extra mile.Many places say they are "dog friendly" but in my experience this usually comes with strings attached so it was with some apprehension that we booked one of the limited number of "dog rooms" in the Islington Country House Hotel.First impressions were good, nice location and good facilities.Friendly welcome but tiny room (No 1)with a bathroom that looks like the before in the before and after makeovers and this was the best we could book with a dog-why?? Charge the guest if there are any dog related issues but give them the option.Ironically some of the very best Hotels (Gleaneagles, Turnberry) let you book ANY room although they both have other dog issues.Food was OK to good with really nice sandwiches,one breakfast was great the other chaotic due to lack of staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brummyboy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 12, 2011

Dear Brummyboy1969,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the hotel last month. I can understand your comments regarding our dog friendly rooms. They are our lowest grade of room as they are situated on the ground floor and less spacious than our other rooms. We price them accordingly (about 20% less than other rooms).

We do not allow dogs in other rooms as we have found that not everyone is keen to stay in a room that has had a dog in before and also not all dog owners seem to feel that dogs should discouraged from jumping on their bed, which can be quite messy. The ground floor location also means that early morning and late night walking of dogs is made easier and prevents other guests being disturbed by this.

Unfortunately room 1 is our last room due for refurbishment this year (this is not a standard excuse but quite genuine). We will have completed rooms 24, 26 and 14 by the end of March to mid April. I will telephone you to discuss this matter further.

We have tried to do as much as possible to create a warm welcome for dog owners with our arrival pack which includes local information on dog friendly beaches, dog treats, bags for mess and other information designed to make your stay easier. As a dog owner myself I know how these small touches make life more pleasurable. Personally we usually leave our dog in the car overnight when we are away however as this is not always desirable we are looking at the option of heated kennels. Watch this space.

We hope that you will be able to return in the future and let us know if we have improved the experience and any other comments you may have on how we can improve the dog offering would be most welcome.

Tim Hassell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful location with views of the moor. We were welcomed by attentive staff who looked after all our needs. After a blustery walk over the tors we were able to unwind in the sauna and swimming pool, just before settling down to a delicious meal. The room and bathroom were beautifully appointed and I thoroughly recommend this family run hotel to anyone looking for a stay in Devon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 12, 2011

Dear JRLB

Thank you very much for your fabulous review and we are delighted that your break was enjoyable.

This just proves that even winter on Dartmoor can be enjoyable and the leisure complex is the perfect place to warm up after a long walk.

As you enjoyed yourselves so much I will ensure that you are added to our preferential guest list so that you receive details of special offers and events when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Tim Hassell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Having just returned from a three day New Year's Eve break at the Ilsington Country Hotel, I felt I must write to say how much my husband and I (and the dog) enjoyed our time there. Everyone was so friendly yet attentive to our needs, the room was comfortable and warm, the food was superb and the whole ambience extremely relaxing. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suecolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 12, 2011

Dear SueColman,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your New Year stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed the break. To be honest when you have to work over the festive period you try to make the experience fun for guests and staff alike. Having completed 13 Christmas and New Years here I have to say that I have enjoyed them all as have all the guests.

I am also glad that your dog enjoyed the stay, we have tried to improve on this area by including a pack on arrival with doggy treats and information etc which I hope included the right sort of thing.

You might also be interested to note that Room 1 is one of the last ground floor rooms to due for refurbishment this year and so should be an improvement if or when you return.

As you enjoyed yourselves so much I will ensure that you are added to our preferential guest list so that you receive details of special offers and events when they become available.

All the best

Tim Hassell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

It is truly a relaxing Location, although unfortunately we did not have chance to relax with pre-Christmas family and friend visitings to fulfill. However we were given a beautiful room(suite) to enjoy the time we did have there, and enjoyed superb food, so will be back soon to to enjoy to the full.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marti24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 12, 2011

Dear Marti24,

I was thrilled to see your comments on our website regarding your stay and hope that your next stay will be less hectic with visiting family so that you can enjoy the indoor pool, gardens and the wonders of Dartmoor.

As you enjoyed yourselves so much I will ensure that you are added to our preferential guest list so that you receive details of special offers and events when they become available.

Kind regards

Tim Hassell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. 2010 was the first Christmas when calendars conspired to keep us away from the family. So, somewhat apprehensively, we looked for a Christmas Break package and found the Ilsington Country House Hotel. We needn’t have worried. We had a really wonderful Christmas.
Our arrival was definitely unorthodox in that it was snowy and unusually cold and having made a wrong turn we needed to abandon the car on a steep icy hill about 1km from the hotel. This was no problem as the hotel manager turned out to help us move the car. This wasn’t possible so he helped by carrying our heavy suitcases and other packages uphill through the snow and ice.
Check-in was quick and our cases delivered straight to our room. The room was attractive, if averagely sized, comfortably furnished and impeccably clean. Even though this wasn’t one of the newly refurbished rooms that are part of the hotel’s upgrade programme we were not disappointed. The bed was supremely comfortable and the bathroom featured a full-sized bath and all the potions you expect.
The elegant and spacious dining room was complemented by an excellent menu and wine list. The food served was of the highest standard and, as a comparison, excelled that of the formal dining of a recent cruise on P&O Ventura which was, in itself, more than acceptable. There was the pleasing and newly opened Blue Tiger bar for refreshments and pre and post prandial drinks. Being winter we used the public rooms much more than we normally would for a hotel stay. They could, perhaps, benefit from a spruce-up at some time in the future but they were comfortable and one could always find a quiet spot for reading or relaxation. The wonderful smell of wood smoke from the open fire only added to the comfort and festive mood.
The entertainments programme was well thought through, thoroughly enjoyable and as with everything else at the Ilsington to a very high standard. There was attention to detail throughout and some delightful touches such as the arrival of Father Christmas through the snow and the distribution of delightful Christmas Day gifts by the owners children. We tried the fully equipped pool/gymnasium where you can exercise, steam, bake and swim. The gym was especially impressive as was the cleanliness of the whole facility. The only negative was that there were no lockers for valuables. However, the staff will help with this if you ask.
The staff are always friendly and very helpful, but also they maintain a distance which creates a really professional approach to the services delivered. They are a real asset to this hotel.
We have now added this to our ‘favourite places to go’ list.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed 2 nights. Lovely location, could haver enjoyed the views more if it it hadn't been raining. One of the best Devon cream teas that we had on holiday. Staff very friendly, especially towards our dog. Food good though we preferred the bar not the restaurant. Very friendly towards dog but the room was quite small and they don't do larger rooms for guests with dogs. Room was a little in need of TLC. Swimming pool was basic but very appreciated. We felt it to be a bit over priced.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireMTBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilsington
6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,439 reviews
18.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
9.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
536 reviews
21.1 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: Ilsington Village | Dartmoor National Park, Nr Newton Abbot, Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ilsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Price Range: $142 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated country house hotel is set in 11 acres of private land within the boundaries of the Dartmoor National Park. The hotel has its own flock of hens busy laying eggs for breakfast and there is an overall sense of calm and relaxation around the hotel. Award winning food is served in the main Restaurant whilst the Blue Tiger Inn with its large sun terrace offers more informal dishes of excellent quality. Emphasis is on local produce and homemade creations. Lovely cream teas can be enjoyed in one of the comfortable lounges. Beautiful new Spa opened in 2015 with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, fitness suite and indoor pool. Awarded Gold for Spa and Wellness Experience in South West Tourism's 2017 awards. 3 treatment rooms also available offering a range of luxury treatments. Located in the Dartmoor National Park, yet only 4 miles from the A38 making Ilsington and ideal place for exploring South Devon. Included in the Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilsington Country Hotel
Best Western Newton Abbot
Hotel Ilsington Country
Ilsington Country House Hotel And Spa Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing