We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Mothers day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My sister & I wanted to treat our Mum this year, she had just lost her younger sister and was upset. Firstly there was no waiter consistency so we keep being asked the same questions i.e. would you like another drink etc.Secondly the grand piano that was being played was delightful but too loud. Spelling error on menu.Thirdly. The 2 course meal for £16.95 included tea or coffee, I don't drink either so asked if I could have a juice instead. 1st waiter said he would find out (didn't return) 2nd waiter said "yes". When the bill came we were charged for juice, when we questioned it, they argued!! over a £3 juice.
Finally. When we got home they has charged us for the 3 course meal (£19.95). They did credit my credit card and apologised but we really didn't expect all this hassle from the lovely hotel..
We were going to book Christmas but for £80 per head that would be a chance. Not Happy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieScagell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Ms Scagell,

Thank you for taking the time to write and I have to say I am surprised at your comments given that I saw you throughout the meal and afterwards to show you our Christmas menus. You had said after lunch how wonderful it was and given the experience you would hope to come at Christmas. I was also at Reception when you paid and merely explained it wasn't normal to substitute coffee for other drinks and that is probably why there was some confusion with staff. Brewed filter coffee is a lot cheaper to supply than Luscombe organic lemonade. We also served around 150 people and so there may have been the odd inconsistency although we had fantastic feedback on the day.

What I think is really sad about this review is that there is no mention about the positive points that you talked to me about afterwards (the food, the décor, the ambience etc). I feel that when you learnt the cost of the Christmas Day lunch, it somehow turned you against us.

I think it's a great shame and we are sorry that we won't be able to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,


Richard Hassell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 442 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We organised a 4 night break away for a group of 16 friends and we couldn't have been treated any better. The hotel was extremely comfortable, very warm and welcoming. The staff very courteous and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and the food was superb. Even if going as just a couple it is probably the best place to stay in Devon, we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was very comfortable. Our group had different sized rooms but everyone said ho...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Short stop whilst wandering across Dartmoor- what a gem. Excellent lunch on the patio in the sun, with great views and service. Highly recommended.
All great value , the salads were particularly fresh, with quality ingredients- just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Even a wet weekend in January couldn't dampen the lovely feel of this country house. The room was small but extremely adequate and the bathroom huge!
The staff were friendly and the morning breakfast was lovely and locally sourced.
The gym was really good and had everything we would want, was just a bit weird going outside to the outbuilding where the gym and pool are held but that wasn't a big deal.

The attached Blue Tiger had really really good food and we recommend it.

We would definately visit again, a lovely house in beautiful surroundings. I can imagine summers here are amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The Ilsington country house hotel in Dartmoor is a friendly relaxing venue from which to enjoy the surrounding countryside. The staff were eager to please and our room, although small was quite comfortable.
They do have a pool but this is in a separate building and so you must venture outside if you want to use it.
The food has pretensions toward fine dining, but doesn't quite reach that standard.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just spent a night at the Ilsington Country House Hotel. We were very impressed from our arrival until our departure this morning with everything at the Hotel. The staff are friendly, polite, cheerful and attentive. Our room (24) was very smart, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and very conducive to a good night's sleep. The shower was a whole new experience! Our meal in the Blue Tiger Inn was super, particularly the desserts. And breakfast was really first class. Quality ingredients well cooked and presented, and with the impressive backdrop of Haytor and a stormy Dartmoor. We will certainly recommend the hotel to family and friends and will hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We couldn't fault room 24 . The view from the front of the hotel may be better but our room at...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Free upgrade to a great room, new mattress with a feather duvet & steam shower ! Reception staff very welcoming and accommodating, prompt service and excellent food. Room was very clean and I am really fussy. A real gem hidden in the moor. Will definitely stay again for business and pleasure. Fantastic value and quality for the money

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank claudia_bliestle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilsington
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,353 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
18.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
10.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: Ilsington Village | Dartmoor National Park, Nr Newton Abbot, Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ilsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Price Range: $159 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated country house hotel is set in 11 acres of private land within the boundaries of the Dartmoor National Park. The hotel has its own flock of hens busy laying eggs for breakfast and there is an overall sense of calm and relaxation around the hotel. Award winning food is served in the main Restaurant whilst the Blue Tiger Inn with its large sun terrace offers more informal dishes of excellent quality. Emphasis is on local produce and homemade creations. Lovely cream teas can be enjoyed in one of the comfortable lounges. Beautiful new Spa opened in 2015 with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, fitness suite and indoor pool. Awarded Gold for Spa and Wellness Experience in South West Tourism's 2017 awards. 3 treatment rooms also available offering a range of luxury treatments. Located in the Dartmoor National Park, yet only 4 miles from the A38 making Ilsington and ideal place for exploring South Devon. Included in the Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilsington Country Hotel
Best Western Newton Abbot
Hotel Ilsington Country
Ilsington Country House Hotel And Spa Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing