We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bovey Castle Hotel(North Bovey)
$298
$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cockhaven Arms(Bishopsteignton)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart Hotel(Moretonhampstead)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveler rating
317
121
27
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
317
121
27
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue tigerdining roomsteam roomcream teaexcellent foodbeautiful locationcountry housemain restaurantwarm welcomeshort breakleisure facilitiesrelaxing breakwedding anniversarymany thanksnothing is too much troubleevening mealafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 474 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is situated close to a small village, surrounded by fields and within sight of Hay Tor, and about 10 minutes by car from Newton Abbot.

A number of interesting National Trust properties and the Torbay resorts are all within a 30 to 45 minute drive.

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of May, and found the hotel to be very comfortable, well maintained and clean. We had a double room at the front of the hotel, on the second floor, with a very good bathroom furnished with a walk-in shower and modern roll top bath.

The breakfast buffet has a wide choice range – and the cooked breakfasts again featured a wide choice and were first class. We had dinner in the restaurant each evening, and found the service and food quality worthy of the 2 AA Rosettes. The chef was very adaptable, and helpful in modifying the menu to accommodate allergies / intolerances.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We celebrated my daughters' wedding at Ilsington House Hotel in April and and found the management the staff and the food absolutely faultless. Nothing was too much trouble despite everything we threw at them and the whole event was a massive success - confirmed by all who attended.Richard (the co owner) was a great help in both the planning beforehand and and in the smooth running of the day itself.
Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: The suite that we stayed in had a separate step down sitting room with stunning views over the moor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We feel very fortunate to have celebrated our wedding at Ilsington Country House Hotel in March 2013. Richard was so helpful with all the planning and the weekend arrangements. We felt we were in very experienced and safe hands from the outset. All the hotel team were great. They all made us feel very welcome and helped us enjoy a relaxed family celebration. Mike, the chef, also deserves a special mention and thank you too, as the food was truly exceptional. A massive thank you to Richard and his team. A wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angharad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Many thanks for writing and we are delighted that you chose Ilsington for your Wedding venue. It was a pleasure dealing with you both and we wish you every happiness in the future. Best wishes, Richard and all at Ilsington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is very impressive, we enjoyed are stay very much and couldn't fault anything! If you want a relaxing country get away with amazing views and amazing food this is the place to go! I did think the country rooms may be called country as they were out dated but this isn't the case, they are very well kept and add to the country feel which match its surroundings. The pool is clean with a great steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Every member of staff were happy and helpful, the receptionist was particularly helpful offering some great advice on where to go and things to see, we will be coming back and recommending to our friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andydj2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We very much appreciated your feedback and especially in highlighting the friendliness of our staff. We have an excellent team here who work very heard to make your stay as perfect as possible. As for the views, I certainly agree with you and we are very lucky to work in such a beautiful part of the country. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ilsington soon. Kind regards, Richard Hassell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We selected the Ilsington Country House Hotel to celebrate a close friend's significant birthday with him. What an excellent choice it was. The service we received was very welcoming, attentative and friendly; the menu selection was interesting and enticing. All four of us had different starters and main courses; followed by simply divine desserts. Nothing could be faulted at all, from the delectable presentation, to the outstanding (mostly local) produce, and the refined cooking. We've had many good meals over the years, but this one has been second to none! The evening was beautifully rounded off with coffees served in one of the cosy lounges. We will be here again, that is for certain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROLF R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are so pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us. Our head chef has been with us for 15 years now which means we are confident that we can produce a meal to a very high standard. As you are local to us we very much hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Richard Hassell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews