We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Certificate of Excellence
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently good experience”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here again recently with my 7 year old niece and a high maintenance yorkshire terrier. Staff are always welcoming, friendly and will do whatever they can to ensure you have a good stay. Rooms are very comfortable even though I'm restricted to a ground floor standard room whenever I stay because of the hound. Food is universally good and all in all it's a "good value for money" establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sandra, It was lovely to have you staying with us again and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is good to know we scored highly with both your niece and Yorkshire Terrier! We hope to see you again soon and just to let you know we do now have a couple of additional rooms available to dog owners including a suite which gives you plenty of space and privacy. Kind regards, Richard Hassell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    114
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
108
234
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My Husband and myself were given our short break to Dartmoor by our Daughters for Christmas, although we were familier with the area we had not stayed at the Ilsington before.
During the recent snow we set off from Monmouthshire hoping we would be able to get there.
On arrival the hotel and grounds were a picture in the snow, and we were met with a VERY warm welcome. We had a lovely evening meal at the Blue Tiger and retired to our warm and spacious room. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Throughout our stay ALL staff were friendly and helpfull. We have recommended The Ilsington to Family and Friends and hope we are able to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sandra, Many tahnks for taking the time to write. It is also good to know you enjoyed yourselves especially as the hotel was recommended to you by relatives. We always endeavour to give a warm welcome whatever the weather outside and with our brand new double sided fire in the reception area there is plenty of warmth to go around! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Richard Hassell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great country house feel, middle of nowhere feel on edge of Dartmoor but 10mins drive from main road and 5 mins walk to pub.
Staff could not be more helpful - the owner himself towed my car from the snowy road into the carpark.
Great food, cosy atmosphere and modern country style decor and facilities
Loved it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we will always try and help if we can! Although we haven't had much snow this year, the morning you arrived was particularly bad and fortunately we normally have a Landrover on site to help out. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards, Richard Hassell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our first Christmas in UK away from home and we had a fabulous time. Hotel, staff, food, service all excellent, couldn't fault it. Added attractions of pantomime and birds of prey display.Despite awful weather, which everyone suffered from,our festive weekend was wonderful. i would recommend this hotel to anyone of any age!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this review and also for including the photographs. It was such a fun Christmas and it is always a success when all the guests get on so well together! I am glad you enjoyed the entertainment as well. It is always difficult trying to guage what is too much or too little to put on for guests and having now done our 15th Christmas at Ilsington we feel we have found the right balance! I hope we will welcome you back again whether at Christmas or another time of year. Kind regards, Richard Hassell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel felt like our home from home, open fires, child friendly, peaceful and very welcoming. Our two children loved it and the hotel was extremely accommodating with our needs. The pool was great, the sauna and steam a hit with the family and the evening meal very scrumptious. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel as service levels very high indeed and all the staff on hand extremely warm and attentive. A real nice place and the only downside was we could only stay the one night ! A big thanks to Richard and the staff for making us so welcome . Thank you .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tutterandmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 day winter break deal at the Ilsington to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday. We were one of just a few guests there for that period. They were very friendly & the staff very helpful. The food was excellent. (Our "deal" was for bed, breakfast & dinner). Our bedroom faced south, was clean & comfortable with a big en-suite bathroom with shower over bath, loo & wash basin. The bed was comfortable & there was no noise at night & I mean: none!
Breakfast was help yourself cereal & fruit plus fruit juice & a choice of cooked breakfast plus toast or sometimes croissant if you wanted it. Not cheap but with the winter break deal: worth it. We had a very nice time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrandpaDocBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This might not be the most luxurious hotel around but it must be one of the most friendly. We only had two nights there. However, we quickly felt at home, ready to relax in the spa and enjoy the beautiful and quiet countryside that surrounds the place. The meals were very special and at the end of our two days we felt very special as well. What a lovely find. We are a bit reluctant to review the hotel as it might get more busy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilsington
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,272 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,072 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
497 reviews
18.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilsington Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilsington Country House Hotel

Property: Ilsington Country House Hotel
Address: Ilsington Village | Nr Newton Abbot, Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ilsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilsington Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated country house hotel is set in 11 acres of private land within the boundaries of the Dartmoor National Park. Award winning food is served in the main Restaurant whilst the Blue Tiger Inn with its large sun terrace offers more informal dishes of excellent quality. Emphasis is on local produce and homemade creations.Beautiful new Spa opening early 2015 with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, gym and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilsington Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilsington Country Hotel
Best Western Newton Abbot
Hotel Ilsington Country
Ilsington Country House Hotel Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing