We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family friendly hotel with a gorgeous open fire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel felt like our home from home, open fires, child friendly, peaceful and very welcoming. Our two children loved it and the hotel was extremely accommodating with our needs. The pool was great, the sauna and steam a hit with the family and the evening meal very scrumptious. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel as service levels very high indeed and all the staff on hand extremely warm and attentive. A real nice place and the only downside was we could only stay the one night ! A big thanks to Richard and the staff for making us so welcome . Thank you .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tutterandmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 459 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 day winter break deal at the Ilsington to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday. We were one of just a few guests there for that period. They were very friendly & the staff very helpful. The food was excellent. (Our "deal" was for bed, breakfast & dinner). Our bedroom faced south, was clean & comfortable with a big en-suite bathroom with shower over bath, loo & wash basin. The bed was comfortable & there was no noise at night & I mean: none!
Breakfast was help yourself cereal & fruit plus fruit juice & a choice of cooked breakfast plus toast or sometimes croissant if you wanted it. Not cheap but with the winter break deal: worth it. We had a very nice time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrandpaDocBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This might not be the most luxurious hotel around but it must be one of the most friendly. We only had two nights there. However, we quickly felt at home, ready to relax in the spa and enjoy the beautiful and quiet countryside that surrounds the place. The meals were very special and at the end of our two days we felt very special as well. What a lovely find. We are a bit reluctant to review the hotel as it might get more busy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked the hotel for my 70th Birthday Celebration and it turned out to be the most amazingly wonderful time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the accommodation and the food was fantastic. Having stayed in many hotels, I can really say that this one rates as one of the best and we shall certainly be returning - the sooner the better !

Room Tip: Everyone who stayed was pleased with their room, and so I think it is safe to go with any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We needed a break away from it all and could not have found a better place to unwind. The staff were friendly, the atmosphere relaxed and the facilities great. The rooms are slowly being updated but you can ignore the wallpaper as the beds are huge and comfortable and the pool and gym great. The food was also very good with a choice of resturant or gastro pub. Loved the wood fires would definetly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent friendly service from all staff. Beautiful views all round the hotel and so quiet at night! Hotel itself of high quality though pool area tired and tatty. Great breakfast. Ideal for break away from it all and to recharge your batteries.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Normangnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Came in for my dad's birthday, absolutely fabulous meal! Had one of the best mushroom risottos I have ever had & Excellent fondues, a lot of fun!!! Will defiantly return during the afternoon to sample the wonderful i surroundings!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilsington
6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,481 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
18.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,193 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
20.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: | Dartmoor National Park, Nr Newton Abbot, Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ilsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Price Range: $153 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated country house hotel is set in 11 acres of private land within the boundaries of the Dartmoor National Park. The hotel has its own flock of hens busy laying eggs for breakfast and there is an overall sense of calm and relaxation around the hotel. Award winning food is served in the main Restaurant whilst the Blue Tiger Inn with its large sun terrace offers more informal dishes of excellent quality. Emphasis is on local produce and homemade creations. Lovely cream teas can be enjoyed in one of the comfortable lounges. Beautiful new Spa opened in 2015 with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, fitness suite and indoor pool. Awarded Gold for Spa and Wellness Experience in South West Tourism's 2017 awards. 3 treatment rooms also available offering a range of luxury treatments. Located in the Dartmoor National Park, yet only 4 miles from the A38 making Ilsington and ideal place for exploring South Devon. Included in the Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilsington Country Hotel
Best Western Newton Abbot
Hotel Ilsington Country
Ilsington Country House Hotel And Spa Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing