We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For peace, quiet and good food, this is the ideal place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilsington Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“For peace, quiet and good food, this is the ideal place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews, and because where reviewers noted a concern, that was addressed by the management in a comment, so we felt they were keen to iron out any little difficulties, and we would be staying somewhere where personal attention would be paid to visitors. We also chose the hotel for its facilities, its location, and the ability to bring the dog.

We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a stunning location, with fabulous views from every room, also, as it is off a small country lane, it is quiet, which is blissful! The rooms are of a reasonable size, immaculately cleaned daily, with tea/coffee etc, and everything replenished daily, including towels.

The breakfast had to be one of the highlights of our stay. Sitting in the bay window, in full sunshine, fabulous view, with fresh croissants and full English for the other half, has to be one of the biggest pleasures in life. We didn't eat in the dining room, but the hotel has a bistro, with excellent food, temptingly presented, and good service.

We used the health club facilities daily, including the gym and the jacuzzi.

Any complaints? If I was being really fussy, I would suggest that the health club needs a paint job, plus a reception desk that would hide a multitude of sins. Also, the bedside and bathroom lighting suffers from the curse of the low-wattage light, which makes reading interesting!

We used the hotel as our base for a walking holiday, and it was lovely to get back at the end of the day to comfort and good food! Fortunately, we picked the best week Devon had had for months, so were able to make full use of the conservatory and terrace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katebrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate with our location and love it when guests are able to benefit from the wonderful landscape. We are hoping to make improvements in the Health Club in the not too distant future and we understand your comments. We are slightly torn as to whether we give it a spruce up or a complete overhaul! In any case we hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards Richard Hassell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    108
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
98
222
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

In a word, excellent. A particularly attractive family-run hotel with excellent rooms and lovely garden. In a beautiful area of England and totally unspoilt. The rooms are basic but comfortable and the restaurant food and service cannot be faulted. I would certainly choose to stay here again on any future business visits to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgcolvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are lucky with our location and one thing we cannot take any credit for is the beauty of the surrounding landscape. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Richard Hassell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Found this hotel while looking for somewhere to stay for my birthday. We were going to visit Newton Abbot racecourse and this hotel was close enough to drive to it from there but at the same time set in the stunning Dartmoor national park. I only have 2 negative points amoungst the many positive ones so will tell you those at the start. The road leading to the hotel which goes through Ilsington village is very narrow in places and in one part is very steep. This can be a little hair raising at times, especially when you meet a car coming the other way and have to reverse down the lane to try and find a place where 2 vehicles can squeeze past, not recommended for a nervous driver. Also I can imagine the steep hill would be a nightmare if it was covered in snow or icy. I know this isn't the hotels fault but I thought it was worth mentioning. The only other negative is the fact that the toiletries provided in our room weren't replenished at all despite us staying 3 nights. I had taken some extra shower gel just in case and I know that if I had asked at reception I would have been given some more but the point is I SHOULDN'T NEED TO ASK! This isnt a cheap hotel, and it wasnt just a one off error.
That said, this hotel is lovely. The rooms are clean and well furnished, nice thick cotton sheets, fluffy white towels, flat screen tv, free wifi. There is a small health club in a building at the side of the hotel with a pool, sauna, fitness equipment etc. The breakfast is delicious, plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juice and croissants set out for you to help yourself and a choice of cooked options. I had the full breakfast which included egg cooked to your choice, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, hash brown and hogs pudding ( tasted like really soft sausage meat) plenty of toast and a pot of tea or coffee. My daughter has the smoked salmon and poached egg which she said was delicious. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfasts arrived quickly. The views over Dartmoor while we were eating in the morning were delightful, despite the rain on one of the days. The local pub is only a short walk away and serves excellent locally sourced produce, the menu has lots of choice, priced at about £10 for a main course.There is an Asda supermarket about 10 minutes drive away and if you follow the signs for Trego Mills the petrol station there is the cheapest in the area. I would stay at this hotel again, its an excellent base for exploring Dartmoor and isnt far from Torquay if you fancy a trip to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooma on the ground floor are cheaper but don't offer as good a view as the rooms on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rochycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive review. Guessing by your description of arriving at the hotel I imagine you came up the old road which comes into the village, as opposed the main road which skirts it. It is a common 'satnav' occurance which is why we try and urge people not to use them! You certainly shouldn't have to ask for toiletries to be replenished and I am sorry we failed you here. I am glad you enjoyed your meals and I certainly hope we shall see you again at Ilsington. Kind regards, Richard Hassell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at the Ilsington Hotel for my husbands 62nd birthday.
Very pleased with the hotel reception, very nice welcolme on arrival.
The room allocated was pleasant although small but had everything we needed.
Spent some time in the Leisure Centre, lovely jacuzzi, nice pool. The steam room very small, only big enough for 3 & occupied by a member of staff.
The restaurant is lovely, fantastic views over the moors and we had the best table in the window. What a shame it was not occupied by anyone else other than ourselves, not that we were complaining, Tony was a treasure, very attentive & a delight.
Food was fantasitic, very tasty & presentation was great..
Overall a very pleasant experience, nice hotel, nice surroundings & thanks for making this a very nice & enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for spending this special occasion with us and I am delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. It is good you enjoyed your meal and the fine views from the Restaurant - the Restaurant was unusually quiet that night , although I did see that all of the tables in the Blue Tiger were occupied at least once! Hopefully we can welcome you back to Ilsington again soon. Kind regards, Richard Hassell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We discovered this delightful retreat four years ago and keep returning! The ambience of the hotel is wonderfully relaxing with a varied choice of lounge and conservatory seating. The staff are welcoming and attentive, making every effort to ensure guests' comfort. Dinner and breakfast in themain dining room are excellent with menus planned thoughtfully. The Blue Tiger gets better and better which sometimes makes the decision hard as to where to eat each evening! There is much to do around this charming village and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. If it rains, there is the pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym..........! Bedrooms, many of which have been refurbished, are very comfortable. We booked for three nights and stayed for five - who cares about the weather? Oh yes, and the chickens lay wonderful eggs which are on sale at Reception.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the new suites are lovely with taseful and thoughtful decor. We like the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailorgirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you both very much for your lovely review and it is always a pleasure to have you staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We picked this hotel for location as we were making our way back up country after being in Cornwall. All previous reviews seemed good so we thought why not, reasonable price too.

Warm welcome, comfortable room, excellent selection of beers, largers, wine etc. You can choose to dine in the restaurant, there is a dress code of long trousers, shirts with collars etc (for gents), or the Blue Tiger Inn which is a comfortable bar. The food in Blue Tiger was excellent, the smoked beef was divine, we have never eaten anything that tasted that good.

Breakfast was also very good and attentive staff made you feel very welcome.

They have an indoor pool, sauna etc which is an added bonus. There are plenty of sofas and the conservatory to relax in and the outside patio was lovely (when the sun came out), for drinks.

Fabulous rural location, a real gem. Well done to all the staff, we will certainly return if in the area again.

Room Tip: Lift available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgentNikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments and I agree with your view on the home smoked beef - it really is good! We developed our smokehouse last year and since then the chefs have been creating various dishes for both the Blue Tiger and the main Restaurant. As with all the reviews, we shall pass your kind comments onto the staff which are always appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Richard Hassell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable time. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Dinner and breakfast were excellent.Can not wait to return .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Ilsington Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and in particular regarding the staff who are a real asset to us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilsington
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilsington Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilsington Country House Hotel

Property: Ilsington Country House Hotel
Address: Ilsington Village | Nr Newton Abbot, Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ilsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilsington Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated country house hotel is set in 11 acres of private land within the boundaries of the Dartmoor National Park. Award winning food is served in the main Restaurant whilst the Blue Tiger Inn with its large sun terrace offers more informal dishes of excellent quality. Emphasis is on local produce and homemade creations.Beautiful new Spa opening early 2015 with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, gym and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ilsington Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilsington Country Hotel
Best Western Newton Abbot
Hotel Ilsington Country
Ilsington Country House Hotel Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing