We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dartmoor Gem”
Review of Haulfryn Finlake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haulfryn Finlake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from third conference / meeting at Finlake and can't fault the place. Very pleasant surroundings in a wooded valley, yet only a few minutes away from the A38, so an ideal business venue. Immaculate modern building with very comfortable bar / dining area serving unpretentious yet tasty food - generous portions too. The service is very good and prices reasonable. The meeting area for larger groups is spacious, well equipped and equally comfortable with hot and cold drinks readily available.
I have yet to stay in one of the attractive lodges scattered around the site - tall wooden cabins that nestle amongst the trees and have a certain fairy-tale quality and appeal. The beautifully floodlit pool / flume look inviting - even on a cold winter's evening ( temptation sensibly resisted) and, if the other leisure facilities are even half as good, then this is a great place for a holiday, weekend escape or business event. And then there's the bonus that Finlake lies in one of the most beautiful areas of one of the most beautiful counties in all England .... No greater asset than this!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank DoctorsWhoDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and your review as it helps to highlight services that we offer that other guests may not be aware of. We are pleased that your conference was a success and look forward to welcoming you back to Finlake in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at Finlake,we stayed in the deluxe for 2 people, it's pricey but worth it, hot tub and indoor sauna nestled in the woods was a great place to chill out and relax.
not far from beaches or towns.
Great place to eat is the Highwaymans Haunt great restaurant.
also try the oriental buffet in exeter for only £6 per person (thats all day price) food was ok for the price.

Room Tip: If going as a couple go for the deluxe pref no 58 as this has an under cover hot tub if not no 29 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Came here to do the Dip and Dine with my neighbour and our 2 children. We thouroughly enjoyed it! Very good value for money! The choices from the Menu which were included were brilliant. Definately do this again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Finlake. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have been to Finlake a few times now for short breaks and are never disappointed. We checked in with ease and were greeted warmly; the staff showed us how to get to our lodge and gave us an envelope with lots of useful information in. We stayed in the Scandinavian style lodges at the top of the park and have always found them to be clean, spacious and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. There were 3 bedrooms which more than catered for the 4 of us, under floor heating, luxurious furnishings and 2 bathrooms, we even had a sauna in our lodge. The balcony is an underrated touch and we enjoyed having breakfast outside with a scenic view.
There is plenty to do in the area but we would happily have stayed on site for the holiday in its entirety. Our teenage son had a great time taking part in the activities on offer, we did Archery, Water Walkers, and Body zorbs (which were hilarious). It’s also worth noting that the archery range is undercover with heaters, which is an added bonus when the weather was not on our side. The activity timetable is extensive so you are always sure to find an activity that everyone will enjoy, that will also fit in around your days out in the local area. The staffs working in the leisure complex were friendly, enthusiastic and had a lot of energy. The outdoor pool is heated and has a large flume and there is an indoor pool which has adult only hours, there are also table tennis tables, tennis courts and a well kept golf course and a play area for younger children as well as woodland walks and a fishing lake. The high ropes in the trees look good, however it’s run by a separate company and we did not give this a go on this occasion.
The bar is lovely, they sell a wide variety of drinks and snacks, the food in the retreat is reasonable and we had a delicious Sunday roast. There are a few arcade games for children.
In conclusion high standards of accommodation, facilities and friendly staff make for a quality, relaxing break for all the family, I would definitely recommended a holiday here and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loubri5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and are pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us to date.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to park in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is brilliant. My wife and I have just taken our two boys for a three night stay. We all had a thoroughly excellent break. Our lodge was kitted out to a surprisingly high spec. especially the hot tub! Some people will compare Finlake to Centre Parcs and rightly so. However in my humble opinion Finlake blows it out of the water. The accommodation is far higher quality. Each bedroom has a tv and dvd. The kitchen has a great selection of cooking utensils and a huge cooker. Our lodge had a hot tub included in the very cheap price, which we all loved! The lodge is decorated in a contemporary style and was scrupulously clean on our arrival. There is only one restaurant on site however the food is well cooked, a good selection of meals and competitively priced. The gym, according to my wife is excellent and only £5 which covers your entire break. The reception staff were very helpful on all occasions we had to use them. The pool is tiny compared to centre parcs but our kids didn't care they just love the water. The site is within easy reach of loads of attractions. Castles, fun parks and beaches all less than an hour away so we didn't use the park amenities and cannot comment on them. All in all we will definitely be visiting again and most probably again. You can keep Centre Parcs, it is over priced and very restrictive and in the middle of nowhere. Go to Finlake you will not regret it.

Minus points

Hardly worth mentioning but

Pool is smallish
Only one restaurant
Doors in lodge are not designed for us tall blokes!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate all feedback as without this we cannot improve our service in the future. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.
We are sorry that you found the pool to be on the small side. It is worth noting that our outdoor pool is heated and will be available for use from end of March through to October giving another option for people to swim if they wish.
We hope to have the pleasure of your custom again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked through Hoeseasons and wished we had booked direct with Finlakes! The reception and reservation staff were excellent and really helped us out with the location of our lodges and we booked as a family stay from 4th Feb 2013 to 11th Feb. We had a superior country 6 lodge with a hot tub (WV35) which was lovely. Really cosy, with lots of space and everything we would need for the week. 5 of us felt the 6 birth lodge was ample for our needs. We also booked another 4 birth lodge for the weekend of 8th Feb - 11th Feb although on first allocation by Hoeseasons, this was set to be about a 10 min walk away. With help from the Finlakes staff, Hoeseasons were quick to reallocate so the rest of our party had one of the new Platinum VIP with hot tub on the Templar Rise part. Wow, these lodges are amazing and totally recommended. All in all, the park was excellent and we spent some time in the bar and went out each day. We took walks around the site and I spent everyday at least once in the hottubs! It made my holiday. The hot tubs were checked daily by staff so you knew they were being looked after. It is worth booking a Superior or Platinum lodge because you get those little extras.

We were able to book into the spa for some treatments mid week and then had some more at the weekend! The local farm shop on site was excellent and the restaurant food looked lovely though we didnt try it as we ate out locally.

We were so impressed with the accommodation, the site, and everything that we are returning for another long weekend in a couple of weeks time! RECOMMENDED. You will have a great time. :)

Room Tip: Go for a superior or platinum of vip as its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind comments on the site, the staff and the lodges available. We look forward to welcoming you back to the site in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

such a peaceful & tranquil site when the school kids are at school, not far from the beaches of south devon and dartmoor national park is within easy reach.

There are many supermarkets in the area, but beware the Asda supermarket in Newton Abbot has a pay & display car park of which Asda shoppers get their £! parking fee back IF they spend over £10 in the shop but this is not mentioned inthe car park.

Room Tip: a variety of lodges to choose from & prices for all budgets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madoc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.0 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haulfryn Finlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haulfryn Finlake

Address: Barley Lane, Dartmoor National Park, Chudleigh TQ13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chudleigh
Price Range: $63 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Haulfryn Finlake 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor yet still close to stunning beaches, Finlake combines 130 acres of magnificent Devon countryside, miles of beautiful woods, an abundance of wildlife and outstanding leisure facilities to create the perfect holiday location.At Haulfryn Finlake we offer an exclusive range of caravans and lodges for the discerning holiday home owner, as well as fantastic short break holiday getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haulfryn Finlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haulfryn Finlake Hotel Chudleigh
Haulfryn Finlake Chudleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing