We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Haulfryn Finlake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haulfryn Finlake
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Well maintained site with good accommodation let down by rowdy neighbours. Having stayed at Devon Hills Haulfyns sister site previously booked Finlake for a change both sites are immaculate with much care in their facilities evident. The country lodge four lodge was of a high standard throughout although it must be noted that the decking can be quite slippery with all the rain.
We stayed at 1 the Brambles for 3 nights with 2 nights disturbed by the rowdy neighbours staying at 29 the Hampshire's, despite being nearly 100 feet away we had the dubious pleasure in hearing their music and shouting. We did complain to the parks security who did visit and peace was restored, it was a shame that the parks peace and quiet was disturbed in this way as all we wanted was a chilled out time before going back to work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent holiday at Finlake. We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for your kind words regarding the park.
We are extremely sorry that fellow guests disturbed you during your stay, however are pleased to note that security dealt with it efficiently. We do hope that this has not put you off returning to the park in future and hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    275
    105
    40
    46
See reviews for
619
178
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We've been visitors to Finlake for the last couple of years.On the last visit we were very disappointed to find cobwebs in the bedroom and a dirty tooth mug in the bathroom.I sent the feedback form to Finlake and waited no reply.I even sent an email to their feedback department still no reply.It would of been nice to have received a reply, as its not the first time people have said about the cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank north112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are sorry that you did not receive a response from your feedback form. Due to the vast volume that we receive, it is not possible to respond to each individually, however in the event that a customer experiences a problem during their stay of any type, we encourage them to speak with the team onsite so the issue can be addressed immediately. If it is not dealt with to the customers' satisfaction, a meeting can be requested with the General Manager. In the event that things are not resolved on park then you can log an official complaint on your return to either our head office or Hoseasons, dependant on how the original booking was made. You would receive a response within 28 days.
This is not to excuse any fall down in the cleanliness of your accommodation as this is not the standard we expect our customers to receive. We apologise for any inconvenience this caused and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great time away, lodges very clean & well equipped, gym/pool area brilliant. Food and service all excellent. Staff very friendly, attentive and looked after us well - especially the team in the gym & outdoors activities - zorbing in the pool excellent.
Ideally located for loads of other activities, easy to get to.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of your custom again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just got back from a week at finlake with my Wife and really enjoyed our stay, the hot tub at our villa/caravan was a fantastic touch.

The site is ideally situated if you like to explore the surronding area being close to the sea and national parks ( Exeter is also well worth a visit ).

As for the site it has all the ammenities required if you just want to chill, the Retreat restraunt and bar are excellent quite a limitied menu but the food is a good price and you get lots of it, more importantly its super tasty.

All in all i'd advise anybody wanting to visit this area to give Finlake a serious look for either couples holiday or a family retreat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSLYON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of your custom again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

spent a few days here to chill out from work, very clean well presented lodges and the staff are very friendly . hot tub was nice and is check every day . Bar prices are normal, didnt eat in the restaurant but it was busy and the food looked good. There are great things like in and out door pools for a swim and a gym.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookhouse91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of your custom again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to finlake on a last minute deal just to relax after a really stressful couple of months. The site is amazing, very clean and well presented. We didnt do much apart from sit in our Cabin (VIP Country Plus) and our hot tub but there is lots to do in the area.

My only gripe would be the bedding and towels .. The provide bedding but the pillows are not very good. Finlake do NOT provide towels, so make sure you take your own !

Room Tip: Check out the VIP lodges wih the hot tubs, very very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate all comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We are sorry that you did not find the bedding up to standard. I have forwarded this feedback to the housekeeping department to ensure everything is checked and any sub-standard replaced.
You are correct that we do not supply towels except in our Deluxe Woodland Lodges. This is mentioned within our brochure and website as well as Hoseasons, however you are able to hire towels prior to your arrival should you wish.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in lodge 68, a 2 storey woodland lodge and had a great time!

Mum, Dad, Nan, Girlfriend, me and our doggy all had a great 3 day break.

Lodge was very clean and was a home from home (even had a sauna in the lodge).

Facilities on site are superb with a nice bar, restaurant, swimming pool, shop and a gym.

Only stayed for 3 days but went out to Dawlish, Torquay, Teignmouth, Brixham and Paignton, which were just a short drive away.

Had a night out in Newtown Abbot and enjoyed a cosy night in the lodge last night (with a curry takeaway/delivery).

Staff on site were friendly and helpful......we will definitely be making a return visit and would recommend making a trip to Finlake!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashes1one1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate all feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to the pleasure of your company again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
8.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,164 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
459 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
4.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haulfryn Finlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haulfryn Finlake

Property: Haulfryn Finlake
Address: Barley Lane, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chudleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Haulfryn Finlake 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor yet still close to stunning beaches, Finlake combines 130 acres of magnificent Devon countryside, miles of beautiful woods, an abundance of wildlife and outstanding leisure facilities to create the perfect holiday location.At Haulfryn Finlake we offer an exclusive range of caravans and lodges for the discerning holiday home owner, as well as fantastic short break holiday getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Haulfryn Finlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haulfryn Finlake Hotel Chudleigh
Haulfryn Finlake Chudleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing