We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!!”
Review of Haulfryn Finlake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haulfryn Finlake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Finlake from Monday 29th october till Friday 2nd November in a Deluxe Woodland lodge myself, my husband, 7 yr old daughter and dog. We arrived at Finlake at 10 o'clock in the morning after a 3 hour drive from London we went straight to reception where they took my mobile number and said they would call me if our lodge was ready before 4oclock. We then went off and enjoyed walks around the park and visited the play area we booked our Go Active activities and then had a beautiful seafood platter lunch at the The Retreat restaurant and at 2 o'clock we had a call saying we could check in early they were very informative and helpful at reception. The lodge was amazing the hot tub and sauna was a real luxury and the facilities and cleaniness in the lodge was to a high standard. The farm shop was great we got lots of lovely treats and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My daughter did activities which were great the leisure staff were friendly and very good at their jobs always remembering my daughters name and making a point to say hello to her when passing. We had lunch twice & breakfast at The Retreat and a takeaway too which was lovely with happy staff and takeaways such a great idea. We got involved in the Halloween celebrations pumpkin carving, disco, funfair which were all reasonably priced and an impressive fireworks display. We also recommend the horse riding and a trip to Becky Falls. It was brill and we are going to arrange to come back next year same time and lodge but with more family members and hopefully do more activities. It's been a relaxing but super fun holiday!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments.
We do hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed 8th October-15th October in Woodland View 31 our second stay in this lodge this year, everything you need ,lovely view from the decking and the all important hot tub great to relax in after a day out . We always enjoy our stay here we had quite a bit of rain and didnt manage to walk through the woodlands to the dissapointment of our ckcs Indie and Izzy but we deid get some dry days with a little sunshine so they had a good run on the beach. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelseaMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake, we really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us once again.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I bought a ticket to see the halloween fireworks at Finlake , a place I'd never been before. In spite of the weather ( raining on & off ) we had a great night , loads of stuff on for the kids including a very apt kids DJ who had them entertained with games & songs in the halloween themed function suite. Getting served was quite easy considering how busy it was too. Following this we headed to the funfair,. I was twisted thrown up & down & side to side much to the merriment of my family who watched on :o) , The rides themselves not over priced & that was nice to see. The kids went on the smaller rides while the wife & I had some cotton candy , not eaten that for years ! The Fireworks started at 8pm & it was an impressive show although I wish i hadn't stood so close to the BBQ because I was tempted in to gorging myself on a massive hot dog afterwards, proper sausage too ! Well done Finlake , I am a local person living only 10 minutes from the park & am now so sorry I have not been before , polite staff ( all dressed up too ) who were fast on thier feet when it came to serving , well organised car parking , spotlessly clean venue , top marks ! I shall be considering you for my next holiday :o) RP , Exeter

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed the evening with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at Finlake for four days for a short break in October. After a six hour drive we were checked in quickly and given all the necessary information required, including details on how to get to our lodge. The lady at reception was very welcoming and professional. On arrival at the lodge we were pleased with the lodge and the standards of cleanliness of it. The hot tub was ready for us to get into and there was some tea/coffee/milk/sugar for a drink until we could get to the shops. The shop has the essentials in it and has some lovely produce in it. ( Pork sausages worth the money). You can do as little or much as you want at Finlake, plenty of activities to get involved in, or just relax and take it easy. We have booked to go again next year for a week based on the standards of this year and would definitely recommend it to others. The one thing I would of liked was an idiot guide on how to use the central heating system, the manual for the boiler was there with it but as we all know they are confusing at the best of times. Overall, a lovely place for a break/holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyRiley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We have taken on board your comments regarding the central heating system and will see what we can do to ensure the instructions are clearer.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Finlake last week during half term 22-26th october in a woodland lodge 6 with our 7 year old daughter and our border collie. First impressions of the site were excellent, speedy check in with friendly and helpful reception staff providing plenty of info for on-site and off-site activities. We were really impressed with the lodge, lovely and warm with a full kitchen and extreamely comfortable beds. The view was to die for from the balcony, so peaceful and secluded. Our dog enjoyed the woodland walks and our daughter especially got involved in the go active activities with a vengence. The activities were decently priced and well enjoyed. we all enjoyed the indoor pool which was lovely and warm and not too busy!. They even opened the outdoor pool on request for all those crazy kids to enjoy the mega outdoor slide.
Would definately recommend Finlakes, there were no downsides at all during our stay. Hope to visit again real soon.

Room Tip: if you have kids they will love the go active activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellebrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate all comments and are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to the pleasure of your company again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I am sure the food is good but I won't be trying it. I couldn't find a number to enable booking so I phoned the main office who gave me the number and said "Don't bother ringing, they are busy!" Despite that I did try - again and again and again with 30 minute intervals. No-one answered. I live very local, always eat out on Sundays with my family but it seems I won't be trying Finlake.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank keep_the_money_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. I am sorry that you experienced problems trying to contact the restaurant and as such your review is based on that.
The telephone number for the restaurant is 01626-855396. There is an answerphone on this line in case everyone is busy and cannot get to the phone. You dont mention within your review at what time of the day you tried to contact them or when and whilst not wanting to excuse the way your query was dealt with by the Reception team, which will be addressed, or the fact you could not contact the restaurant, if you were trying during the weekend or at meal times then they would not have been able to get to the phone, however the answerphone should have picked up your call and enabled you to leave a message and someone would have got back to you.
I am sorry that this has put you off trying to eat at Finlake in the future. Your comments will be discussed and addressed by the Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed as a family of four (chidren aged 9 & 7) and a cocker spaniel in a Country Lodge 4 VIP Platinum (pets). It was just fantastic!! We were on the edge of the park in Woodland View right next to the forest and only a minute from the main facilities such as swimming pools and restaurant.

We made full use of the facilities with the children. We played tennis twice, used the indoor and outdoor swimming pools and cycled around the park. The kids loved it all especially the treetop adventure. This was an additional cost but was well worth it. We also had drinks in the bar and had a meal in the restaurant one of the nights. All reasonably priced and the food was very good too. All the staff were friendly and the service was excellent.

The accomodation was truly first rate. the kitchen was well equipped, the lounge area spacious and the decking area very useful. What really made the holiday was the hot tub on the deck. The park was quiet and peaceful. We loved exploring the woodland walks and the children were thrilled to hear an owl in the evenings close to our lodge.

We look forward to returning, hopefully soon!!!!

Room Tip: Take towels!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate all comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of your custom again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
11.8 mi away
Devon Hills Holiday Village
11.7 mi away
Orchard Park
Orchard Park
#12 of 17 in Totnes
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Chudleigh
83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Farmborough House
Farmborough House
#2 of 6 in Chudleigh
40 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holmans Wood Holiday Park
Holmans Wood Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Chudleigh
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haulfryn Finlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haulfryn Finlake

Address: Barley Lane, Dartmoor National Park, Chudleigh TQ13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chudleigh
Price Range: $56 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Haulfryn Finlake 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor yet still close to stunning beaches, Finlake combines 130 acres of magnificent Devon countryside, miles of beautiful woods, an abundance of wildlife and outstanding leisure facilities to create the perfect holiday location.At Haulfryn Finlake we offer an exclusive range of caravans and lodges for the discerning holiday home owner, as well as fantastic short break holiday getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haulfryn Finlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haulfryn Finlake Hotel Chudleigh
Haulfryn Finlake Chudleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing