We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend at Finlake”
Review of Haulfryn Finlake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haulfryn Finlake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Another relaxing stay at Finlake. Had a 6 birth platinum lodge with hot tub. Very clean. We all enjoyed the hot tub which was serviced regularly. Enjoyed some lovely woodland walks and a great deal of swimming. I would say that the kitchen could do with a bigger frying pan and a few more baking trays/rectangular pyrex dishes for the oven. The only downside was the food. Service was excellent but we ate there 3 times during the weekend. The steak was awful, the curry on Curry Night was bland and the meat on the Sunday carvery was dry. We have been several years running and the food is usually very good. Very disappointing and over priced for quality.

I have had spa treatments before which were good and well priced but could do with more treatment rooms and away from the noise of the swimming pool as not very relaxing!

Room Tip: Go for the biggest and widest birth you can afford as there is extra room to spread out and for stor...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejdavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and are glad you were happy with your accommodation. We have taken on board your comments regarding the additional cooking equipment and will look at the inventory within our lodges.
We are sorry that you were unhappy with the standard of the food. Your comments have been forwarded to the Head Chef and the Restaurant Manager for their reference and to act on.
You mention that you have had spa treatments in the past so we assume this may have been before the salon was renovated? In our new salon all the treatment rooms are soundproofed so noise would not be an issue.
Thank you once again for your comments and I hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
There are newer reviews for Haulfryn Finlake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

A fantastic, beautiful and tranquil - just a few of the superlatives that we would describe Finlakes.

We stayed in a Platinum lodge with a hot tub looking over the estate from the top of one of the many very steep hills, very much recommended as an accommodation of choice. Clean and well stocked for self catering breaks, already thinking about other Hoeseason breaks! Easily accessible only a few hundred yards off the A38 and well sign posted.

The park is stacked with natural beauty and things to do, give it a whirl!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroBoy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

we booked a country lodge six superior vip, and was we disappointed!!!!
All the bedrooms had black mould on the celings, and the two small bedrooms had it going up the walls. Had to get the hot tub fixed as most of the nozzels were not working,we asked on the Tuesday,then again next day as it still was not fixed,Also there is no light outside the hot tub so you cant see to get in or out, we had to use the light from the bedroom. The shower screen above the bath was loose, the light in the toilet came on and off when it felt like it, the whole lodge needs serious updating.
Was a shame as we stayed in a lodge last year, and had no problems.
On a positive note,the swimming pool was nice and warm..

Room Tip: dont stay in dear park number 9.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benny884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. I am genuinely sorry that you were unhappy with the accommodation that you were allocated.
I would very much like to investigate this further and have sent you a private message with my contact details on. If you are able to contact me directly, I will look into the points you have raised.
It is never our intention to disappoint our customers and you have my assurance that once you have contacted me, I will investigate this fully.
Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked a country lodge platinum VIP
And it was worth every penny.
The lodge was stunning , really home from home, we could not find any fault, spotlessly clean and every mod con you could think of. The hot tub is brilliant and the park itself, is maintained to a very high degree. I will be booking for next year without hesitation , only wish would be better weather ( I could have rowed to the bar and restaurant )

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnwilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we are only sorry we could not have organised better weather for you!
I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

what a wonderfull place to visit staff couldnt do enough for you. we checked into our lodge early and settled in for a relaxing weekend when we realised we was missing our towels a quick phone call to reception and a lovely girl from housekeeping (becky) was there with them in 5 mins she was so friendly and very helpfull showed us how to work the sauna and told us of a great pub to visit which done fantastic food and also give us directions to the local shop she also got a couple of extra plates for us. your staff are a credit to you and the lodge was fantstic lovely and clean no46 we will definetly be back x

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding our on site team.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a gorgeous lodge, packed with features such as our own hot tub, sauna etc. It was such a relaxing, comfortable break we'd have no hesitation in returning.
The facilities onsite are great, from the outdoor pool to the gym with high quality equipment. The children enjoyed the play-park and woodland walks and we found the onsite restaurant, bar and shop to be well priced. We also used the beauty facilities and the facial was one of the most relaxing ones I have experienced. Definitely a great place for a relaxing break, with or without children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatsmydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities that we have on site.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

First time here and we would certainly go again, make sure you have a lodge with a hot tub, sitting out on a cool October evening in a hot tub set at 38 deg c and looking at the stars was amazing, remember to take a torch because it is very dark at night, there are not many lamp lights about, I am not not being critical about it being low lit, this made the evenings so much better, We stopped in number 11 templars rise and it was superb, very highly maintained and very clean and extremely comfortable, There is plenty for the kids to do because this is an adventure style park, All the facilities on the park were top notch, Be careful with the use of a satnav in the area, mine sent me down some country lanes only just wide enough for the car which was a bit scary at times, Torquay is only 11 miles away so within easy reach,We were there from the 1st Oct to the 5th and had a cracking time, Thank you to the owners who let there cabin out through the owners club, you have a wonderful lodge and I can see why you purchased your.

Room Tip: Take a torch
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Finlake. We really appreciate your comments and photos and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the accommodation you were allocated.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
9.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,312 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
11.8 mi away
Devon Hills Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haulfryn Finlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haulfryn Finlake

Address: Barley Lane, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chudleigh
Price Range: $63 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Haulfryn Finlake 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor yet still close to stunning beaches, Finlake combines 130 acres of magnificent Devon countryside, miles of beautiful woods, an abundance of wildlife and outstanding leisure facilities to create the perfect holiday location.At Haulfryn Finlake we offer an exclusive range of caravans and lodges for the discerning holiday home owner, as well as fantastic short break holiday getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haulfryn Finlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haulfryn Finlake Hotel Chudleigh
Haulfryn Finlake Chudleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing